Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Santan Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 2 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2012

This is our home school and I am thrilled with the education, support, and community offered at Santan Elementary. After a few years as an active parent I accepted a job at Santan and seeing the "inner" workings has not changed my opinion. Teachers care about their students and are doing all they can to provide wonderful experiences and meet the varying needs found in the classroom. We love Santan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

We LOVE this school! it has a big size playground. lovely classroom deco. And Mrs. Hueter for Kindergarten ROCKS! She and the school people worked with us on my son's issues and provide solutions. My son does not want to any vacation from school. When I told him that he is going to have a summer break and we are having a vacation plan, the first thing he talked back to me is "oh no, I cannot go to school and see Mrs. Hueter! Oh no that's bad!" We cannot say enough good words and thanks to Mrs Hueter and Santan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

The school is run by the parents and NOT the administration. The parents are pushy and know that all they have to do is complain to the district office to get their way. People think this is a GREAT school and what you DON'T see will shock you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The Principal, Faculty and Teachers are excellent. We moved here just for the school and we have not been disappointed. They have the best programs, always put the student first and put a huge emphasis on creating an environment that cares for the entire child. Creating a well rounded and happy student. The corriculum has never been compromised regardless of the economic challeges that all schools have today. I have the utmost respect for the principal and all she does to create such a terrific learning environment for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

San Tan Is a wonderful School. It is busy but the district is accomodating quickly. Class sizes are little big, but the teachers are fantastic. My kids are not big on homework but love to go to school. The learning environment is fun, but there are a lot of rules. I was considering a private school, but I am so glad my kid goes to San Tan. They get it and it starts with the princial. Teachers are buried with rules but they fight through it and the kids excel, test very well and exceed standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

As a staff member and a parent of a child attending Santan - I feel privileged to be a part of the Santan community. Teachers love their jobs here and are really in it for the kids. Mrs. Anguiano is very supportive of her teachers and does what ever it takes to give them what they need. Fantastic school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Fantastic parent/teacher/principal interaction. Very 'forward thinking' Supportive, yet very challenging for the students. Good ratios now, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

My family has had a good experience with Santan Elementary. After being open for 3 years, Santan is finally working out the
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
Hispanic 9% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1550 E. Chandler Heights Road
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 883-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT