Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Perry High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Several teachers at Perry do not effectively use Infinite Campus, thus parents attempting to help their child prepare for and manage the workload are not adequately informed. We are happy with other aspects of the school and teachers but this, in my experience, is a huge hindrance to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2013

I couldn't think of any other high school I would rather go to. I love all my teachers, this year especially as a sophomore. The teachers are all willing to help me and they are all so willing to help me to succeed. There are so many nice people and that has been such a relief, but like with all schools, it all depends on the friends you choose to make. I personally feel like I'm getting the best education for me. I absolutely love that there are so many options of classes that I can go as difficult or as easy as I want. At other schools, I may not be able to be in AP Spanish for or in Honors Brief Calc as a Sophomore, but here I am and Love it. I'd recommend this school to anybody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2013

I am very pleased to see the quality of teachers in Perry High School. Coming from the best of best schools in the valley, they have created a big impact in the quicker upgrade of a relatively newer school. Kudos to the principal and the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

Perry is the most balanced of all the schools in the Chandler district. The negative review about bullying is not true. Check the AZ Dept of Ed website for information regarding incidents on campus. Perry has few incidents, and high test scores. The person who wrote the negative review probably had a bad experience where an investigation of their child did not go in their favor. Unfortunate they blame the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

This school is amazing. Although Perry high school is new, the teachers are all well experienced and helpful in anyway possible and great learning environment. I do recommend Perry to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2012

The teachers at Perry are phenomenal!! They work with my kid as best they can and I see her going far! She is a freshman this year and is planning on graduating with the STEM Scholar diploma. She is in all honors classes and is taking a math course 2 years above her grade level! She loves it and we love it! It is a perfect fit since she was enrolled in CATS for 6 years. The principal is great and also the vice principal and many more. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

I love Perry! I'm a freshman this year and I thought it was going to be so scary going to high school, but the teachers were understanding and my fellow students were supportive. It is such an open and happy campus. I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2012

I absolutly love Perry. Coming from an excelling Charter School program, I was nervous about putting my child into the public system. But, here at Perry, my child is excelling at all levels in sports, academics and and on a social level. I think, as with any situation you put yourself in, you attract who you are. I have seen nothing but fairness from kids, teachers, administration, and coaches. I love the fact that the sports teams accept and encourage kids of all playing levels to try-out and represent Perry. You don't have to be a club player to make a team. I have heard of a few instances, over the past 3 years, of drugs, bullying, fights, etc...but the Administration at this school has got a good hold on it and it is not a rampant issue like I hear about from other neighboring schools. The school has alot to offer, on all levels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

I went to Perry my sophomore year and graduated last June. I absolutely loved it there. I was never bullied, met amazing friends, and the teachers were actually interested in my education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2010

I don't agree with the statement about bullying at this school at all. In fact, it has a lot less bullying than other schools. I think it's a safe environment. Most of the teachers are great and genuinely care about their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2010

I'm just so-so about this school. I agree with the parent who said there was a rampant bullying problem; I'm a student and I see it just as much from teachers as I do from students. It seems like administration spend all their time cracking down on kids who text during lunch than kids/teachers who make it hell for some people. I've had absolute horrible teachers and I've had teachers that I love.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2010

Perry High has a rampant bullying problem. The staff chooses to start investigations with little regard to the victim. I have witnessed by both students and teachers. Verbal, physical, cyber, racism, you name it. It's very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

This school has had some frustrating moments for me, but overall, they have bent over backwards to help me. I came in as an undiagnosed special ed/gifted student, and with their help, I have finally gotten on track with my education. The discipline is a little off-kilter, but it works out. Some staff are a little less friendly than others but overall, they are great. The student body is a little lacking when it comes to involvement or passion, but blame that on the student leadership. Overall, there is nowhere else I'd want to be. I'm proud to say I will be one of the first students to complete all 4 years of HS at Perry!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

The school is full of the newest equipment, and top of the line dedicated teachers, as well as a fun, safe, and focused environment that allows students to express themselves and learn freely. The entire staff is devoted to excellence in academics, as well as sports and extra-curicular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

best school by far new clean a nice fresh start
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

This school is absolutely amazing!! i love all my teachers and my great friends i have met here!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

684 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

684 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

678 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (480) 224-2820

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1919 E. Queen Creek Rd.
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 224-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Higley High School
Gilbert, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT