Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Higley High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2007

I would have to say that this is the worst school that my children have ever attended! The administration at this school is all show! They pick and choose what they want to be involved with. As far as other extracurricular activities that is almost a joke in itself! I have had 2 my children attend Highly High and
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2007

This school offers many opportunities to students but the problem, for many students, is that their parents are simply not encouraging them to do these things. Other than that, there are wonderful teachers who put a lot of work into what they do, many great students, and overall good administration. I would recommend this school to any interested parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

Higley High School was the worst school I've ever had my child attend. The guidance counselors staff were over worked and did'nt have time to address individual needs and concerns. The Principal makes decisions with the board without asking the parents for input. I can only think of one good thing about that school and it's that there are a handful of great teachers who truly care about education but aren't allowed to make crucial decisions regarding teaching in their classrooms because they aren't supported by the Principals or the Administration. The Administration is filled with dishonest people. Find another school!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 6, 2006

The sign above the front door says (No Child Left Behind) this is so untrue. There is general education or special education. My child went for an above average student(A and B) to D and F's. The special education department is poor in almost every way possible. I think that if your student is average than its an okay school but if your have special needs than it is truly a nightmare! This school needs some serious review by our board of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

This is my first year at Higley, and so far, it's moderate. I suppose that the school could enforce their rules a lot more. Dress code is absolutely disregarded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2006

I really should have stayed in the chandler area. Higley High is one of the most disorganized schools I have ever seen. The kids dont even go to the dances because they are so un organized. The teachers run through the curriculum without a care about the children.I will not let my younger ones attend this school when they are old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Wonderful wonderful school! I can't believe this 1 isn't # 1! Bravo higley~!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Students at Higley High School come from a variety of backgrounds, both culturally and economically. Most students come to school for social reasons and not to get a good education. Many refuse to do homework and will only do what is given in class. Therefore, one will see mediocre students at best. There are a few that will stand out and are college bound but the majority will not go on to any further education. Most parents support the teachers and expect their children to do well. They will back the teacher if called, for both academic and disciplinery issues.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2005

I think the school is improving in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

I feel like Higley High School is an awesome place for my daughter. She is so involved in activities that appeal to her - jazz band, where she plays eletric guitar, art club, and newspaper. She also participates in the AP program where she can receive college credit upon taking the course and exam. The teacher feedback is amazing! They actually care about the students. I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

A great school with potential! My daughter went there and had a great time and had no problem fitting in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

Great school! my daughter attended and had a ball! she loved the students , teachers and friends she made quickly during her presence at the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

The Advanced Placement classes at Higley High are outstanding. The teachers are great & very enthusiastic about teaching. There are many elective courses to choose from & all major sports are offered. Parental involvement is about average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

I think that higley is a wonderful school. This is my daughters second year there. She really enjoys the teachers and the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

Higley is great small school where students can really strive to their very best because they are small school that focuses on the students and the community as a whole. Compared to other schools in the area like Gilbert and Highland, Higley is on top of the ball with quality. Many kids don't get left out at this school because it is small school where everybody knows everybody and they get along no matter the race, religion, style or gender. Higley High is an awesome school that continues to amaze the students, community and the state with it's record high AIMS scores.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2004

This school suffers from a lack of leadership at the principal level. The current leadership has been in position since well before the school opened and has not demonstrated an ability to establish a functional, working relationship with the staff, parents, or students. This school needs attention, and will not be successful until problems are addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2003

Education at this school is ok, but it is very poorly managed. One problem that they have is lack of security. Basically, if security is important to you, the this is the wrong school for you. Administration handles security issues as if it is not their problem.


Posted October 18, 2003

My son has attended higley high since the first day it opened. I love the small high school feeling you feel when you are there. I agree with the comments about the principal. We need real leadership. I will not be taking my child out, but I have real doubts with the future of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2003

Higley is such a new school, that they have yet to establish the basic knowledge of how to run a school. I believe that the teachers are putting forth the best that they can, with a few exceptions, but the leadership of the principal is far too great. Perhaps a new principal would make the school run better, and the students would perform better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2003

Overall, I've been satisfied with the school. Areas that needs attention: Proofreading of information sent home such as the school newspaper. Even though it is student run, it should be checked by faculty before publication. The yearbook also had several mistakes and one inappropriate photo (a girl's belly piercing). These are reflections of the school's academic and moral standards. Enforce the dress code (especially girls). Progress reports and report cards need percentages and GPAs listed. I feel the school has experienced typical situations for a new school--lack of experience in different areas, the ability to offer a full curriculum, and involvement with getting kids excited about learning and planning for their future. I do not feel that any of these areas would be enough for me not to send my student there. I feel the school's staff really does make an honest effort to improve and I'm confident they will.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4068 East Pecos Road
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 279-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Perry High School
Gilbert, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT