Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Gilbert Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 600 students

We are best known for Christian education.

 
 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, October 28, 2014

As a former student who spent his freshman and sophmore year at Gilbert Christian, I strongly suggest that you do not go here, or send your child here. Most students that go here are fake Christians and do not take the bible seriously. The only thing this school seems to care about is the basketball team. They are constantly recruiting players and even going as far as paying their tuition in full just to convince them to play basketball. And what is even worse is these kids act as If they are above every other student and can be complete jerks to other students. From an educational standpoint it is decent but if you are looking for a christian education, then I recommend looking into other christian schools. (This review only pertains to the high school campus, not the k-8 campus which is run very differently and much better than the high school.)


Posted August 30, 2014

Gilbert Christian has gone through many dramatic changes in the past 5 years. From changing leadership, school name, philosophy, etc, the former 'Surrey Garden Christian School' is nothing like it once was. This change however is for the better. The quality in staff has gone up greatly, leadership is amazing, the outlook and focus of the school is in line with Christian values and education standards, and most importantly, they have taught and are teaching my children to be mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually strong when they leave this school. I have children who still attend and children who have graduated and are now in college. My college students are on the presidential lists at their universities and received full ride scholarships. They have told me how worried they were for college and thinking they might not be prepared enough, however they will tell you now that they were absolutely well prepared compared to their other college peers. They are excelling at their universities and I could not be prouder. If you want a place for your child to grow in their faith and be challenged educationally, then Gilbert Christian is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2014

I have written a review before that was more focused on the school itself. This review is more about the staff and students. The staff is exceptional with the exception of a few teachers who shouldn't be there. Almost all the teachers hold a masters or are working on a masters degree and could be getting paid more to work some where else but most of the teachers are happy to be there and do the utmost to help there students succeed. Two of the teachers though should not be there and are the only flaw on the spectacular staff. The students on the other hand are so so. Most are good kids who are not as christian as you would expect but are good kids. Others, basketball players, can be very arrogant and think they are too good for everyone else. There are also some kids who think they are better then everyone else, but its a private school so obviously there is a lot of money. But some of these kids need a taste of the real world and need a wake up call that not everything in life is handed to them on a silver platter and need to get over themselves but i digress. This is only a very small portion of them however. I think this school will work out some of the kinks before next year.


Posted May 20, 2014

horrible school. students are made up of drama creating, gossiping fake people. The only real christians are the staff members. Just finished my freshman year and I really don't want to come back. It looks like a great school, but looks can be deceiving.


Posted February 24, 2014

GCS is a strong, stable and Christian-based Educational school. Emphasis is on Equipping kids to love God and to place Him above all things. Additionally, GCS has a curriculum that supports strict adherence to the highest educational standards. Highly recommend this school. Elementary Principal, Mrs. Ann Flagg, is a true professional. She is lovingly dedicated to serving God through her unwavering dedication to the kids. She is a genuine person and respected educator!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

The parent community at GCS is involved. The teachers are outstanding. The curriculum is research based and implemented skillfully and systematically. Most importantly, the school puts Jesus Christ as the forefront off all learning and activity. This is a wonderful school for Christian families. There is a waiting list because it's excellent!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 20, 2014

Gilbert Christian School is an amazing place! Our children have attended GCS for the past four years, and every year, we continue to be HIGHLY impressed with the teachers and administration. They strive towards excellency in all scholastic areas, and yet also do a fantastic job of teaching and modeling a very genuine faith in Jesus, that is relationship and grace-based. In addition, the extracurriculars that they offer are wonderful. Our kids absolutely LOVE GCS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

Having taught in both private and public schools, I cannot speak more highly of the administrators and the faculty of GCS. It is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 19, 2014

Our child has attended GCS since kindergarten , is now in 3rd grade. The teachers, staff and especially the leadership( specifically the elementary principal ) have been outstanding. I cannot say enough positive things about this school- besides the amazing education my child receives , the caring, Godly people that make this school so special have truly been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

We have been blessed to have our children attend GCS for the past 8 years. We love the fact that GCS provides a Christian environment, quality education, small classroom settings and an incredible teaching staff. The teachers really know and care about your children's education and spiritual growth. Our children have attended the elementary, middle school and high school. All levels provided the Christian focus we had hoped for. We highly recommend this school if you are considering sending your children to GCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

The Elementary Principle is less concerned with the well being of the children and more concerned with keeping the parents that donate money to the school HAPPY. The school is all politics. The teachers are wonderful but have to deal with the political aspect of the school. The school is less concerned with raising good, wholesome christian children,and more concerned with your money. They will do whatever a parents with money (or who donates) says.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

My issue is not so much with the school, or most of the staff, but more so with the school principal and leadership. I had my child in Kindergarten and he was continually bullied and targeted for acting like a normal immature kindergarten child. At one point they were telling my child what a bad person he was and broke him down enough that I took him to a psychiatrist to find out what may be wrong with him. In going to the psychiatrist, he couldn't believe the bullying coming from the school on my child, even with the immature actions by my son. The principal chose to expel my son for sticking his tongue out at another student after she told him not to do that the day before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

First year family. Amazing school: wonderful music program and specials, love that physical fitness is incorporated into each day in the classroom beyond PE, love that recess and lunch is long enough to enjoy ,( in public schools they sometimes had 10-15 minutes) love that standards are high, class size is small and that God and faith is incorporated into every aspect of the day. Leadership is highly connected with the needs of staff, children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

This school is expensive and not worth the money. The education is lacking. The administration does not know how to deal with problems. Instead of spending the money on the students education they spend it on advertising. I learned more in 2 years in junior high than I have in the last 4 years at Gilbert Christian.


Posted February 15, 2012

GCS has been a blessing to our family. Our daughter is in her second year and we look forward to her continued academic success and Christian teaching by example. The staff is an amazing group of kind, caring and talented people. As with any school, we will keep a watchful eye on the promise of individualized student teaching; so far our high standards have been met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

Gilbert Christian Schools is a wonderful place for children to learn, a great community, and most importantly, a godly atmosphere which is lived out among the faculty and staff. We feel that our children are getting a high-quality education that will continue through middle and high school. We also know that the Word of God is being honored as they study through the Bible and are taught how to live a Christ-honoring life. We would highly recommend GCS to anyone who would like their children to grow not only academically, but also in the grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

Love the school! We are going into our 3rd year and our experience has been beyond our best expectations. The administration is made up of Godly men and women trying to honor God in all they do. God has blessed their efforts and the school continues to grow despite the bad economy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

The tuition continues to spike even through this bad economy! That isn't the proper way to treat dedicated parents. Politics seem to control this school. Outside looks great until you see the inside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

This is a great school that has experienced many MANY changes in the recent years. With any change there is going to be bumps along the way and that is expected. But with this school, when they face the bump in the road they do their best to change it and make it better. The Staff here is wonderful and i feel like my children are getting such a great education. My kids are way more ready for college and life than I ever was. THere are somethings about this school that i have a problem with and would like to see changed but overall I love it and so do my kids. A lot of people say "Why are you sheltering your kids from the real world?" Well my response is this. THis school isnt perfect and neither are the kids. Not everyone at this school is the christian robot that everyone likes to think they are. My kids see enough of "the real world" in this school and outside of it , but the difference is, is that my children are guided to make smart decisions and have parents and staff who want to help them make those smart choices. I know that my children have not just flourished academically in this school but also emotionally and spiritually and that is what I am most grateful for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

My children have attended GCS - MS and GCS - HS for the last two years. We know there have been changes made in these last two years, but I can't comment since our children never attended SG. However, what my children are experiencing now is an educational institution that is lead by God honoring people from the administration to the custodial staff, instruction that requires higher level thinking skills, creative problem solving and collaboration rather than memorization and knowledge based feedback, a school that has an amazing general music and choir program as well as PE, sports and drama. I feel my children are receiving an exceptional education, couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 42%
Hispanic 6% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school home school
private christian
public
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
Grand Canyon University
Westmont Christian College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jim Desmarchais
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (480) 279-5433

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Annual Tuition: Pre-K - $2997 1/2 day kindergarten - $3997 1st-6th grade - $5997 7th-8th grade - $7997 9th-12th grade - $8497
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
home school
private christian
public

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Grand Canyon University
Arizona State University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1424 S Promenade Ln
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 699-1215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT