Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Playa Del Rey Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 625 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2013

This School is very bad. Parents stay away. They're racist and very disrespectful. The teachers are always yelling and insulting my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

This school is very resourceful, cooperative and understanding. My family hit a hard time but this school is so compassionate and helped my kids feel comfortable. They did everything they could to keep the kids in the same school year after year and to make sure they went to school prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

2011-2012 AIMs test as well as Playa Del Rey s school assessment indicates my daughter needs to catch up on math. This week we were informed that she will not be able to be part of the summer math program initially signed up for. My understanding is because she is going to another school next year which personally this dumbfounds me as she s going to another GPS school. It disappointments me that Playa Del Rey would consciously turn their back on our child s of needs like is let alone any child for that matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

My son is in the first grade and we have had a few run-ins with the teacher about lack of communication. We talked with the prinicple and the teacher a few times. Nothing is resolved. Teacher and principle believe that the teacher is too busy to spend 20 seconds letting a parent know specifics about their child or respond to a note that was sent to the teacher. Also my son told me that he was scared of another kid in his class. I brought it the attention of the principle and the teacher and it was quickly dismissed. When I told the teacher she was not accepting responsibility for not communicating with me the principle told me I was unprofessional and negative. No communication, no accountability on the staff, no response to bullying. I will NOT be allowing my child to attend this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

I do like this school however, his kidegarten teacher was AWFUL. My son loved her but she had no idea how to communicate with adults and often talked to me and my family as if we were stupid. His first grade teacher was great the first semster but then I challenged one her assignments and she wrote me a nasty letter telling me how long she has been a teacher instead of acknoweldging my concerns. The prinicple is great. She saw the email communication and called and apologized to me. It seems that teachers want parents to be involved but they don't want us to ask questions or have an opinion. Not sure yet if I will let my son attend next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

My child has been attending this school since Kinder. The first year was great. Then had some challenges in the first grade. His first grade teacher was inexperienced. Had great academic credentials but lacked any skills in managing children much less teaching them. She could not even lead kids into a candy store even if she wanted to...Had to get social worker involved to prove her wrong. Then in fourth grade, there was a problem child bullying my kid that the principal would not take care of appropiately. When I explained i would be taking the matter up to the district unless i got cooperation, she blantly rubbed her Principal of the Year award in my face and told me I would get no where. I had 8 different parents complain to me about the same kid. The kid didnt even live in Gilbert. I dont know who gives out the award, but i know better that there are WAY better leadership out there. I sent my kid to a different school with a MUCH better principal but unfortunately, their academics in the ALP program were softer than what we anticipated. We stayed at Playa because we had no other choice. But leadership? Once again, "could not lead a kid into a candy store ....."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

We miss this school so much after moving out of state. I loved Liz in the office and with the exception of 2 teachers in 6 years - we have had great luck. I felt that my kids were challenged and that they had fun as well. I would have liked to see more focus on the bullying, but I think overall this school is AMAZING. I think Dr. Conrad is able to have a wonderful balance of love and discipline and think its awesome that she will come out to either greet the kids at parent pick up or hold a stop sign in the morning. We LOVED Mrs. V in 1st grade and wish all teachers were like her!! MISS MISS MISS this school so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

I seriously think several of the negative reviews are by the same parent. My daughter, now in 5th grade, has attended this school since kindergarten and I've been happy and impressed by all aspects of the school. Great extra-curricular activities including robotics, Oceanography, and choice of either regular music or band. Most of her teachers were great with one exception who was okay but a bit disorganized. Dr. Conrad is easily visable and active in the school. I only heard of one bullying incident and that student is no longer at the school, so it was resolved--that was a couple years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

Please be advised that your child grade may NOT be accurate. A certain 5th grade teacher has inaccurately entered snap grades of a lessor value on three separate occassions. This teacher even changed one student's grade from an 'A' to a 'B' in front of the child and peers on their paper. This teacher has a preconceived idea of "what" grade your child should be entitled and receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

I am a parent of a Kindergarten student. I'm so impressed by the teachers and aides who give their time and resources generously. I wish there was more we could do for the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

My daughter started 6th grade here at PDR this year (2010). She came from public schools in California, these schools do not compare to PDR. When registering by daughter here at PDR we were astounded by how professional, friendly and helpful the Administrative Staff is. We were also amazed on how the school looks and how friendly and welcoming the students are. The instructors are doing a great job! The participation of all the staff here is a A+. My daughter likes them alot and that puts us at ease.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

PDR does have some wonderful teachers with experience and a great attitudes. I do however agree with some of the comments on the principal...she definitely does not handle any discipline issues and oh boy do they have them. This past year was even worse with 5th grade fighting all the time and students' learning being affected . Dr. Conrad does nothing about it. She does not know her staff and is unprofessional, drinking at some of the fundraisers that I have attended. She also was not very supportive of one of my child's teacher, who will no longer be at PDR. She was my son's 3rd and this past year his math teacher and I absolutely loved her. Wonderful teacher who knew how to deal with special needs and behavior. I am happy to say that we will still see her for tutoring. I am also pulling my son from PDR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

GREAT SCHOOL. My son is in 1st grade and has the BEST teacher in the world, Mrs. Volz. His kindergarten teacher was also great, Mrs. Picquette. Communication has never been a problem even w/ the principal. I was afraid to put my son in this school based on the ratings back in 2007 but we had no choice and now, we are glad we did. Parent pick-up does take long however, it seems as though all schools have the same issue. By the way, the staff at 'parent pick-up & drop-off'' do a marvelous job at getting the kids in and out of the vehicles safely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

Playa's principal, staff and teachers are kind and caring...ideal for what a school should be! I only wish we hadn't moved, so that my daughter could have continued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

Simply a great school, with an excellent principal and dedicated teachers; facilities are nice and neighborhood is quiet and safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

This school has simply wonderful instructors and administrative professionals who care deeply for the outcome of the students success. My child has had a fabulous five years and I thank my lucky stars I made the decision to live in the Playa district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

My daughter just started kindergarten this year at this school. It is an amazing school and I love it! Her teacher is awesome and the whole staff is very friendly. The PTSO works very hard at this school to raise money for it throughout the year. I am now part of the PTSO and love the many oppurtunites for parent involvement at this school. I hope to see my daughter attend here all the way through 6th grade here! -proud parent, Jeanne DeMayo
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I had a wonderful experience with all three of my children at Playa del Rey. They loved all their teachers and the principal was always visible at the after school events. Playa has so much to offer at all levels. They were very supportive of cub scouts while my son attended. I highly recommend Playa to all new families in the neighborhood. You will absolutely love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

Three of my children attend Playa Del Rey this year and they love it as do I. They were in another school for the first two months and my son was abused by his teacher phisically and emotionaly that school did nothing acted like that was normal. We had him at Playa last year for Preschool because they have an awesome speech program for the children. We loved it and the teachers so after his bad experiance at his other school this year we took all three of our oldest children back to playa and have been so pleased! The teachers are GREAT as are the office staff! Our children are happy to go to school every day and that makes my husband and I very happy. All we want for our children is to be happy and get a good education and Playa is a great place for both!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

After several years of negative experience with PDR, I decided to enroll my child elsewhere, There has been in a huge improvement in my childs attitude towards school and much better grades. My child is challenged daily and very eager to learn. Extremely different than the experience at PDR. I would like to say one thing about this school and that was at least the principal was smart enough to remove some of the bad teachers from the faculty this current school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 23% 42%
Asian 8% 3%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 892-8842

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 N. Horne Street
Gilbert, AZ 85233
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 892-7810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Edu-Prize
Gilbert, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT