Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Williams Field High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

In the past year or two the school has had two electrical fires showing that there is not enough safety as a student had to go to the hospital. This school also has had teachers who have no idea what they are doing as one teacher was to touchy with some female students. The school is roach infested every room has bigs in it and what eats bugs? Scorpions, snakes, critter. Also in one of the rooms the floor is broken and is a tripping hazard for students. And as for the learning I don't know how many students left for online school or to switch schools this past year. That is all thanks for reading and I hope this school changes their ways over Sumer vacation.


Posted February 6, 2014

Williams Field is a great school not only for academics but sports too! Many great clubs to join and everyone is friendly. We could use some better teachers though. Black Hawks Dominate!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2014

Could some more parents and children make some reviews please. We are moving and I want to know if my son should start High School here. The last review I see was in 2011. Where are all the reviews for 2013 at least?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2011

Being a freshman can be scary, esecially with as many schools feeding in, but with the school's Link Crew program, a group of Juniors and Seniors who help Freshman adjust to high school life, i have felt especially welcomed and have made lots of upperclassmen friends. Everyone is generally nice and the techars work hard to make sure you do your best, i am in an Honos English class and i LOVE IT! they really push you to do your best. I am so proud to be a BlackHawk!!!!! WFHS DOMINATE!!! (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2011

Well this was my first year at WFHS. I am transfer from a different state. In would have stayed at my school. this school is alright. But there Special Education Department sucks big time!! They don't keep in contact with you at all. If you have a student who has a IEP didnt send them here. Its all screwed up. I got the worst grade that i have every had in all my years of being iin school. Also, if you are a student have your parents call the school if you ever want someting done. Such as switching your schulde or change a teacher. the school does not listen to you at all. i got stuff stolen a lot and that has never had happen to me before i went here. But the sports are great here. The teachers are nice.


Posted November 16, 2010

This school is fantastic! We made the right choice for my son getting out of Gilbert. I wanted him to enjoy his high school years & he has blossomed. They have great Honors & AP courses, great counselors, great coaches, & great teachers. Plus, winning sports programs that everyone can get behind! I love this high school, it has been a real blessing to this parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

Williams Field High School is highly overrated. I have observed many teachers work very hard to provide quality education to students everyday yet their efforts go unappreciated. This school has had a high turnover rate among its administration, including three principals in the last calendar year. One principal, and I wont name his/her name used bullying and intimidation as a management style. To say the least, those who obeyed worked in fear everyday and those who refused to be abused are no longer at WFHS. Any school/district that lacks consistent leadership is a huge red flag. When students and teachers observe this it leads us all the ask the question, "Who is in charge here?"
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 30, 2010

I went to Williams Field my freshman year, and LOVED it. The teachers were awesome! And everyone was super easy to get along with! I got moved to Higley this year, and its horrible. Very unorganized! And the teachers are all super clueless. WFHS all the way!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2009

This School Has been Awesome Teachers communicate well with students amd the Parents when they a push or extra help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

This brand new school has a wonderful, committed principal, beautiful grounds that include and Olympic size pool and diving boards, a golf team with active parent boosters, and two gymnasiums with beautiful wood floors and attached excercise rooms. Williams Field H.S. has developed several key programs with biotech, aerospace engineering and other businesses within this community to broaden career choices and help prepare for college. If you want your child to get a well rounded education with Science, Math, English and Sports, this is the place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

I am a student at this school and find that my teachers assign me homework every night unless it is a test day. I am highly satisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2009

This school is by far the best school in all of Gilbert/ Higley. I love the teachers and the homework is handed out daily unless exams are going on. The school has wonderful excited teachers that are wonderful to their students. My two children have attend this high school and they are doing much better here than they were at GH. I would move or tranfer into this district if your child is not going here you are missing out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

This is our first year at this school and I am not impressed at all. My daughter rarely receives homework assignments. She also finds the time spent in class to be very boring. To me the teachers are way too laid back.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2076 S. Higley Road
Gilbert, AZ 85295
Phone: (480) 279-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Higley High School
Gilbert, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT