Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine West Gilbert Elementary School

Charter | PK-5 | 416 students

Academics and Leadership
 
 

 
 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 70 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

142 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

My son has attended Imagine for a year now and we couldn't be more pleased. We thought that it was a great school to get him introduced to a real school campus. This has been a wonderful transition from a small intimate group setting (Goddard) to a larger class that mimics what Kindergarten will have in store. The staff is great and his teacher Mrs. Richards is amazing! He has learned so much so quickly. We are truly grateful for such a wonderful school and their unbeatable curriculum. Would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

This is my son's first year at Imagine; loves his teacher, his friends and his school. I am happy that my son is receiving a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

This is the first year my son has attended Imagine West Gilbert and we couldnt be happier with the school, the teachersand the staff. Imagine promotes not only an incredible educational experience but they strive to build character in the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

This is our second year at Imagine West Gilbert and I just can't say enough great things about the school and staff. The teachers care about their students and really want them to succeed. The office staff is friendly and is always willing to assist if you have questions. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

IMAGINE WEST GILBERT....WE LOVE IMAGINE!! MT DAUGHTER HAS BEEN GOING TO SCHOOL HERE SINCE KINDERGARDEN SHE IS NOW IN 4TH GRADE...WE TRAVEL 81 MILES ROUND TRIP EACH DAY BECAUSE MY DAUGHTER IS SO HAPPY AT SCHOOL. I HAVE HAD MANY FRIEND AND FAMILY MOVE TO IMAGINE BECAUSE OF THERE OUTSTANDING WORK AND FAMILY LIKE ATMOSPHERE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

My children are in their first year at Imagine West Gilbert and we are very happy with the education they are receiving. The teachers have been great and offer a positive learning environment. We are very Happy with IWG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

My daughter has attended Imagine West Gilbert since Kindergarten and is now in 4th grade. She developed a great relationship with each one of her teachers and has matured academically and socially. I like the Leader in Me program that has been instituted which has helped her prioritize and learn strong positive character traits. The curriculum is challenging and the teachers use a variety of resources to keep the students interested in learning. The 4th grade class recently had an overnight trip to the Desert Outdoor Center in Lake Pleasant and my daughter learned a lot in addition to having a great time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

According to my children, they have a great time at Imagine West Gilbert! As a parent, I believe they take pride in providing an exceptional education while instilling confidence and integrity among their students. I am impressed by their ability to meet my children s unique educational needs. The teachers and staff at IWG are absolutely wonderful. Our family truly enjoys being a part of such an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

My daughter has been going to Imagine West Gilbert since Kindergarten. We tried another charter school for kindergarten, but the staff was less than supportive or involved. Since moving her to IWG she has excelled at everything she has tried. The teachers are always available to help me guide my child through her scholastic experience. The other children at the school are some of the nicest children I have met and the staff is always working to make this a great experience for my child. It's a shame there are not more schools in the community like this one. Shawn R - Chandler, AZ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

My son has been attending Imagine West Gilbert since Kindergarten. Teachers have been great, lots of parent involvement. I was very pleased to hear that Mr Rawley was stepping up to principal. His interaction with the kids is great! Overall, a good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

My two children have attended Imagine at West Gilbert since pre-k 3 and I have been extremely pleased with every teacher they have had. I feel we are part of the Imagine family which includes every teacher and administrative staff. We love this school and recommend this school %100!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

My children are four and attend Pre-K at Imagine West Gilbert. They offer a full-day program at a competitive price. I love that they are in a classroom setting, rather than a daycare setting. One small thing that I like, is that restrooms for Preschool and Kindergarten are in the classrooms. They do not leave the class by themselves EVER. This program is definitely preparing them for Kindergarten. They have learned to write their alphabet, numbers, count to 100, and are reading sight word books. This school offers a similar program for 3-year-olds. I would have sent my kids there earlier had I known about it. The teachers and staff are friendly. The school and campus are clean. The uniform dress code is a plus for me. There is a real focus on teaching children the meaning of respect and citizenship. The school is also big on campus safety. Everyone must enter through one door, and must sign in each time. I appreciate the extra effort they make, even though it takes more time. I do recommend this school, especially for the preschool programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I give our school the highest rating possible. The teachers are so amazing and always wanting to help out when needed. They have a no tolerence for being bullied which is great. I want my kids to be at a place i know that they will always fit in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

We are proud to have our KG and Pre-KG children attending at Imagine-West-Gilbert school this 2012-2013 school year. Special thanks to all IWG teachers for their superior efforts in teaching our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Awesome, school is good, my kids been in school for 4 years Kindergarten female teacher is awesome, very polite and take time to solve the kids issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

This school is wonderful! The teachers and support staff are all very engaged in the students. You see them every morning assisting youngsters out of vehicles and greeting the students by name. Every Friday they have a school wide assembly which really unites the student body. During these assemblies,special weekly accomplishments are noted and celebrated. The school also embodies the 7 Habits of Highly Effective Children and has implemented The Leader in Me program. It is a very secure campus and offers a variety of after school activities as well as before and after care. The teachers have unique motivating rewards for their class which have been effective in boosting positive behavior. We are really happy to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Love this school! We have been at Imagine for 4 years and I love the feeling of family we get at this school. Most of the staff know both of my children. I love how welcome parents are made to feel and the opportunities we have to volunteer in our children's classes. The Special Education team is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

I have had my twins at Imagine West Gilbert starting at kindergarten and they are now in 3rd grade. I am thrilled with there progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

Imagine School West Gilbert is a wonderful school that has supportive staff and fantastic teachers. I'm so glad that Imagine is in my community and that the educators are so involved in each students success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

I have a son who has attend imagine since he was 4 years old, (and a daughter in middle school ) My son is now in 4th grade and flourishing. He loves his teachers. I like the weekiy progress reports that are sent out on e-mail. The teachers seem very eager to make sure the children are succeeding, and they make him feel that he can speak to them about any issues that may come up. Overall a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Imagine Academic Growth School of the Year (2012)
  • NCEA Higher Performing Schools List (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Imagine Schools School of the Year Runner-up (2012)
  • Town of Gilbert Citizen of the Month (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Linda Horner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Stop in for a tour!
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 855-2701

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individual Student Learning Plans
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Karate
  • Tumble Town
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Imagine Prep High School
Gilbert Public Schools
Chandler Public Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2061 S. Gilbert Rd.
Gilbert, AZ 85295
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 855-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT