Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Higley High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

Higley administration is TERRIBLE. They never ever call you back even when the VP says he will call you back in 1-2 days. For the rest of us with real jobs we would be fired if we acted like this. Dealt with them for 6 months for two students, coming from out of state. Go somewhere else, anywhere. Heck you will have to just to get anything accomplished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

My son attended Higley High as a new student during the 3rd quarter of 2014 school year. Parents beware of the bullying environment and students at this school who don't welcome an outsider. My son was constantly taunted by students to a point that we had to withdraw him. He has also informed us of a group of boys that walk home daily into the large neighborhood that is south east of the school that would grab him and punch him on his walk home from school. As a parent this disturbs me to a point of wondering where are we headed in the future with students that portray these types of characteristics. These groups of students don't welcome others who are not part of their religious affiliation. As a middle school teacher I'm honestly seeing that a majority of the students in our classrooms would rather be on there cell phones or hanging out with friends. Students are disrespectful to teachers daily and other students who want an education suffer due to their attention seeking behaviors. My advice is be very careful when you choose a school to place your students in; better yet think about some of the high quality charter schools that are around the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

There are a lot of bad teachers in this school. But there are mostly bad teachers. like there are teachers that don't teach and they give you homework with questions that you don't even know because the teacher didn t teach you that stuff and expect you to do it on your own. And when you ask that teacher about it they say that you should know the stuff already and didn t help you out, and so you failed that class along with everyone else. And this school seems like that care more about sports then everything else. There are cliques everywhere and you see kids making out around campus. Everyone here looks the same like they always wear really short shorts and wear a lot of makeup and wear really thin spaghetti straps and the teachers don t even do anything about it. They act like they re cooler than everyone else and always hang out in a group and doesn t let anyone else join.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2011

This school is a joke, to put it lightly. I have never experienced such unorganization. I attended Higley High School for my Freshman and Sophomore year, and have been in the Higley School district since 1st Grade. STAY AWAY from HUSD at all costs; my experiences have been nothing but misery. Higley High School has awful, and seemingly uneducated admin. My parents have had enough of the shenanigans, as have I. Save yourself the uncleanliness, disgusting food, unhelpful teachers and lack of motivation. I absolutely detest this school and would I advise you to look else where for an education for your kid.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2011

Im a freshman at Higley and it is awesome!!!! the upperclassman dont pick on us and there is no such thing as "FRESHMAN FRIDAY". they just mad it up. GO HIGLEY KNIGHTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2010

I am a freshmen at higley high and so far it has been amazing (: its such a great school!! everybody is always nice and the upper classmen dont tease or pick on us. they help us grow as a good school (: i rate higley high school a 5 because we do have good leadership and we will always be there for when people need help!! (: stay cool higley knights!! (: YOU WISH YOU WERE A HIGLEY KNIGHT WHAT!! WHAT!! (: GO KNIGHTS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2010

Parents beware!! Very low standard of leadership at this school, instead doing what is right for the children they are more worried about covering the basics. They have rules for the students that the leaders of the school do not follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2010

As a student, I feel I am honestly given every opportunity to succeed at Higley High. Now going into my senior year, I have witnessed many changes to Higley over the years and I must say that they've all been GREAT! We have an amazing principal who is often seen around campus and who makes weekly visits to every class on campus. Our teachers are simply wonderful and inspiring. Though we may not be able to offer as many classes as bigger schools can, I'll take QUALITY over QUANTITY any day. Go Knights!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2010

Higley High has good classes...but the only ones are like "video production, ceramics..etc" ones that are extra.. the teachers here do not communicate well and get the material across to the student. I will be attending Queen Creek High School, and see how that goes as I will be a sophomore. Higley High had amazing spirit...but a lot of kids did drugs and ditched a lot...its dangerous :(
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2010

This school is great, I'm so glad that I didn't which schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2010

I think that the principale is doing a great job with the school. However, I think the teachers need to take their job more seiously and have more concern for the students and their grades. This is for every school in Higley school district. I think the music and arts are lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

this is a good school with the learning and the extracurricular activies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

Im a Freshmen at Higley High!And I started as a new student I felt welcomed when I started. The teachers are great and the students are awsome! I love this school so much and I would def recemend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2008

I am a freshman at Higley High and must say that i love the school. The staff is friendly and competent, and the kids are all very welcoming. Go knights!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

Higley High School dissapointed me and my family in many numerous ways. My two very bright children were former students there and struggled their first two years there. A small handful of the teachers are amazing at the work they do, but with the lack of the school and district's administartion my children struggled. The best quality teachers all seemed to move on and were tired of the unorganization too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

We love higley high school! :d the best people are here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

This is my second year at Higley High. Now i moved here from wisconsin and i must say that i noticed a huge difference between the two schooling systems. I find every part of the administration to be unorganized. I am struggling with the guidence office and supposedly no one can help me. There are a few very excellent teachers, but the majority of them are not modivating the students to achieve at a higher level. Overall i am dissapointed in Higley. I don't reccomend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

I attended Higley for the first two years of my highschool education. I am now a Junior, and last year I discontinued my enrollment there not by choice. Before I attended, I was an honor student and got along with most people my age. The school had an impact on me by making me antisocial, angry, and overall depressed. Though the teachers were not completely to blame, the administration was at fault. My mother and I made many complaints about bullying and behaivor issues. I've been attending an online school since then and my grade have gone from very low failing, to high A's and B's. For any parent who's child is attending there and has any issues with their child in the way that I had when I went there, I strongly reccomend getting them out as soon as they can. Thanks.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 25, 2007

Higley High is not a very good high school. Standards and expectations are quite low. Security is lax and administration has frequent turn over. There are some good teachers, but the really good teachers move along after a couple of years. This school should be much better. After six years in existance, it is not improving at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

There are better schools than Higley High in the East Valley. This school has low standards and expectations. The principal is seldom seen on campus. There are abundant and frequent discipline problems. Security is lax. The good teachers move on. Many classrooms are chaotic and out of control. The entire district is always in some kind of uphevel. 'Quality Education' brought to the district by Superintendent Lutrey is a complete failure. Parents need to be aware of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4068 East Pecos Road
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 279-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Perry High School
Gilbert, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT