Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
Every teacher we've had, we have loved. My kids have been very happy at this school.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a parent
Congratulations HPE for receiving the A+ School of Excellence designation from the Arizona Educational Foundation! It is an honor for my family to be a part of this school.


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
We are finishing our first year at HPE after transferring in from a highly ranked charter school. We are really happy here, primarily because of the campus culture. Some of our favorite school/community events: Walk to School Day, Fall Carnival, Evening of the Arts, Seussical the Musical (the music teacher is SO ambitious and my goodness, the kids really rise to the occasion), the art program is really sophisticated, the curriculum/homework is appropriate (we're just finishing kinder), they have a learning garden that's *actually used*!, Run for the Shade fundraiser, Holiday Shoppe (my kid was too excited to keep his presents for the family hidden till' Xmas), and fundraisers that haven't been overwhelming. Having come from an environment that put a big emphasis on working kids one year ahead and pushing homework, it is really important to consider the connection between how kids FEEL about school and their performance/stamina. I feel like my child has a lot of opportunities to feel connected to his teachers & campus and *have fun* at school, which is just as (if not more) important to his long-term success as test results, homework & curriculum.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a teacher
HPE strives to provide an exemplary education by challenging students in a warm, supportive environment. Through the teamwork of the staff, parents and PTSO, children are given the tools, love and support that are crucial to successful learning.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
great people always have a smile. Very helpful students staff is fun to be around and work with.


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
Our school is amazing. I love how accepting, talented, and patient the teachers are with the kids. The principal is approachable and kind. It's a warm environment with rigorous academics.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
Highland Park expects high results from its students, and the students come through! It is an "A" school, and teachers take the time to make sure all students are progressing. It is an exemplary school when it comes to student behavior as well!

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
Highland Park is a wonderful school, that provides a high standard of learning along with a nurturing, friendly environment.


Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
I have had the opportunity to work in many different schools during my career and have found Highland Park to be a favorite for many reasons. The staff is friendly and hard working. They continue learning through in-service training, Professional Learning Communities, workshops and university classes. They put children and their needs as their first priority. The administrators always make time to listen and deal with any concerns that may arise. The school has a well-deserved "A" rating and the students in general are high achievers. Art, PE and music are provided and all of these programs are of exceptional quality. The building is beautifully decorated and the children are proud of it. Highland Park has few problems with behavior. Parents are involved in their student's education and provide support to the school through the PTSO and numerous fund raising activities throughout the year. Highland Park is a great place to send your student to school.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
Highland Park Elementary has been a wonderful school to work at. We have been highly active in implementing the new standards, as well as are actively involved in the development of ELA units and math units.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park Elementary School
230 N. Cole Dr., Gilbert, AZ  85234
(480) 832-3034
Last modified Highland Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Park Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top