Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


63 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gilbert Christian Schools 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a student
Clearly there's a difference between what parents think of the high school and what the actual students think. On the outside, it seems like a great school. On the inside, however, it's completely different. There are students that attend this school that don't even believe in God- which isn't a problem cause maybe this school could turn them to God especially with the great Bible teacher's. However, the student influence is so terrible that the influence of one teacher alone won't bring them closer to God. I've seen it happen countless times- bad influences are everywhere and they're ruining good Christians one by one at this school. I've seen some of the most steadfast Christians become the total opposite- "fake" Christians, and it pains me to see that happen in a school that claims to help you grow closer to God. Guess what GCHS, you hire all the write staff, but you are absolutely TERRIBLE, let me repeat that, TERRIBLE at picking students who go in the school. All I wanted was a good circle of Christian friends but that can't happen when PEOPLE IN A CHRISTIAN SCHOOL ARE AFRAID TO LIVE OUT THEIR FAITH. Oh, and one last thing, this school should be about Jesus, NOT BASKETBALL!!

Gilbert Christian Schools 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a community member
As a former student who spent his freshman and sophmore year at Gilbert Christian, I strongly suggest that you do not go here, or send your child here. Most students that go here are fake Christians and do not take the bible seriously. The only thing this school seems to care about is the basketball team. They are constantly recruiting players and even going as far as paying their tuition in full just to convince them to play basketball. And what is even worse is these kids act as If they are above every other student and can be complete jerks to other students. From an educational standpoint it is decent but if you are looking for a christian education, then I recommend looking into other christian schools. (This review only pertains to the high school campus, not the k-8 campus which is run very differently and much better than the high school.)


Gilbert Christian Schools 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
Gilbert Christian has gone through many dramatic changes in the past 5 years. From changing leadership, school name, philosophy, etc, the former 'Surrey Garden Christian School' is nothing like it once was. This change however is for the better. The quality in staff has gone up greatly, leadership is amazing, the outlook and focus of the school is in line with Christian values and education standards, and most importantly, they have taught and are teaching my children to be mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually strong when they leave this school. I have children who still attend and children who have graduated and are now in college. My college students are on the presidential lists at their universities and received full ride scholarships. They have told me how worried they were for college and thinking they might not be prepared enough, however they will tell you now that they were absolutely well prepared compared to their other college peers. They are excelling at their universities and I could not be prouder. If you want a place for your child to grow in their faith and be challenged educationally, then Gilbert Christian is for you!

Gilbert Christian Schools 4

Posted June 17, 2014
- a community member
I have written a review before that was more focused on the school itself. This review is more about the staff and students. The staff is exceptional with the exception of a few teachers who shouldn't be there. Almost all the teachers hold a masters or are working on a masters degree and could be getting paid more to work some where else but most of the teachers are happy to be there and do the utmost to help there students succeed. Two of the teachers though should not be there and are the only flaw on the spectacular staff. The students on the other hand are so so. Most are good kids who are not as christian as you would expect but are good kids. Others, basketball players, can be very arrogant and think they are too good for everyone else. There are also some kids who think they are better then everyone else, but its a private school so obviously there is a lot of money. But some of these kids need a taste of the real world and need a wake up call that not everything in life is handed to them on a silver platter and need to get over themselves but i digress. This is only a very small portion of them however. I think this school will work out some of the kinks before next year.

Gilbert Christian Schools 2

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
horrible school. students are made up of drama creating, gossiping fake people. The only real christians are the staff members. Just finished my freshman year and I really don't want to come back. It looks like a great school, but looks can be deceiving.


Gilbert Christian Schools 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
GCS is a strong, stable and Christian-based Educational school. Emphasis is on Equipping kids to love God and to place Him above all things. Additionally, GCS has a curriculum that supports strict adherence to the highest educational standards. Highly recommend this school. Elementary Principal, Mrs. Ann Flagg, is a true professional. She is lovingly dedicated to serving God through her unwavering dedication to the kids. She is a genuine person and respected educator!

Gilbert Christian Schools 5

Posted February 22, 2014
- a teacher
The parent community at GCS is involved. The teachers are outstanding. The curriculum is research based and implemented skillfully and systematically. Most importantly, the school puts Jesus Christ as the forefront off all learning and activity. This is a wonderful school for Christian families. There is a waiting list because it's excellent!

Gilbert Christian Schools 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Gilbert Christian School is an amazing place! Our children have attended GCS for the past four years, and every year, we continue to be HIGHLY impressed with the teachers and administration. They strive towards excellency in all scholastic areas, and yet also do a fantastic job of teaching and modeling a very genuine faith in Jesus, that is relationship and grace-based. In addition, the extracurriculars that they offer are wonderful. Our kids absolutely LOVE GCS!!!


Gilbert Christian Schools 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a teacher
Having taught in both private and public schools, I cannot speak more highly of the administrators and the faculty of GCS. It is an excellent school!

Gilbert Christian Schools 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
Our child has attended GCS since kindergarten , is now in 3rd grade. The teachers, staff and especially the leadership( specifically the elementary principal ) have been outstanding. I cannot say enough positive things about this school- besides the amazing education my child receives , the caring, Godly people that make this school so special have truly been a blessing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gilbert Christian Schools
1424 S Promenade Ln, Gilbert, AZ  85296
(480) 699-1215
Last modified Gilbert Christian Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Gilbert Christian Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top