Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chandler Traditional Academy-Freedom

Public | PK-6 & ungraded | 898 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2013

My favorite comments on this site comes from a parent (below) who stated: (1) "A school that gives out a ton of home work and don't follows up on the home work is not a great school," and (2) "Phono grams who have use for that." Sounds like CTA came along a few years too late for at least one parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

We've been with CTA Freedom since they opened 7 years ago and had nothing by wonderful experiences. The one or two times we had issues, they were quickly resolved and handled professionally and fairly. No complaints whatsoever. A lot of people don't like the homework burden, but it's never been a big deal for my kids, and I like that I can see every day what they are learning and progressing in. I also feel it prepares them more accurately for high school and college than no-homework schools ever could. 5 stars, completely! Oh, and to the parent who thinks the school doesn't follow up on homework, I would say take that up with the teacher. In the past 6 years, and three children of mine attending there, I have never once had that issue. Sounds like a teacher issue, not a school issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

Amazing, amazing school! The Chandler Traditional Academies are unlike any other and second to none, and for that reason they are consistently full. My child transferred to this school and the homework isn't any more than the regular school that she came from. It is relevant to the lessons learned and never involves busy work. The bar is set high for the students in these academies and they respond beautifully. They are gaining morals, character, and an advanced education only seen in the private school sector. Well done CTA Freedom! I cannot imagine my child attending any other school. Your students will grow up to be successful members of society and know how to work hard and take responsibility for their actions at a young age...life lessons that will serve them well in the workplace! Phenomenal school! (hence the A+ Excelling state rating)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

Finally we could burn the CTA shirts! A school that gives out a ton of home work and don't follows up on the home work is not a great school. Phono grams who have use for that. What a relief to get that our daughter are at Payne JR High after the summer. Running club was great! Why only have a lunch break for the kids to get out of the class room and not a short break in the AM and PM also... Burn, burn burn .....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

This school is great!! Math and Language are taught a full grade ahead. As for math, teachers group advance students within their class (usually a group of 6-8) and work with them separately. My child is in 6th grade and doing 8th grade math. Children can go as far ahead in reading as they like due to the Indepent Reading program. Most teachers have many years of experience. Principle and faculty respond quickly to any concerns. If your goal is for your child to attend a great 4 yr college, this is the foundation for that journey. My child will go on to either Hamilton Prep or Chandler Traditional Jr High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

My son is in Kindergarten this year. I have to say that he has learned so much more than I ever imagined so far. His teacher makes learning fun and he loves going to school. He always has a story at the end of the day about his favorite part of his day. I am very happy with the choice to place him in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

I have had 4 of my 5 kids in a traditional type school from the beginning of their education and they far exceeded my child who was not in the same setting. I would highly recommend this type of traditional education to all parents. The principal, teachers and staff at CTA Freedom are incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

My son attended another elementary school when we moved to Arizona in December 2005. Due to lack of discipline, overcrowding, and remedial teaching, I pulled him out in February 2006 and homeschooled him until he could get into CTA-Freedom. I am so pleased with the school. My son has a fabulous teacher for 2nd grade and the curriculum is challenging. I am amazed at how much he is learning. The staff at Freedom is fantastic, and most parents are very involved with their child's education. Kudos to Mrs. Nance for building such a great team at CTA-Freedom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

My child attended CTA Liberty before Freedom and Freedom does not live up to the standards of Liberty. The school has some excellent teachers and does teach math 1 year ahead but the other subjects are at grade level. There are many discipline problems at this school. Problems go unpunished or un-noticed in the upper grades. I would recommend driving to Liberty over this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

Hello, My daughter is enrolled in Mrs. Giesler's sixth grade and she loves it, the only problem is that you she has to tuck in her shirt. All in all, the front office workers were very professional and very caring. I recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2006

Enroll your kids in this school! In a growing area where academics and standards on conduct have lacked over the years, CTA Freedom and its staff are a wonderful addition to the community. Your children will be academically challenged and expected to behave appropriately. The staff and the curriculum are top notch and you can see they are there to serve the children and parents. This school is great and wish it could accommodate Junior High students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

This school is wonderful! It is traditional and the students wear uniforms...Which I feel is a good thing. Academics are all 1 year ahead (4th-graders use 5th grade books). So, if you have a gifted child, or even just a child who needs a challenge, this is the school for you. The teachers are fantastic, as is the principal. I was a certified teacher before I became a mom, and I would highly recommend this school to anyone. My children attended cta liberty before cta freedom opened, and we have loved them both. (Freedom is closer, which is why we switched.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

My son attended this school during it's first year of opening. The teacher he had was great! However, I can not say the same about the rude and unprofessional front office staff members. I would volunteer on a bi-weekly basis in my son's class. Everytime I had to deal with someone in the office, I was always treated Extremely rude! I wrote a complaint letter to the principal, who was also very unprofessional and click-ish. I also had an issue during the beginning of the year due to the 4-5 year olds not being supervised by a teacher and/or staff member of the school after morning drop-off. I brought this to the principal's attention right away. I had seen children fighting, swearing and etc. The issue did not get fixed until 2 weeks later and involvement of the Superintendent. Now my son attends a different school with staff members who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6040 S. Joslyn Lane
Gilbert, AZ 85298
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 812-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT