Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coronado Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 925 students

We are best known for academic excellence.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2010

I am a parent at Coronado and I absolutely love it. My students were well taught and always had plenty of homework to do.. good for me! I would suggest this school to anyone who has a child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

One of the worst schools i've ever taken my kids to..They are terrible at informing you how your child is doing till it's to late. I do not recomend this school. Plus every time you turn around they have a school project you will have to pay for not in just science but in History English and Math... What happened to teaching kids basics? I will not be taking my kid here next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I am a parent .. this is the first school I actually pulled my kid out of.. Teachers dont tell you your kid is having trouble till it's to late. I do like the vice principal.. He contacts you emediately if you have concerns.. Also if your child does not finish his schoolwork in class he or she probably wont do well. You dont get a history book to take home or a science book. I am very disapointed in this school.. My children have attended for four years.. They are A and B students but no thanks to the teachers..Plus they never taught the children cursive.. How sad is that.. Im teaching my children that myself plus everything else they know..very poor teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

My daughter is in the 4th grade at Coronado and has attended there since Kindergarten. Overall, this is a great school with great teachers and professional staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

My daughter is getting ready to start 1st grade there this fall. She went to half day kindergarten there last year. She had Miss Nicholas and she was great. I am excited for the new school year to start. I wish that we did not have to buy so much for the supply list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Coronado is an awesome school with great. Every school has its problems, but I would say that Coronado as a hole is a great school. It is the district that is the problem. Coronado has wonderful staff, admin. students and parents, but like at all schools their are problems and it is up to the parents to communicate with the teachers and staff. If you work with the teachers, they will work with your children. I would recommend Coronado to others. Be involved! Don't be one to stand on the side -lines and complain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

We also sent our 4 children here from Ben Franklin and had simlar experiences as the below family. Our 6th grader suffered as well and we also will be looking into other Junior High Schools for him. We will be switching back our other children as well. I was not pleased at all with the teachers and especially the principle. Now I know why a lot of our neighbors send their kids to the near by Gilbert schools rather than this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I think Coronado is a great place for my children to recieve their education. All 3 of my children enjoy going to school each day. The Administation has bent over backwards with my conserns and questions. I think the Distric has some work to do but Coronado itself is great. The K-8 idea is great in keeping my older daughter growned and focused. There are a few teachers that I don't care for but for the most part they all care about my kids and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I can not say enough great things about Coronado. We have been going there for 5 years. I hope those that read this will disregard the earlier postings as things have dramatically improved over the years. It has been such a wonder watching this new school develop. The Principle truly cares about the kids. Each week she has a 'Lunch Bunch' . By the end of the year she has met each and every one of those 1100 kids and knows most of them by name. Her Assistant Principle is very caring as well. They are constantly working on ways to improve the school both academically and socially. The office staff is the most friendly and helpful staff out of any school I have ever been to. The parent involvement is outstanding. The teachers for the most part work very hard for my children in innovative ways to teach them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

My children have been at Coronado for 6 years now. I have been very happy with education they have received. I have delt personally with the principal and I find her extremely professional and to have the children's best interest in mind. I have delt with the office staff and have found them very friendly and eager to help when needed. The teachers my children have had are great. Many of the teachers have moved up to the next grade with my children and we have found this to be a benefit to all. All in all I have found Coronado Elementary School to be a great school for my children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Most of the great teachers at Coronado will not return for the next school year as they are going to other valley schools. This could be a problem. My kids will continue to attend and although their grades couldn't be better I wonder how they will compare to next year. As other parents have stated I am also concerned by the lack of diversity. Also the counselor could be more helpful and outgoing towards students who seek her advice. Much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

If you want an overcrowded school with little parent involvement this school is for you! I have never been so unhappy with the quality of teaching and lack of parent involvement. Most parents use this school as a drop off for babysitting and do no extra work at home. We pulled out our three children and put them in private school. We have to sacrifice things in order for our children to get a great education. You could not pay me to send my kids this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I have never been more dissatisfied with a school. This school is disorganized and the teacher quality is extremely poor. Teachers don t seem to be able to handle their classrooms. I do not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

I think Coronado has wonderful teachers who care about the children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2006

In fifth grade, my daughter had a wonderful teacher who really turned her around. Coronado keeps changing administration-if they could keep a consistent staff, they would really soar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

Our family has been enrolled with Coronado since 2003-04 school year. I have three students, two with 504 plan needs. I have fought, cried, complained and been labeled a 'problem parent' because of the lack of apparent concern for the child being left behind by their peers. The apparent lack of empathy for students needs, both emotional, social and academic has been a concern of mine since the beginning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

Coronado has changed over the last year. New administration has been a large part of this change. For better or worse, we need to all get on the same page and keep Coronado a great school for our children's sake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

The quality of academic programs are lacking. Apparently they have adopted 'Langford learning'. It is setting the kids up for failure. The kids are not being held accountable soon enough. It is resulting in unaccountable, irresponsible kids! The availability of extracurricular activities are also lacking. I have tried being an involved parent but am being ignored. There is no communication from but only a handful of teachers. I am extremely disappointed in this school and would not recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

Great School. Excellent teachers! If your child is falling behind, teachers will keep in contact with you via email. Great all around school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

There seems to be a lack of consistency from one teacher to the next due to a lack of structured academic programs. There isn't any school-wide discipline plan. The expectations vary greatly from one class to another both academically and behaviorally. Some parents are constant complainers and get their way at the school and district. Our school is losing some great teachers because of mistreatment they receive from some of the parents and the lack of support from the administration. The whole district seems to be in disarray with recalls of school board members, difficulty finding a superintendent, and terminations of principals. Due to this lack of professionalism I am searching for another school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Excelling and "A" Rating (2011)
  • Highly Performing (2010)
  • Excelling (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Theodora Schiro
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 279-6905

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents and community members are encouraged to attend our monthly pto meetings and run for officer positions on the pto and school improvement council. they are also encouraged to visit their child's classroom frequently.
More from this school
  • Coronado has a friendly, warm environment where children and adults feel welcome and respected. High expectations for academic excellence and social development are the foundations for continuous improvement as we continue to learn and grow every day. Our motto is Pride in the PACK - Positive attitude, Achievement, Character, and Knowledge.
School leaders can update this information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Williams Field High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4333 South Deanza Blvd.
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 279-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT