Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine West Gilbert Elementary School

Charter | PK-5 | 416 students

Academics and Leadership
 
 

 
 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 26 ratings
2013:
Based on 68 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

162 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2013

I have three children in this school and they have done great. They love their teachers and their teachers keep them challenged. I love that the school has a program that helps the students learn good character as well as helping them achieve their educational goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

I have two daughters that attend Imagine West Gilbert. I couldn't be happier with the individualized education they are receiving. Both of my girls are doing exceptionally well and thriving due to the amazing teachers, staff and overall environment. I would, and do, recommend Imagine to anyone who is looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

We have had our children enrolled at Imagine West Gilbert since our oldest was in pre-k 3. We love the teachers that we have had, they are dedicated to educating our children. Many parents are willing to help out and that creates a community feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

Imagine at West Gilbert is a very great school with high academic standards with high quality teahers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

We have been a family of IWG for 4 years now. The education and the passion of the teachers / faculty is superb. We highly recommend IWG!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I choose Imagine West Gilbert as for the education and values he would get while at school. The loving compassionate staff really takes an interest in the children they are teaching. They want the parents involved which is great, and hard to find these days in a school. I am MORE than HAPPY with our choice of schools for our son. I look forward to watching him grow and learn at Imagine. They are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

This school has been so great for my daughter. She is in second grade and has been going to this school the past two years. She has grown so much and is excelling at every subject. The teachers she has had have been wonderful and allowed my daughter to just be herself and not expect her to fit into a mold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

Great school my 9 y/o loves it as do I for different reasons. The school functions well and drop off & pick up is a breeze. My daughter loves her teacher and has had good experience with all her previous teachers at this school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

Imagine West Gilbert is fantastic! Best school my kid has been to by far!!! She gets along great with her peers and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

The teachers and staff at this school are amazing! My Preschooler and Kindergartner love going to school each day. This school takes personal interest in each student that enters the school. I could not be more pleased with this fantastic school. It has been a positive experience since we started our first day last August.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

My son has attended Imagine School at West Gilbert since first grade. He in is 7th grade now and he still enjoy attending IWG. Through he has had support from his teachers. I love the fact that he is in Junior High and he still is interested in learning more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

Imagine West Gilbert is a great school, the teachers are very kind and the best part my son loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

I couldn't be happier with the quality of education that my son has received at Imagine West Gilbert. He is excelling academically, socially, and emotionally. All staff at this campus focus on educating the whole child and strive to help students become the best individuals that they can. My son's teacher has given him the tools he needs to be successful in the future, for that I am forever grateful! I HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone looking for an awesome education for their children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

MY son loves his preschool teacher and I couldn't ask for anything better. My son has learned to read and that I think says a lot! I love that he does centers in the classroom and has that this will prepare him for Kindergarden. The staff on a whole is friendly to everyone and always has a smile on their face :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Imagine West Gilbert is an amazing school. Tuition free education ran very much like a private school without the costs. Love the uniform policy. The teachers and staff are amazing, it really surprised me how many people know my son by name. My child is not just another desk filler,but a student that they really care about. I HIGHLY recommend Imagine West Gilbert!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Imagine has been an excellent academic beginning for our little one. Their integration of values and learning reinforces our home efforts and has helped our daughter to be successful in the classroom and out. We would recommend Imagine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Both of my sons have attended Imagine. The passion & sincere care that each teachers puts into these children is something other schools should strive for! I have experienced almost every grade level & have never once been disappointed! I would recommend ANYONE, who is trying to make a decision as to where to send their children to school, to take a DEEP look into Imagine! Thank you to each staff member for such amazing experiences over the years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I have a kindergartner and a second grader at Imagine West Gilbert. My kids and I have very pleased with this school. They have the BEST teachers, very friendly and willing to help! Amazing staff all around an excellent school I would recommend this school to anyone with a preschooler to an 8th grader!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Our kids have been at Imagine for 2.5 years now and they couldn't be happier! They are now getting ready to complete 2nd grade. The school sets high standards of excellence in both academics and life learning. They do more than just the basic school work - Imagine Schools also focus on teaching the kids about respect, integrity and having good character. Something we consider to be very important. The academics are a little more challenging at Imagine, but the teachers are always available to the students and parents. The high test scores prove that! Being able to communicate with the teachers, whenever needed, is one things that I am most thankful for. Each teacher also treats each student individually. They work with each individual and they take time to understand each student so everyone succeeds. We are all so happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I like this school because it has before care and a good before care taker
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Imagine Academic Growth School of the Year (2012)
  • NCEA Higher Performing Schools List (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Imagine Schools School of the Year Runner-up (2012)
  • Town of Gilbert Citizen of the Month (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Linda Horner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • Stop in for a tour!
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 855-2701

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individual Student Learning Plans
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Girl scouts
  • Karate
  • Tumble Town
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Imagine Prep High School
Gilbert Public Schools
Chandler Public Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2061 S. Gilbert Rd.
Gilbert, AZ 85295
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 855-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT