Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gilbert Classical Academy Jr.

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

They claim to be a "highly educated school" but, near by schools are pulling ahead in the curriculum.


Posted April 25, 2013

I'm in eighth grade at Gilbert Classical Academy, and I love it! There is a ton of homework, but that's how we learn! The teachers all know what they're doing, even if we don't want all the homework. We have amazing band and orchestra teachers, and an amazing principal! They treat everybody with respect. Because GCA is such a small school, everybody knows each other personally, and everybody is always there when somebody needs them. I'm soooo proud of us for getting #28 in the country, and #3 in Arizona! We deserved it, we try so hard! The people who are leaving one star reviews obviously just can't handle it... It's true that we do have a lot of homework, and we do have uniforms, but both helped us get to where we are today! Our disrict's average college readiness index is about 31, while we are 95... I think we're doing something right! I'm so glad my family found this school.


Posted August 24, 2012

I attended Greenfield Junior High (another GPS school) for 7th grade. In 8th grade, I transferred to GCA. All that I can say is that it was a very dissapointing experience. The school claims to use advanced 'Socratic instruction' and the issuing of laptops and uniforms to every student only cover up the fact that this school is just awful. The band director is TERRIBLE, the principal treats the students like 4-year olds, and many of the teachers openly bad-mouth other GPS schools. I've always loved school, but GCA was so awful that I came home crying every night. I'm now happily re-enrolled at Greenfield, where the teachers actually care about how you preform. GO GRIZZLIES!


Posted January 23, 2012

My daughter is in her 8th grade year at GCA, her second year there. She was not an ALP student at her elementary school, but she is a hard worker and is able to pull great grades at GCA. It is a struggle at times for her, but she is maintaining her grades and involved in 2 sport programs, student senate, and other clubs. There is a wonderful dynamic at Gilbert Classical Academy between the students and the teachers. This is an optimistic school and many opportunities are available, and quite honestly, if your nature is pessimistic, you will not be happy with any school your child attends! I'm very impressed and happy with Gilbert Classical Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

This school is excellent. All academic programs are at honors level. The teaches are demanding, but caring and dedicated. The school is perhaps tough on some students because they have to work every day. When you want your child to get ready for college, that's the only way! (Believe me, I know what I am talking about when it concerns the readiness for college.) Yet, I would strongly discourage parents considering this school if their children are not 100% committed to get good education. About the uniforms: While I am personally not in favor of uniforms at school, I admit that uniforms may help making the academic life better and safer. In any case, I am willing to pay this price to insure the best possible education for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

The only thing longer than the line to get into this school is the line to get out. The new administration is awful and completely unwilling to listen to anything the parents might have to contribute. Run away!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

Definately 5 stars! Kids do not spend time on trying to make a fashion statement (they wear uniforms). This allows the students to FOCUS on what is reallly important, ACADEMICS. The students are taught to be organized, work smartly and efficiently, strive for excellence and not settle for the "norm" which in Arizona appears to be settling for the status quo (average). The teachers are highly motivated (there are always a few that are misplaced) for the most part. There is something for everybody here...Sports, Chess (not a sport), Band, Drama, Art, Science, Newspaper, Yearbook, Yada Yada Yada....and in the end...a very good shot at a scholarship within and outside of Arizona. Perhaps Ivy League, Stanford, Military Academies...Did I mention Laptops...Every student gets one...This school has been ranked #1 in the state of ARIZONA for several different AIMS categories over the past 3 years! Same curriculum as Brophy Prep (minus the Jesuit education) without the $13,000+/ year price tag! GCA is part of the Gilbert School District.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The people who run this sad excuse for a school don't really understand what the real world is, they just run around in their little fantasy land thinking everything is going great. No extra curricular, no electives, this place is just pathetic. Principal acts like everyone is five years old, and yet has extremely high standards for everyone. Just a bad school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2009

This school is amaazingg, I am a student and I couldn't love it more. A lot of fun,,a lot of work,,'we work hard, we play harder' Gca Spartans(:
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

This school is a model school for the state of Arizona. It is time that the rest of this state begins to understand the benefits of schools like GCA and leadership such as that found at the Academy. The principal is top-notch, and the faculty is incredible. Wake up, Arizona!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

this school is friken awesome!!!! I usesd to skate by with 100's on everything in elementary school, but now I have to work hard for my straight A's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

this school is absolutely amazing. if anyone ever told you that its not possible to make learning fun they are wrong. this place makes it so fun. there are so many hands on activities to help you learn, a bunch or extra-curricular activities, and a million other amazing things. if you go to this school you will have to be ready to work hard. the only put down is the uniform. they are pretty strict on that. but the teachers are amazing and are helpful in so many ways. SPARTAN PRIDE!!!


Posted December 5, 2008

Go Spartans!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GCA is the best place in the world! I have so much fun everyday. We are treated like the mature adults we beg to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

On the first day of school my 7th grade son could not wait to tell me what a fantastic day he had. On the second day of school GCA issued my son an HP laptop computer, free of charge! This is a public school. The students use 'turnitin' to submit papers... this is what AZ uses at the community colleges. Parents have instant on line access to daily assignments but don't confuse all the technology for an 'on-line' school. I went to the science lab and was very impressed with the abundance of hands on supplies! What a great way to start the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

This school will soon become one of the best in the nation. The administration is top notch and the school environment is warm and academically superior to any others in the East Valley. The combination of technology and Classical education is brilliant, and colleges are already salivating over having a shot at these students when they leave the Academy. I am so glad that my child attends GCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 9% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55 N. Greenfield Rd.
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 497-4024

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT