Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Learning Foundation And Performing Arts Gilbert

Charter | 7-12

Our school is best known for embracing the performing arts & academics.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2008

This school is awesome. If you are actively involved in your child s education, you can t go wrong here. My son is reading almost at the same level as friends 2 grades ahead in public school. Whoever wrote the poor comment about too much homework It SCHOOL! there is suppose to be homework. I applaud the staff and teachers. I feel like my child is safe and getting a good education, which is exactly what I expect from a school. He gets a bonus with the added arts and performance roles. The campus is kept nice and I ve never had a problem speaking with any of the staff even on the spur the moment time frame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

The Learning Foundation and Performing Arts school is a breath of fresh air. The teachers are caring, creative and Highly Qualified. The campus is spacious, beautiful and clean. The walls are covered in the wonderful talent of students in art, writing and research. You are invited to our performance Come see their production of: MOBSTERS INC. May 8th & 9th, Tickets $2 6:00 PM at our Gilbert Campus 480-635-1900 It is wonderful! My grandchildren and excelling in academics as well as self esteme. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

My kids love their teachers and are at grade level for the first time in their lives. The district schools just promoted them even when they were behind. At Learning Foundation they are receiving the extra help they need, in a language they understand. Thank you so much for building my kids pride in themselves. They are eagar to raise their hands now to give an answer...because they know it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I currently work for LFPA and couldn't be happier. The school offers exciting electives without lacking in core subjects. The staff is friendly, helpful and outgoing. We offer tutoring to assist anyone needing extra help with school work. The school educates in an envirment that is fun and welcoming.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 2, 2008

I am a 10th grader at the school- I think it is easier to go to this school because it is a smaller classroom. I am able to get the attention of the teacher- I don't feel the peer pressure like when I was in public school. I am at level or higher in all my subjects where as in public school I always fell short. I have passed my Aims. The teachers challenge and push me to always be my best. I thank them for that!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2008

I would like to say this is a great school. My kids love their teachers and have blossomed since they have been attending this school. My kids are part of the performing arts and love it. Let me say the performing arts program has really boosted their self esteem. The teachers have gone out of their way to help them in their academics. My son has brought up his reading by two grade levels. Keep in mind that we came from the district schools and they fell far below in assisting my kids with academics. I will be keeping my kids here until they graduate. I am so glad they go to 12th grade. Thank you Learning Foundation and Performing Arts you have been a blessing to my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

Please visit this school and spend some time in the classroom before enrolling your child. The school is lacking in academic curriculum. Unless your child is a rising star, academics are not a priority of this school. The school does not teach to individual differences, only the norm. The school is dirty, and run down. The buses are unrealiable and break down. They are friendly and nice, but they just want your child to go there, so they can get paid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I currently have my children at the Gilbert campus and could not be happier. They have a great staff of teachers who care about the education of children and are committed to the their success. My children have grown leap and bound in their academics. The performing arts program is outstanding. The drama department has givin the students the chance to perform in plays for the community and to experince things that I could never afford. I would never put my children anywhere else. The children come first at this school, and we have never been happier. We love this school. A very happy parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

If your child is a poor achiever and needs extra help because they are behind, leave this school behind. Further, if your child is advanced and gifted, attending this school will be the worst gift for them. All in all it is a school put together by friends who share common beliefs (religion) and goals (money). The children come second, the learning last, and of course first is pleasing the parents to ensure the student stays in school i.e. money.


Posted March 13, 2008

I will be pulling my kids out of this school when the school year has ended. My kids seem to get an enormous amount of homework to complete each night. in comparing the curriculum to others schools in the valley, my kids are about a year behind. Sure the staff is friendly as long as you don't question anything that they do. I have called and left messages to speak to the principal and several different teachers and cannot get anyone to call me back. I have sent letters in with the same reponse. I have physically gone into the school and was told that someone would get back to me, however I am still waiting.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Great School. I love the teachers and staff the Principal or Leader is Great always friendly and always alert. I think they had a rocky start and I am sad to see some teachers did not return. They have really improved..one thing I don't like is there is never homework, and compared to other schools my son is a little behind in subjects. As a parent you have to take control so we don't stop at school we study at home as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I currently teach at this school and love the family feel and support I receive from administration and parents. We work as a team to see that the children come first. They are our focus. Every staff member is committed to helping each child reach their potential and succeed. The preforming arts focus in conjunction with strong academics make this school a great choice. I wish this school were available when my daughter was younger. She would have thrived in this friendly supportive environment. I would highly encourage parents and students to come see what we are all about. I know you will like what you see!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 26, 2007

Their rules are rigid, and benefit only the efficiency of their operation, not the child. Bullies push other children around, and the people in charge condone the actions as 'the child needs to learn to deal with these situations'. There is no 'Performing Arts' program as the name implies. There are no sports, or other organized extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

This school is amazing. My Son loves to goes to school every day! That is amazing in itself. He loves the teachers and is finally excelling in all his subjects. He especially enjoys the Musical keyboards and Ceramics class he has taken and has brought home beautiful artwork for my home. Thank you for creating this terrific answer to my prayers!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 11% 5%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Learning Foundation & Performing Arts - Warner Campus
Gilbert High School
Campo Verde High School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 45% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 30% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 15% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 10% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Grand Canyon University
Chandler Gilbert University
Arizona State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • TBD
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robert Villa
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 635-1907

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • TBD
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • EVIT courses

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school
High school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Grand Canyon University
Chandler Gilbert University
Arizona State University
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 45%
4 year college - 30%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 15%
Workforce - 10%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1120 S. Gilbert Rd.
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 635-9400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT