Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Power Ranch Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

64 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2006

Just had the parent/teacher meeting yesterday 3 August 2006 and I'm extremely happy that my child is with Mrs. Watts. She has a great plan put together for the education of the children and her classroom was fantastic. If she was to teach up one grade each year, I would make sure my child was in her classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

My daughter just finished kindergarten at Power Ranch. We are very happy so far with the school. She had a great, caring teacher. I also volunteered in the class from time to time. The school had a lot of extra programs as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

I am not happy as a parent with the principal or vice principal, I have been a parent at this school and seen a lack of support for our teachers and as a result low teacher morale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

I feel the school is quality. It has energetic and caring teachers. Students get a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

I feel the expectations are low & the overall morale of the teachers is low. Little disciple & support from the pricipal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

Power Ranch is a wonderful school that has many great teachers and has a great cirriculum. There are many extracurricular activities such as art, music and sports available. The school encourages parent envolvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

Power Ranch is an awesome school. They have survived their growing pains and continue to improve academically each year. Our aims in 1-5 are better then neighboring districts. The middle school still needs a lot of improvement. Teachers need to motivate not just enforce rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Our family loves Power Ranch as a community but we are all very disappointed with the school. The principal does not make herself available and doesn't take care of issues that often arise. I haven't seen the repeated challenges remedied but rather continue if not increase. The promised changes/improvements don't come to fruition. There is not enough time for the students to purchase and eat their lunch before they are quickly instructed to abruptly leave the lunchroom. I know of several students (varying in ages) who have been late because of the disorganization and inadequate amount of time needed. We continue to hope for improvement for the sake our of children's futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

The middle school has come a long way!! There are a lot more electives offered and my child loves middle school! The teachers are highly qualified and friendly. I'm really happy with Power Ranch this year! The principal is really great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

I moved here from the midwest. My son finished the second half of the year at Power Ranch. I feel like we took 1 1/2 years off his education. AZ schools,seem to be very behind in education. Unless you are from another area of the US, there is nothing to compare to. I know there is better and there are districts that support education and have the necessary tools for teachers to do their job. I am not finding that here. Schools are severely underfunded and there seems to be very little parental involvement at P.R. Unless, parents get involved in their children's education, these schools will continue to be mediocre, at best. AZ schools need to address this...we need to turn this district around. Power Ranch needs guidance and strong leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

My kids have gone to this school for a year, I'm not too keen on the middle school aspect of it, I really feel they sould seperated more and thery are very lacking in the extra activities and electives but overall it's a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

Power ranch is getting better every year. The elementary program is great. I do have some problems with the middle school. I would assume changes will be made based on the new test scores for the middle school kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

I think Power Ranch is an amazing school. The teachers are wonderul. One of their goals is to have high student achievement. My children feel safe at Power Ranch. The teachers support our children and also create a enriched environment. I would highly recommend Power Ranch. The third grade team is amazing, check out their Aim scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Things are improving for the elementary grades, The middle school program needs work. I have serious concerns about the middle school teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

Great School. Staff turnover a little high but that is to be expected of a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

We were happy with the school in the past but the new principal and vice principal seem disorganized and not discipline oriented. The middle school especially is not discplined and no dress code is enforced that we see. We will be having our children attend another school in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

The assistant principal is a good guy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

The standards at the jr high level definitely need to be increased. I think that there is a big gap between a traditional jr high and the k-8 school. I have 3 kids that have been through the K-8 schools in Higley district and would much rather see them go to a traditional jr high for many reasons. Academic expectations, sports programs, availability of electives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

New school with the typical growing pains. Each year it seems to get more organized. The new administration is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

I am so much happier at this school. My kids are much happier here than at their last school. The staff and parents are extremely friendly and helpful! Thank you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4351 S. Ranch House Parkway
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 279-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT