Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pioneer Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

This is our first year attending Pioneer Elementary and see that it is a world of a difference from a Chandler school our kids attended the last 5 yrs. First, I want to recognize the teachers for their endless hours at work and their dedication to their classroom and students. From the potted plants outside their classroom to the creativity and organization in the rooms, I am a very happy parent. My kids are excelling and doing much better in school than previously. If attention to a matter is needed to be brought to our attention they didn't wait to tell us about it at conferences but we received a phone call and a solution to fix the matter was put in place. The principal is great as well as the teachers are a reflection of him as he sets goals for each person and ensures the best for all the students. I love the online access we have as parents to know our kids current grades and the email notification on events and reminders as well. I would give 10 stars if they were available!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

Pioneer Elementary has contributed to a strong educational foundation for three of my children. The teachers are motivated and positive; following the strong leadership of the Principal and Administration. There are several other options for education and we chose our neighborhood school and have not been disappointed. The parent support organization is well organized and incredibly strong providing numerous extra events and opportunities for the students and families to be involved. I highly recommend Pioneer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

Pioneer Elementary is an excellent school - from the support staff, teachers and Principal there is always a welcoming feeling when you are at Pioneer Elementary. Each classroom is outfitted with a Smart Board and teachers are using this technology to help enhance their lesson plans. It is a very family friendly campus with lots of activities happening all of the time. Want to get involved in your school - Join the PTSO! Getting involved is the best way to participate in your childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Pioneer Elementary in Gilbert Az. is a wonderful school with a terrific staff! The education is great too! It is an "A" rated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

Pioneer has been an amazing school since the day I moved my kids over from a Charter school back in 2007. Since I have 4 kids I have noticed that my kids all learn in different ways and struggle in different ways. Pioneer has a staff that cares for each child and their needs. So, my child who is gifted received extra help when he was at Pioneer meeting his needs and on the other hand my child that has struggled with reading has the necessary help to bring him up to speed. The staff and principle know the kids and families and are very involved in the extra curricular activities, which in my opinion helps create a great learning environment and develops a sense of community. I recommend Pioneer for any parent who realizes all kids do not learn the same way but doesn't want to have their kids in multiple schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

Pioneer Elementary School It's a wonderful school with awesome teachers and staff who really love what they do and it shows in all they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Our school has a diverse cultural and economic background. I love that it represents a micro chasm of the real world. Our principal, teachers and staff make a great effort to focus on the strengths and similarities among our students. We are greeted every day at every entrance to the school by a friendly and helpful staff member. The school has received top ratings in our state scale. This is an achievement since we are a Title 1 elementary school. We have dedicate teaches and staff that believe in the children and education as a foundation to a great society. This is not just a school, but a community, a family. I am proud to be the parent of a Pioneer Prospector.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

We have 6 kids and they all love Pioneer. We have had experience with three other elementary schools, but absolutely LOVE Pioneer. From the front office staff, to all the teachers, to the principal, Mr. Davis, is an amazing staff who cares about the safety and learning of all students!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Pioneer Elementary is a great community school. My children have excelled under the guidance of the wonderful teachers. We feel fortunate to have known all of the staff and many other parents who are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We have been at Pioneer for 4 years now and could not ask for a better school. Having one child with special needs and another in the gifted program it can be a challenge finding a school that fits the needs of both our kids. Pioneer doesn't just fit those needs, they fulfill and exceed in all areas. The teachers and all staff are incredible, so personable, and so helpful. They go out of their way and work extra hard to help each and every student reach their highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

I moved our kids into Pioneer 2 years ago. I could not ask for a better school with some of the best teachers. The teachers I have had for our younger son have been awesome to work with with very open communication. My older child has had the best 2nd grade teacher, an awesome - now retired 3rd grade teacher and he adores his 4th grade teacher this year. Mr. Davis is great and the kids love him. PTSO is very active and does a great job raising money for the school. I will be sad when the day comes that my kids have to move on to JR. High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

I have two children who currently attend Pioneer and love it! We have not met a teacher we didn't like and we feel they genuninly care about each and every child. I do feel that my daughter could be more challenged and given more homework. I am concerned she might be behind academically when we move to California.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2005

This school is good in some areas yet herendous in some. The school lunch is completly unacceptable. Teachers are good however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

My daughter attend preschool here. The teacher was great. Mrs. Wendy has given my daughter the love of learning. Parent involvement was outstanding. There was always a parent there to help when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2004

Our kindergardener just finished his year at Pioneer and had a wonderful experience! Ms. Collins was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

Extremely good teachers. I have two students there from K-2 for the first and K for the second. We have not met a teacher we did not like and the kids are encouraged to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 813-9010

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1535 N. Greenfield Road
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 892-2022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT