Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Val Vista Lakes Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
It is a veteran staff who have been very well trained in spotting kiddos who are struggling. The curriculum is amazing and far surpasses any other district or charter school.

Val Vista Lakes Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
So far so good! My son got a homework packet once a week and we completed it at his pace.


Val Vista Lakes Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
Yes! Determination not only in academics but also athletics. They have the running club and other after school sports classes.

Val Vista Lakes Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
Yes! If students are having trouble with respect the teacher or principal steps in and handles the situation accordingly.

Val Vista Lakes Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
This school rewards positive behavior and for the kids who struggle with empathy they provide classes for them with the social worker.


Val Vista Lakes Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
5 Pillars of Character is taught at the school. The social worker is wonderful too.

Val Vista Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
I taught in Gilbert Public for a few years and subbed around the district and have worked with other districts as well. Nothing compares to VVL Elementary. I bought my house in the neighborhood just for this school. Because it is an older neighborhood the school population is much smaller than other public schools. My son's kindergarten only had 21 kids and it was wonderful. They have a veteran staff of wonderful teachers who are well trained and work well together. I also LOVE the Fundations reading curriculum. The reading specialist at the school is very well trained and I am impressed by her background. I grew up in the Midwest and this school does have that small town community feel. My kids love going there and I like to say it is a private school feel with no tuition:)

Val Vista Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is in 4th grade and has been attending VVL since Kindergarten, and her years at this school have been truly exceptional. Having been raised myself in small town Midwest, VVL has the same feel of a small town school grounded in solid core values. Kids are taught more than just academics, with an equal focus on the 'pillars of character' including honesty, integrity, trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, caring, and generally becoming a decent citizen of the world. The Principal and Staff are stellar, but it is really the involvement of the parents and sense of community that sets this school apart. The PTSO is a veritable brigade of committed parents who are tirelessly fundraising to maintain the various enrichment programs for the school. There is even a Dads Club that host many fun events throughout the year such as Outdoor Movie Nights, School Dance, Fishing Derby, Lego Derby, Sidewalk Chalk Art, D'backs outings, and more. Overall, and great place to raise a child!


Val Vista Lakes Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
VVL has the feel of a small, private school where everyone knows everyone else. Even the crossing guards know all the students. The kids feel safe and protected. Parents and teachers work well together. The fundraising is top notch and brings in the funds needed for music and other programs. My granddaughter loves going to school each day and I am so happy to be helping to raise a second generation of VVL students!

Val Vista Lakes Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
When we moved here from Colorado we were nervous about the school systems. VVL made us feel comfortable and the boys are happy with their school! My husband and I feel confident the boys are learning and being challenged.

Nearby schools

Val Vista Lakes Elementary School
1030 North Blue Grotto Dr, Gilbert, AZ  85234
(480) 926-6301
Last modified Val Vista Lakes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top