Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Tree Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

Oak Tree is a great school. Parent involvement is not as high and great as it should be, but that is typical everywhere now unfortunately. The parents who are involved are amazing. The teachers are fantastic. There is a new principal now and it has made a world of difference in the overall atmosphere....a much happier one. Both my students went there from K-6 and this year is my last year there. As side note: fifth grade does an amazing Oceanography Club trip and sixth grade does Science Camp in Lake Powell....this is the ONLY school currently going to Lake Powell for Science Campm
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

I am about to transfer my son from a very good school to oak tree shcool and I was looking at rating and reviews for this school, the first thing that got my attention was rating for teachers (3 stars) and also rating for parent involvement (3 stars) and the latest review is for 2010. I couldn't find any reviews (positive or negative) for these recent years (2012-2013-2014). I really appreciate if someone help me with giving some opinions towards this school and educational level of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

Oak Tree is a great school!! I have sent 4 of my kids through Oak Tree and the last two are here now. The staff is great and the school has been an Excelling School for years. I wouldn't move my children from Oak Tree for anything!!! Coming here would be your best move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

This school is ok, but if you send your kids here, in the end you will want them to repeat 1-6 again. That's what I wish I could do with my 7th grade daughter who attended Oak Tree. Send your kids to Patterson Elm. instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I love Oak Tree. The teachers are great and the staff too. My first grade daughter started in Preschool and learned to read at 4 years old. My 5th grader is off the charts in math. The parents need to get involved more with the PTSO to raise money esp. in this economy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

My children originally attended GPS Traditional Academy which was great, but I moved them to our neighborhood school, Oak Tree. My sixth grader has finally developed some great friendships here, which was lacking at the other school. He loves his teacher. She is amazing & her love for the student & teaching is apparent. I am disappointed that they do not have AP math & writing for 3rd grade. The transition was hard for them, but the office staff, and principal have been helpful and supportive. Kudos to this years PTSO! Many activities & more parent involvement. Keep up the great work! Now let's bring up those AIMS Scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

We have had children at Oak Tree for 6 years. I am totally pleased with the teachers we have had. I have no complaints about any of them. The office staff is top notch, and always smiling when I see them. We have had 3 principals in 6 years, so that has been a bit rough. The verdict is still out on the current principal. While she seems competent, her people skills are lacking. We are thinking of moving to another neighborhood in Gilbert, and while the drive would be a bit much, I am considering making the daily drive just to stay at Oak Tree for my kindergarten daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Parent involvement was basically none. I expected more from this young school. I'm sure they have plans in the works to become a school that ends with a 'Highly Excelling' rating rather than 'highly performing'. I suppose the end results could be a lot worse!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

Teacher involvement of activities outside the classroom is poor as well as parent involvement is very poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

Very learning oriented. Friendly staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

Great School. The office staff is wonderful! There is no better!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

Great School,I love our kindergarten teachers! Great staff all around. Our prinicpal is wonderful too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2003

My son has attended Oak Tree since it opened. The reading program has been a wonderful success for him and the teachers really inspire learning. They need more partnerships for pre/post school time activities. Tax credit money needed!!


Posted October 15, 2002

My daughter has attended Oaktree since it first opened in in 1998 and is now in 3rd grade. While she has always enjoyed school and gets along well, I feel the workload & performance standards are low.


Posted October 15, 2002

The success of any student at any school is directly proportional to the time and energy parents donate to the cause. Oak Tree is one of the ""poorest"" schools in the destrict... please inquire about the tax credit program!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 32% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 632-4794

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

505 W. Houston
Gilbert, AZ 85233
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 632-4785

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT