Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland Park Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 922 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

We are finishing our first year at HPE after transferring in from a highly ranked charter school. We are really happy here, primarily because of the campus culture. Some of our favorite school/community events: Walk to School Day, Fall Carnival, Evening of the Arts, Seussical the Musical (the music teacher is SO ambitious and my goodness, the kids really rise to the occasion), the art program is really sophisticated, the curriculum/homework is appropriate (we're just finishing kinder), they have a learning garden that's *actually used*!, Run for the Shade fundraiser, Holiday Shoppe (my kid was too excited to keep his presents for the family hidden till' Xmas), and fundraisers that haven't been overwhelming. Having come from an environment that put a big emphasis on working kids one year ahead and pushing homework, it is really important to consider the connection between how kids FEEL about school and their performance/stamina. I feel like my child has a lot of opportunities to feel connected to his teachers & campus and *have fun* at school, which is just as (if not more) important to his long-term success as test results, homework & curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Our elementary school is one of the best if not the best in the district. Our teachers continue to go above and beyond what teachers are expected to do and our principal strives for continued excellence to maintain the reputation we have. I cannot be more proud of our school and our world class district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

HPE strives to provide an exemplary education by challenging students in a warm, supportive environment. Through the teamwork of the staff, parents and PTSO, children are given the tools, love and support that are crucial to successful learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

great people always have a smile. Very helpful students staff is fun to be around and work with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

Our school is amazing. I love how accepting, talented, and patient the teachers are with the kids. The principal is approachable and kind. It's a warm environment with rigorous academics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

Highland Park expects high results from its students, and the students come through! It is an "A" school, and teachers take the time to make sure all students are progressing. It is an exemplary school when it comes to student behavior as well!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

Highland Park is a wonderful school, that provides a high standard of learning along with a nurturing, friendly environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

I have had the opportunity to work in many different schools during my career and have found Highland Park to be a favorite for many reasons. The staff is friendly and hard working. They continue learning through in-service training, Professional Learning Communities, workshops and university classes. They put children and their needs as their first priority. The administrators always make time to listen and deal with any concerns that may arise. The school has a well-deserved "A" rating and the students in general are high achievers. Art, PE and music are provided and all of these programs are of exceptional quality. The building is beautifully decorated and the children are proud of it. Highland Park has few problems with behavior. Parents are involved in their student's education and provide support to the school through the PTSO and numerous fund raising activities throughout the year. Highland Park is a great place to send your student to school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

Highland Park Elementary has been a wonderful school to work at. We have been highly active in implementing the new standards, as well as are actively involved in the development of ELA units and math units.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2013

We love Highland Park! Because it is a neighborhood school you get such a feeling of community. Everyone is happy and helpful. My kids love to walk or ride to school with dozens of others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I have worked at HPE since it opened. I have worked for GPS since 1996. I am always super excited to start a new year and get to see all the kids coming back to school. My child has attended this school for 6 years and as a parent I can't say enough good things about the education my child has received here. HPE is an awesome school to work for! I believe my child is getting the best education offered in Gilbert, Arizona.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

We love this school. My son is in second grade and we switched him here after not being thrilled with his Kinder school. What a world of difference! From the time you enter the building, or even cross the street with the friendly crossing guards, you find that everyone is genuine and caring and seems to go above and beyond. The school is painted with park scene murals throughout and just feels like a fun place to learn. The teachers are wonderful and Mr. Martin, the Principal is often seen doing crossing duty himself. I cannot say enough great things about HPE, we are SO glad we switched!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My children have been attending Highland Park since it opened in 2006 & we love it. I feel the staff & teachers put an incredible amount of effort into providing a high quality education for the students. In addition the families at HPE are involved as volunteers working to assist the teachers in their educational endeavors. I highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a school that offers a learning environment where students work hard, but also have fun learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

There's not enough stars to describe this school. From the teachers to staff to parents this is absolutely the best school I've ever had the pleasure of getting to know. The whole neighborhood comes to life as kids and parents look to see who their new teachers are. Mr. Martin and staff have deserved all the praise that they get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

We moved to Highland Park Elementary two years ago. We have loved becoming a part of this school. The teachers are wonderful and very invested in each kid. They really strive to meet each students needs. There are a lot of enrichment programs you can participate in as well. Families are involved, staff is involved and the teachers are involved. It is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

My husband and I are so happy with this school. We have 3 kids all attending HPE. The teachers and staff are fabulous! Mr. Martin (our principal) knows almost every one of the 960 kids. My kids are learning and doing very well. The teachers strive to challenge the kids to think outside the box.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

My son has attended this school since 1st grade and will be graduating this year! He has learned a lot and has enjoyed his time here at this school! Awesome principal, office staff, teachers, cafeteria staff and instructional assistants. PTSO and parents are very involved and do an awesome job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

We have been at Highland Park for 3 years and love it. Mr. Martin and all the staff are friendly and helpful! I have never been made to feel like I am a bother when I have questions or emails. I have received prompt response on inquries. We have had a few issues with some bullying (majority of schools do) but they were addressed. We are sad that this is our last year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2011

I've been going to this school for almost six years now and I think that my favorite thing about it is that the teachers are very fun and creative. My first grade teacher's name is Mrs. Dobrunz she was very nice and funny and she encouraged me to read and now I go through books faster than my parents do. My second grade teacher was very nice but she doesn't teach anymore. My third grade teacher was my favorite Her name is Miss Allen but I don't think she'll be teaching at the school next year :( . My fourth grade teacher's name is Mrs. Buchanan, she was very fun and interactive and she let the class plant things in the school garden. My last teacher's name was Mrs. Coassolo well I'll say this if you're on her good side she's hilarious and nice. But if the class ever gets say a C average ooh she will lecture you for an hour even to the kids who got strait A's. Also if you are in the A.L.P. class you will have Ms. Bentz a kind funny teacher who teaches advanced math and language to fourth fifth and sixth graders I recomend testing for language ALP Its worth the hard work! So good luck at Highland Park Elementary Gilbert Az.!!!!!


Posted May 7, 2010

In response to the review, increasingly dissatisfied. You can't blame the school for allowing their PTSO to have fundraisers. With the state of our current education budget you have to look at other ways to supply the schools with money they are no longer receiving from the state. As for the Disney movies, it is interesting that none of my four children have ever said anything about a movie being shown except the day of field trips or the last day before a school break. I think parents need to understand that it is their responsibility to bridge the gap! My students are thriving at Highland Park because I look at it as a partnership, one between the parent and teacher. Maybe it would be wise for you to seek other alternatives to your child's education if you are dissatisfied, Remember our public education system isn't a one size fits all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

230 N. Cole Dr.
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 832-3034

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT