Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gilbert Classical Academy High School

Public | 9-12 | 183 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

I am a student at this school and I would describe the school as not as good as they advertise it to be. I am a good student and wanted to get a head start when starting college so I enrolled in this school. Most teachers are decent but some teachers are terrible. For example one of my teachers corrects homework while we are teaching notes which sometimes leads to us not finishing our notes and having to do homework we haven't been taught. Everything about this school is above average but not any better than a decent public school. What sets this school apart is the fact that student are given lots of homework and the student's there are exceptionally smart. Many parents put smart kids in this school because it is a "good school". Also tons of kids who can't deal with the homework leave after 8th grade to go to another school. This smart kids left inflate GCA's test grades. You could easily get an education similar to GCA's by giving your children tons of extra work. If you are thinking about this school I think you should look somewhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2014

Good luck with this school, basically every student cheats on the 3 hours of homework they get. Additionally as of this year, the students are forced to eat inside the cafeteria so as to limit the amount of trash left outside. If your kids go here, they will be treated like kindergartners who have to be monitored constantly, they will all be crammed into a room, even if the maximum occupancy of the room is reached. The students are told that they are "exceeding" in all subjects, however ,when you compare the AP test scores of all the other schools in the valley, i'ts easy to see that they aren't any better than the neighboring high schools. This review doesn't even really matter because the school will probably be closed by the end of the 2015-2016 school year, if not earlier. I took my child out of this school because its is just ridiculously over rated. If you plan on putting your child in this school, I'm begging you to reconsider.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2014

Our hopes for a "classical" school were dashed. We expected Latin education, the Socratic method used through much of the instruction, history taught four years in high school, and rhetoric. Unfortunately, you don't have the opportunity for Latin in high school. Latin 1, 2 are only offered in junior high. History is not taught in 9th gr. Socratic method was scarcely used. Group projects were overused. The school appears to be high performing, but it's not due to the material they present or how they teach. Instead, the school benefits by being full of students who would normally excel at any high school.Students who endure the ridiculous amount of unnecessary homework succeed. It's normal for students to spend all day in school and all evening doing homework.There's a false assumption: many assignments plus many hours of homework equals success. This school model is not conducive to long term retention of the information learned, nor is it "classical". The administration was not open to feedback. Most disturbing is the "Springboard" English program. The student's literary experience no longer includes reading complete novels, just segments of books. This is not classical education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

I'd rather take a few honors and ap classes and live a great life outside of school where I can pursue my passions than go to a school where shoving as much academics down a students throat as possible is more important than providing a quality education. As a current student going here I know what it's like. If you're an in the box thinker passionate about academics, you'll love this school. If you are a creative type more into the humanities who's an out of the box thinker. Look elsewhere . Not to mention the school will have to deal with overpopulation and limited space next year


Posted February 4, 2014

Yo soy el conserje. Recojo de basura todos los d as. Tengo cero centavos. Necesito m s pesos para alimentar a mis hijos. C mo puedo limpiar la verdad.


Posted February 3, 2014

Rozay runs the game. This school is terrible. I recommend you not send your kid to this school, so we wouldn't have to put up with them. #rickross #thedevilisalie #iwonderwhy #9piece #a1perico #huh
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2013

We moved our son from a private school to GCA because they falsely advertise use of the Socratic teaching method and emphasis on mastery learning. Having a masters in education and 2 decades of being a leader in the computer industry - I was appalled at both the lack of instruction, poor leadership examples, and practices that contradict what students will need to be prepared for the real-world. Why? Students are not taught but forced to memorize and regurgitate to obtain higher test scores. For example, there were only 2 occasions we tried to speak to our son's teacher to get extra assistance. Both were escalated to the Principal within seconds when we questioned teaching principles around mastery learning theories and that they were not using the Socratic method. We were chastised for coming on campus, our questions never answered, and son was pushed off on another student for help. We were bullied by the Principal when our son was given a 0 because he and a lab partner had the similar answers on a lab they did together. The school worries more about test scores then if the students are actually learning and does not provide good examples in conduct for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

Our family has sent two children to the Gilbert Classical Academy. My son and daughter both started there in the seventh grade. My son just graduated with the first class that completed all six years at the school. This class of kids set the standards and now the school ranks 28th in the nation according to US News and World Report. My son was actively recruited by many colleges and was accepted to a nationally ranked private liberal arts college in New York, where he will attend in the Fall. He is able to attend because of the academic scholarship that will cover 94% of the $250,000.00 cost of a four year degree. The GCA prepared him for this. I am so pleased. My daughter will begin her junior year in the Fall and is as successful in maintaining high academic success at this AP/Honors curriculum school. As a parent, I could not have made a better choice for the two of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

My son is a junior and started here in 7th grade. He has flourished and gained so much confidence by attending GCA. The academics are demanding period! You re ready for any university setting when you graduate GCA. Along the way, you are treated as valuable person by teachers and your fellow students. No serious mischief takes place here or you re out. My three older children went to Gilbert High and did very well...two got scholarships, but this is a much better overall experience hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

You'll probably note that the last review was dated in 2009. Much has changed about GCA and unfortunately, not all for the better. My child is currently a sophomore and we're beginning to consider leaving the school. The most significant change is in leadership. The original principle has left and skill set of the new administration is not as visionary or flexible. In a small school the loss of a few talented instructors can greatly affect the quality of education for many making it very difficult to recover. Unfortunately the school has not rebounded from a key loss in the math department. Academically there are now holes in the program which cannot be overlooked much longer. It's still a great small school option for kids who may be challenged in a larger program. There are several talented instructors who make GCA a solid option but attending this school also means losing a significant part of the high school experience. In addition the facility is no where near the standard of most Gilbert schools with a recent admission to asbestos in the plant. Great potential under the right leadership and District commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

GCA is one of the best schools I have ever been to. All of my teachers treat me like an adult, and expect adult behavior from me. I love the atmosphere and most of the students who attend Gilbert Classical. Last year in 7th grade, I was comforted by the fact that irresponsible kids don't survive at this school. You have to be serious in academics and in ones behavior at GCA. One can clearly see a huge difference between students maturity and work at GCA and at other public schools. This school may be tough, but is DEFINATLY worth the effort.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

GCA is one of the best schools I have ever been to. All of my teachers treat me like an adult, and expect adult behavior from me. I love the atmosphere and most of the students who attend Gilbert Classical. Last year in 7th grade, I was comforted by the fact that irresponsible kids don't survive at this school. You have to be serious in academics and in ones behavior at GCA. One can clearly see a huge difference between students maturity and work at GCA and at other public schools. This school may be tough, but is DEFINATLY worth the effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

Gilbert Classical Academy is an Elite College Preparatory School; it is the very best public education your child could receive in the State of Arizona. Parents in SF, NY & Chicago are paying at least 12k a year per student for this type of quality education. The Administration, Teachers, & Staff are priceless. Gilbert Public School District 41 Administration & Board are to be commended for putting together such a great program. Once GPS #41 expands, this way of teaching to all of their schools, they are sure to be one of the top school Districts in the Nation. Go Spartans!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

This school is good but lacks how this small school will be good for college aplicants
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I am a student at GCA and oh my gosh, I love this school! The Principal is our school DJ during the dances...who ever thought that? Also, you teachers know almost everybody on campus so we know whos who and what they do. My favorite subject is Latin because our latin teacher makes learning fun and we have fun doing it! We just recently had a socratic seminar and we got to share music and pictures with the class... that was so much fun. Our latin teacher also makes translating fun and challenging. I cannot wait till i get into 9th grade, so I can live out a high school life and have fun with my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

im a student here at GCA and my first couple days rocked! it is the best school you could ever go to and the people there are nice and sweet
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

I am a 9th grader here at GCA and I just love this school. You are required to take Latin which is useful and also Spanish which is extremely helpful especially here in Arizona with many Mexican people such as myself. I am fortunate enough to have gotten in and to all you who are considering registering for this school, it is definitely worth it and your academic knowledge will be greatly expanded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

GCA is awesome and i luv it there if u are interested u will luv it too
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

I love this school. For i am a student here at the academy. You recieve a HP ompaq 6710b lap top. A extremely uptodate lap top. As i am typing this up on it at home. A exelent exelent school. There is no bullying. That is strictly enforced. As anyone caught harrassing/hasing will be dismissed. I am a 7th grader here. It is amazing how nice the teachers are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2008

Students are at least one year ahead of normal levels which gives them the opportunity to take honors, AP and college credit.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55 N. Greenfield Rd.
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 497-4024

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT