Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2008

I love San Tan.My kids also love it.The teacher my son has is going above and beyond to help him with his weaknesses.Not only does he help him with his weaknesses,but hones in on his strengths.He has called me 3x and we have had a conference and School has only been in session for a month and a 1/2.he is dedicated to his work and his students. As far as the extracurricular activities are concerned there are several to choose from.They have a Art nad Science club,cheer,karate,dance,orchestra.There os something for everyone.The PTO is also very dedicated to making sure that School events run smoothly and are fun for everyone involved,not just the students.I plan to have my children stay in Sna Tan until its' time for them to go to High School.All the staff at San Tan are doing an excellent job!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

This school is terrible if you can put your child somewhere else do. In fact, very disappointed all together with the Higley School District. We switched our children here from a Franklin School. They have been here two years now. They will not be next year. This school should receive a failing grade for quality of staff, extracurricular activities and parent inovlvement. Academics are suffering at san tan, if you can get your child into a better school do it before it is too late for them. Good Luck to all. I know the Franklin schools are great as that is where are two children will return and we are looking into Junior High in Mesa Schools where we are looking to move because of their schools after this experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

My kids have been going to this school for 6 years. I am moving soon and I am very glad. The teachers are great, but the administration is horrible. Mr. LaRose was a great principal, but the one now is awful!!! Also, their HATS program (the gifted program) needs a lot of work. I don't feel as though my children get the education they deserve at San Tan. I would have given it one star, but the teachers are really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

My kids have been at this school for over 5 years and I have been with 3 principals and I've got to say that the principal there now has done a wonderful job, with alot of crybaby teachers who don't want to teach the children in the direction that the school district has dictated it needs to be done. As far as the PTO goes, I have worked with some really wonderful ladies who give of themselves unselfishly without any rewards other than the kids having a great time with the different activities they get to enjoy all year long. Which is what its all about. They have tried to included everyone who wants to participate, unfortunately not all parents can handle working with a varied group of ladies, and lack of support from 99% of the other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

Comming from the east coast i had a lot of reservations about the Higley schools district. After moving here i have found how completely wrong i was. Besides the beautiful campus itself the faculty and staff has been most helpful. My children were very well recieved and have suprised us with the knowledge they have obtained. My husband used to teach physics at Duke University in N.C. Having made a living as a professional teacher we know the value of parent involvement in our childrens academic efforts. San Tan has great parent involvement and has developed a culture of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

Coming from one of the best school districts in the country I have high expectations for where my children attend school. With that said this school has me seriously thinking of pulling them out and never returning. The overall problem is the principle! Every school has hit or miss teachers but its the principle that makes the good ones leave. It should be the other way around. A great principle which can weed out the bad teachers! Too bad this school has it backwards! The crazier thing to me is that I have brought things to the distrcts attention on numerous occassions, as have other concerned parents and nothing has been looked into. I say nothing because if things were looked into they would be finding us a better principle! This school has such great potential with the right people leading the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I had to laugh about the PTO being the best thing at San Tan. They have one of the worst PTO's I've ever been witness to. Just a bunch of clique-ish busy bodies without much else to do. I've seen little benefit to the school from the PTO. As for the parents not helping out-it's because the nasty personalities on the PTO chase them away! My daughter will finish this school year and be pulled to attend a decent school in Gilbert as the remaining good teachers have now finally been chased off by the shrieking banshee of a principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

The quality of the academic programs is fine, the teachers do what they can with what they have. I feel that the kids could use more P.E. I know the basics are important spelling, reading, writing, math and etc. but more music, art, science. Parent involvement in San Tan is great, but we could always use more! We love our parents to help out, and then you can see what is really going on in the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

This truly is a wonderful school, with a supportive staff and administration. Lots of changes have been made and all for the better. This is a highly performing school, and the AIMS results are in to back this. San Tan performed above the state average in their test scores. This is because of the commited and dedicated staff that puts learning first and works hard to build a strong community in the school. The staff works hard at everything they do, it's nice to see the support from most of the parents and community that recognize all the hard work we teachers do for our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 10, 2007

It is a really good school. I just think sometimes the teachers won't follow the rules they will just sit there and let a child fail. Overall this school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

This school has a few good teachers, but it is totally hit and miss. PTO has been the only good thing about the school for the past couple years. A few amazing women put in a ton of time, while the rest of the parents are 'too busy' to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

We have had 5 great years at San Tan so far. We have seen 3 principles come and go, but are happy with the current principle. The staff has seen a high turnover rate which makes me a little uneasy but hopefully the school will have some stability in the near future. We've been blessed with some excellent and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

This school has undergone quite a few changes, but nothing has helped it. We are now on our 3rd principal. Most of the teachers are leaving this year, which is not necessarily a bad thing. There are a couple of good teachers here, but it is hit and miss. The curriculum is not standardized, and one class may be excelling in the Accelerated Reading program, while another (my son's actually) didn't even use the program. Very frustrating! There was no challenging curriculum here--the homework was a joke. I think the principal is honestly trying to improve the school, but with lack of support from the teachers and the school district, it seems like a losing battle. We ended up pulling our kids in favor of placing them in a Gilbert school this
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

It is always difficult for a new school starting out in a new area....Being an involved parent and seeing the change and growth in this area so rapid over the past 5 years, I think San Tan has done quite well. There is always room for improvement, but the quality of teachers is very good and their desire to do what is right for the kids is great. Between my 2 kids we have had 11 teachers. We have only had problems with one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My child has been at san tan elem for 4 years. The first year was awesome! Sadly the school should receive a failing grade for quality of staff , extracurricular activities and parent involvement. Academics are poor at san tan, if you can get your child into a better school do it before it is too late. I am spending a fortune on tutoring and home study supplies. Library is no longer a class to go to it has been omitted from the lineup of academic studies. Good luck to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

I loved San Tan as the teacher my son had was the best any of my children ever has had. Mrs Porras was God sent. He jumped more than 3 grade levels with her. A lot of other teachers could learn from her true caring and her dedication. I would vote her teacher of the year,any year as she truly loves her job and her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

Terrible school. Something needs to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I am very disappointed with this school. It has potential to be a great school with the right leadership. Academics are not very good because the teachers are just going through the motions and not teaching the children. Extracurricular activities are not invested in as an important part of the education process. The music program suffers and the quality of special education is only as good as one teacher. (Mrs. Porras) She is the one teacher, who in my opinion, really cares about children with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

This school has a lot of potential. But I fear that it suffers from what may plague many schools. The teachers are hit or miss; they are either very great or very poor. But I think this is the way it is going to be because not enough parents care to ask more of their teachers, let alone their children. I have been very lucky. The two teachers that my daughter has had (K & 1st) have been great. But I feel that the parents indifference brings her whole class down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

This schools has great teachers with the best of intentions. However, the district/administration has created such a negative work environment that I'm guessing most of the staff will leave in the next few years. Decisions are made without any regard for the people actually making a difference in the lives of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3443 E. Calistoga
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Phone: (480) 279-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT