Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

My daughter is doing very well at this school. Her 3rd grader teacher was fresh out of college, but did a great job. She likes her teachers, has made many friends, and feels comfortable and safe here. The workload is challenging but reasonable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

My family recently moved to OH. We were worried that our children wouldn't be at the same level as the other children in their new school (since AZ schools don't rank well amongst other states). I am very happy to report that San Tan completely had them prepared. They are both doing extremely well and are even testing at a higher level in most areas. I attribute it to the staff at San Tan and the commitment that they all give to the kids. I also want to let the PTO know that they do an awesome job at San Tan. The PTO at our new school doesn't even compare. Thanks San Tan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I am very happy with San Tan Elementary. I have three children attending the school and I am impressed with "most" of the teachers they have had. I do realize all teachers are different and probably will not like all of my children's teachers. I have had great communication from many of the teachers. Depending on the grade we got newsletters weekly or monthly (with weekly updates). We received emails when our 6th grader was falling behind in one class (all four of her teachers offered to help her through tutoring). I am glad my children attend San Tan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

Our childrens' experience at this school was dismal. Teacher communication was almost non-existent and turnover was high. The atmosphere among parents was one of discord and competition. We were glad to have other school choices in our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

2012-2103 school year is off to a great start! The amazing staff at San Tan are working harder than ever. As a parent I truly appreciate the endless hours of training, the supportive administration and the abundance of helpful teachers. From the amazing Mrs. Potter in the front office to the wonderful cafeteria manager, Connie, everyone is on the same path this year! Rock on San Tan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

We love San tan and all of the staff!!! I cant wait to see what next year brings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

I have been very pleased with this school. The teachers us every means of communication to make sure we are prepared to help our kids. Email, phone, newsletters and school website. They also tailor their program to the kids needs, and do everything they can to enhance the kids learning ability as best suits the child. My only complaint is the amount of fundraisers that the school is involved in. We have done at least 2 fundraisers a MONTH this year, sometimes more. The pressure put on the parents at such an early agie is somewhat ridiculous. I can understand some fundraisers, but as a working Mom, I find it difficult to participate, and my kids seem to feel very pressured by this to outperform their friends. I don't think this is a good practice when my kids are in Kindergarten and 2nd grade. Overall, if I were to recommend the school, Hands down, I would tell anyone to move into the area! The surrounding neighborhood is the most child friendly area we have ever lived, and since we are military, that says alot about this area and the school! Good luck in your school searches!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

I have two children at this school. They both are receiving a great education. It concerns me that teachers are getting let go. I received an email today that there will be a new principal effective 12/5. What is happening with the teachers and staff at this school? None of the teachers will talk about what is going on. The district is not talking either...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

I would like to comment on the most recent post below dated 11/28/2011. San Tan does have great teachers in all grades and they have worked hard to get there. Truth IS that Dr. Alva has managed to push the staff to become one of the best schools in AZ, he is a very intelligent man and has a demanding position at San Tan but also within the district! HOWEVER going to the extreme to say that there is flirting in the office, NO !!! Never have I seen any such type of behavior as much as I am in the school. What I do SEE and HEAR is front office staff communicating with parents. Every parent is different and has different needs for them and their children. The front office staff deals with a wide variety of parent issues and these ladies work with parents to meet each of their needs. Would I call this flirting, absolutely not! They show attention, sympathy, assistence, laughter, support and comfort. As a parent you want admirable service as you walk in the door. Parent below why don't you look up the definition of what FLIRTING really means!! Parent why don't you get a job behind the desk of an office staff member and open your eyes to what office staff and administration faces
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

I have also read many of the comments. I got on here to see if there was any clue as to why several teachers are leaving San Tan. Two of the teachers that left had huge impacts on our children's lives. They were truly amazing teachers. Have the 'numbers' become more important than the children I wonder? Has the new principal caused the good teachers to leave? If it is about the "numbers", why have first grade teachers left? They don't do AIMS, correct? I worry that without the strong teachers in the lower grades, who have the patience and intelligence to teach our kids how to read, our numbers are going to decrease.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

We have 2 Children @ San tan Ranch. We could not be more pleased with San Tan. What Dr. Alva & Mrs. Wolf have accomplished in their 1st year and continues to accomplish.... AMAZING!!! Our kids came home Friday so pumped up & excited as they had a short assembly on how WELL San Tan STUDENTS & Teachers are doing! San Tan is currently rated 20th out of 1300+ Schools in the State of AZ & # 1 for the District. One of our kids went from failing to being a honor student!! I have read ALL the comments, & I could sit here & go tick for tack on each complaint; but I have better things to do. Besides the numbers speak from themselves!!! As for the haters... the complainers.... STOP IT, go get your teaching degree, or be involved with the School or in the classrooms. It is not at all easy! If you think you can do it better.... step up I am sure they would love to have you on board at San Tan. I am proud to say that our Children attend San Tan Elementary & do not have any faults or issues with the Dr. Alva, Mrs. Wolf or and of the administrators or Office Staff for that matter. They are all WONDERFUL & truly do care for EVERY student & parent associated with San Tan Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

I transferred my children to this school because I had heard it was the best in this district. If that is so, I would hate to see the other schools. This school, and district, have been the most inconsistent school system we have ever experienced. The teachers always look mad at the end of the day as they walk the students out. It seems that they can't be eager enough to be rid of the children. The principal, as my child tells me, if often on his cell phone in the hallways and even in the classrooms, while a teacher is 'teaching'. I am transferring my children to another district after first quarter. Possibly a district that enjoys children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

My son has been attending this school since kindergarten began in fall 2009. We have been underwhelmed with the depth of the education that he has received and unimpressed with the curriculum. The teachers he has had are caring and communicate fairly well, however, the environment in which they are trying to develop our children's minds and abilities is lacking. The change in principal/leadership has only empowered the PTO that seems to have so much control over who gets what within the school. I have witnessed favoritism, bullying and a genuine hostility--and that is among the parents. I would like a more positive and encouraging environment for our child and our family. Also, the last two weeks were composed of a lot of movie watching, free periods and little new instruction. The report card came home with NO additional comments--constructive or not--about my child's year-long performance. We had a good rapport with my child's teacher and were quite involved throughout the school year. I have to wonder if the environment is wearing on the teachers as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

Our son attended in 2009, and we are taking him out at the end of 2011. We won't know how his new school will compare, but if it has half of the problems we'll be fine. At San Tan, get ready to be bombarded with constant fundraisers and straight out requests for donations. They sure communicate well about the weekly fundraisers, but pretty much fail on all of the important communications. You have to drag information out of teachers and staff. Maybe they're overwhelmed with the overstuffed classrooms. You could go to the PTO meetings and try to help - as long as you like being bullied and yelled at if you get out of line. If you speak your opinion on anything, you then get to endure the snide comments, infighting, and politics. I wouldn't be surprised if the new principal is gone within a year. We went to visit on parent lunch day - it was an absolute mad-house. That's how it is every day apparently. We did have a couple of good teachers, but honestly I don't know how long they'll last. I feel bad for them and the schools in general, it's sad they don't get the funding they need. Why can't we do anything about it? Arizona makes me really sad and embarrassed sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

I have moved her from a different distrist and thought Gilbert public schools were going to be better but boy did they prove me wrong. I have realized that new teachers do not know how to do anything and they push the children backwards when they need to push them forward and I'm very disappointed with this school. They need more teachers who know how to teach and then they can bring scores up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

I, as a student, being here at San Tan Elementary School, is one of the best experiences ever. The education provided to me is very sufficient. And whenever I am with the teachers, they strictly hold on to the students to make sure that they know what they are doing. I wouldn't choose any other schools except San Tan. Whenever we take our Galileo Tests (Quarterly District Assessments) and AIMS, it proves that all of us actually get the education we need. I've seen no other schools, bases on the Galileo Scores the teachers shows us, who can do better than us. Go San Tan Scorpions, you're the best and always will be!


Posted April 15, 2011

I, as a student, in this school, has seen a lot of things. How can you parents prove that the school is doing bad? It is not like you have recorded every class or been with your child in that school for a straight 7 hours seeing what the students are being taught. I'd say you guys are a complete imposter! You do not know that you are talking about. If you are posting these ridiculous "so called bad school" comments, I'd say they are a waste of time. You are probably writing it because of your childs' grades. WAKE UP! its not the school's fault. its your child. Unless you can actually prove to the public, with your own eyes, or with a camera that this school, is so called "bad" and should be closed, well think again. I think this school is actually the best of all the Arizona Schools I've ever been taught at.


Posted April 26, 2010

When my three children began attending this school in 2004, we couldn't have been more thrilled. Awesome teachers. Wonderful principal. Families were involved. Now fast forward to the present, we are constantly dealing with inadequate teachers who honestly don't know how to handle their classes and a principal who is thankfully retiring this year because she made everyone's experience there MISERABLE. I can't wait to get my kids out of that school at the end of the year. Our time has been completely wasted at the expense of the children. San Tan elementary? FAIL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

Two of our children have attended San Tan since it opened. Improvement in all areas has been continuous. We are proud that our school has achieved 'Highly Excelling' in the past couple of years. This is proof of the continual state of improvement at San Tan. None of this could be possible without strong and dedicated leadership from Principal Migacz. She is not a namby pamby weakling. She is the visionary, energetic force and the immovable object which impels the students and faculty to ever increasing achievements. We appreciate her strength, and in particular that she does not bow down and let hoodlums and errant, trouble-making parents run the joint. San Tan Elementary is very safe. Crime is almost non-existent. Much effort goes into protecting the students from bad behavior and discrimination of all types. All to protect the learning environment. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

Very unhappy with this school. Our child has attended this school for 7 years now. She has had all but 1 teacher in those 7 years that had the actual experience and ability to effectivly teach and discipline the students so they were productive.(Thank you Ms. Dayna Smith for making a difference!) Most of the teachers at this school are very young and under experienced, most cannot even control the children in their classes which makes it difficult for the serious students to learn. If you have the option to choose another school, I would definitely do that. Where is the leadership at this school to make the necessary changes that should be made?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3443 E. Calistoga
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Phone: (480) 279-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT