Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carol Rae Ranch Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 685 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, October 19, 2014

Can the person who posted on September 25 elaborate a little bit more please? I'm thinking about bringing my kids to the school, but would like to know little bit more about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2014

We have been at CRRE for years and used to love it. There are some AMAZING teachers, yet the leadership is mediocre at best. There is far too much political rhetoric. Physical education is not taught properly, nor often enough. There are far too many faults with the school to list all of them here. I truly wish I had better news for those of you looking to place your children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

This school has a dedicated staff that provides a great education & helps build the community. Fantastic neighborhood school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

We love CRRE! The teachers are very knowledgeable, the community is very supportive and the staff is friendly and helpful. I have 4 kids that attend Carol Rae and we have been very pleased with the school, it's staff and the education they have received so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Watching the chaos during school drop off and pick up its a wonder no kids have been run over or snatched. If the lack of control on the outside is indicative of the chaos on the inside then the charter schools are clearly the way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

I can't say enough great things bout Carol Rae Ranch Elementary! We bought a house in Gilbert for the schools and they did not disappoint. My daughter attended kindergarten through second grade and loved each teacher she had: Waymack, Kitagawa, Risssi. Each took an invested interest in my daughter and took her education and our involvement seriously. The front desk staff and principal knew my daughter's name from day one and made a point to say hello to her by name whenever they saw her. Sadly we are moving out of state and pray we find a school as wonderful as CRRE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Carol Rae Ranch is amazing!!! I have experience in Education. Incredible teachers! We were so sad to leave because we moved. We were there seven years and cannot say enough great things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

I hate to do this but I am not very happy with this school. It's not what I was told to expect with Gilbert schools and how good they are supposed to be. Hopefully someone will read this and try to make some changes. Just transferred to this school from out of town. I can compare only 1 other school in the East Valley and if I do that, this school is poor in comparison to the other school. They don't get ENOUGH homework or classwork. There is NO homework on Fridays or holiday weekends. It seems as if the school is more concerned with raising money than they are with getting the children more educated because I get lots of notices on fundraisers for the school. I definitely believe they need to rethink what is MOST important. Dissapointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

I love this school! The 3rd and 4th grade teachers are wonderful and great at what they do. If you want your child going to school everyday with a smile then consider Carol Rae. A great shcool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

Some of the teachers yell all day. Some are great with the kids. Classes have too many children. Principal seems distant from the yelling teachers. Watch out. Most of all, an okay school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

Carol Rae Ranch is a great school. The 4th grade teachers are in a click. Mr. Fetsco was the best teacher. 3ed gd. Principal is very nice.


Posted October 1, 2008

Great teachers, great curriculum. As a parent of a Kindergartener and 1st grader, they really reinforce the importance of learning at home and reading to your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

This is a great school. Those who have complained in the past about lack of parent involvement are probably not involved themselves. I have been an involved parent from the first year my children have been going to Carol Rae. Those who complain are usually those who stand by and watch other do all the work. If you have a complaint, get involved. You would be surprised how much you might learn about how hard some of these volunteers work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

We moved to Gilbert from CA in Feb 2005, knowing that GPS was one of the best. (did some research prior to our move) We found a great school in this district. I am incredibly happy that my kids go to CRRE. One graduated last yr, one is in 3rd grade, another is in ADK, and my last one will be in ADK 2008/2009. Parent involvement is great and I'm really happy with the teachers. So far, they have been wonderful to my kids. (Mr. Fetsco, Mrs. Ruhrer, Mrs. Andrus- you guys are awesome!) The comradery among the students is fantastic & school spirit is super! Now that a new elem. school opened up last yr, it's not so over-crowded, which is wonderful. The student-teacher ratio is much better than before. The extra-curricular activities are fair, but would love to see more! Very, very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My son just had the best 2nd grade year I could have asked for. He progressed way above my dreams. I owe a huge thank you to Mr. Fetsco for making this possbile. He is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

Our kids enjoy the school (3 daughters), most of the teachers we have had have been above average. There seems to be a lot of parent involvement. Principle is fair-minded. One of the best schools in Gilbert if you're looking to move into school boundaries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

We have had 3 boys attend this school. The oldest of which is in a wheelchair. We received excellent services as well as great teachers. Lots of parental involvement and will truly miss the area. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

They have all day kindergarten with 1040 kids enrolled in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

Teachers, Principal, and staff are very supportive and loving to the children. Academics are average, but school unity and spirit is high. They have a special education preschool and programs for ESL learners, but not much for gifted students or students with learning disabilities other than a reading specialists. Good parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I want to know why this school is excepting out bound students when this school is over crowed. What is going to happen when they build the new housing development?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3777 E. Houston Ave
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 507-1359

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT