Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Neely Traditional Academy 5

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
Most of our Asian/ Indian friends started enrolling their kids in Basis Schools but we are so happy we stuck onto Neely since the teachers here are really very dedicated in ensuring that the students get an all round development. This year with the implementation of teaching a grade higher math even the education standards have risen up.

Neely Traditional Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 08, 2016
- a parent
Students are appreciated for their honesty and encouraged to make the right choices. Teachers are always appreciating and noting the students behavior in and out of the class.


Neely Traditional Academy 5

Posted April 11, 2015
- a parent
I have had 5 children attend Neely. My oldest son who is now 13 has attended 8 different schools. This is our third year and I have several kids who rarely bring home homework and if they do they are done with it in less than an hour. The school has started a club for doing homework with the teachers that they do at lunch. My son tells me that they work on skills for success. The only kids I have who have a lot of homework are the ones who struggle to stay focused. I have been most impressed by the rallying I have seen around the kids who are struggling. All of them dedicate themselves to helping our kids succeed. Mrs. Chilton and several teachers are doing an after school club Shakespearean play for 6th graders. I have been to several rehearsals and have seen the kids developing greater self awareness and confidence. She understands the value of creative intelligence and she makes personal sacrifices so her students can experience it. The parents at Neely are engaged and work with teachers to create a positive learning environment. The parents are always welcome. Sure there is room for improvement they are always looking for ways that they can.

Neely Traditional Academy 5

Posted February 16, 2015
- a parent
Teaching is consistent and my kids enjoy it. Teachers are very responsive and communicate well. Administration is on it. Kids are down to earth and friendly. Any school has improvements to make. I would discourage over use of the smart boards. For example, I'd like teachers to actually read to the kids instead if having them watch the smart board. That is not helping them develop their listening skills.

Neely Traditional Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
My 2 children have attended this school since they were in preschool. Now my oldest has moved on to junior high and my youngest is a 6th grader. I am so glad they spent their formative years there because they are very prepared for the rigorous road to junior and senior high. Spalding, Saxon Math, and subject units in science and social studies planned as grade level teams into structured lessons have given them the foundation they need to succeed in their academic careers. My 7th grader said 6th grade at Neely was harder than 7th grade is! Not only is it a rigorous, structured, and well-managed school, the teachers are caring and friendly to the students. We love Neely!


Neely Traditional Academy 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
My kid started in Neely as Kindergartner in 2013. We are very impressed by the amount of information the kids go through and daily homework is a good practice for any child. They do varieties of task and activities, the kids are loaded. Only thing I worry about is some of the class work books are left unfinished or not completed. I dont think the teacher has enough time to get through them all ensuring each student completes those class exercise or has any questions on them. In many classes kids complete only 60% of the class exercise in full . If there was a teachers aide maybe that will help with getting whole class finish their work. Overall the intention is good and there is much learning happening. I am glad my kid goes to this school.

Neely Traditional Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
Neely is a great school. My children love going to school. They have never been anywhere else so they don't have anything to compare it to. Every teacher we had was open, approachable, and a good teacher. Neely is strict and consistent across the board. My children understand the expectations and rise to the challenge.

Neely Traditional Academy 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
Neely is truly an amazing school. We love the diversity of cultures of the student body. Advanced classes offered in Math, Reading, and Writing allow students to reach their learning potentials. The Spalding and Saxon curriculums give children a strong foundation for life learning. I love that the math programs continue to revisit concepts over and over as they continue to learn new ones. The students participate in "special" classes each week, including P.E., music, art, and computers. Choir, orchestra, and band are offered, free of charge. The principle and office staff know each of the children's names. We can honestly say that none of our three kids have had a teacher they haven't loved! Although test scores aren't a single measure of the success of a school, all grades tested receive at least 90 percent, year after year. Some advantages of attending Neely as compared to charter schools are buses, a cafeteria with "hot" lunches, free and reduced lunches, after school care, and other fun programs offered through the district. We love that our children do not have to wear uniforms and can still express their personalities through modest dress. We love Neely!


Neely Traditional Academy 3

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
We have left the school and it surely was not because of academics (my child had straight As), but because of the teacher quality in 5th grade and the unbearable prison-warden attitude of the principal. The 5th grade teacher was completely disinterested in teaching and as we now see, the students fell way behind in most subjects, especially math and science. At Neely, teacher quality is a hit and miss issue, but they have more bad apples than good ones. The principal doesn't care because she is too busy writing parking rules.

Neely Traditional Academy 3

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
The teachers are not approachable and when you try to go speak with the principal, well you pretty much get the same thing! The staff is not friendly nor they make it fun for the kids. Not to mention my child gets tons of homework, I believe in academics that's why we chose that school, but they over do it with homework!

Nearby schools

Neely Traditional Academy
321 West Juniper Ave, Gilbert, AZ  85233
(480) 497-3300
Last modified Neely Traditional Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top