Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

San Tan Learning Center

Charter | PK-8 | 540 students

We are best known for keeping each child at their cutting edge.

 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 27 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 25, 2013

Thank you for your interest in our schools. We are proud of the environment that has been created where each child is kept at their cutting edge of learning. The great state of Arizona allows families to choose a school environment that fits best with their needs. While parent reviews can give you a good snapshot of how a family is feeling at a given moment in time, we ask that if you have a question regarding any of our award winning programs please contact us for a personal tour at 480-222-0811.

81 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2012

We will not be returning to this school. For prospective parents, here is our list of pros and cons. Pros-This school has relatively small class sizes and some excellent teachers and a handful of very dedicated parents.Cons- This school does NOT have real ILPs(teachers are not trained to do anything with the continual assessment results), there is no computer lab/technology for student use (teachers have a laptop and smartboad, but there is not tech education for the kids). There is not adequate space for sports, nor a working discipline policy, or a certified school nurse. The curriculum seems random, at best. Overall, we feel that the school lacks the resources and ability to actual deliver on its vision and is unstable.. Also, the extra things listed as available at this school are inaccurate. There is no foreign language taught. There are no school sports, unless you sign up for a paying club (many of which are taught by the overworked teachers and parents).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

I agree- all schools have issues and you will never find a perfect school. HOWEVER, you should be able to count on a school doing what it says it will do. When we started at STLC, it had a 10 Great Schools rating, it now has a 7 for a reason. They have not been able to replicate success with their growth. The State Charter Board recently granted them enrollment increase on a mercy vote because they had already signed a lease without getting the charter first for expansion& State Charter Board does not want 400 kids to be out of a school. While we have had several positives at the school, there is no individualized learning for students despite what they say, and there seems to be no accountability from anyone. I was hopeful to find a long term school as what they are promoting sounds fantastic, but it lacks in implementation. I do not think my kids are a year ahead and in some cases, behind. To the poster on 3/19 - yes, in preschool it is often easier to find a different school if this does not match your needs. But, as children get older, you hope to make a great choice and there are more things to consider in the whole school picture before withdrawing. PS- there's no wait list..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

My sons go to this school and we are transferring them to another school next year because they aren't getting, in the classroom, what we were promised. There are a lot of promises and not much follow thru, especially when it comes to individualized learning plans, teaching a grade level ahead and specials. If you are considering this school, be sure you look at the AIMS scores. After hearing the AZ state board for charter schools opinion of this school's test scores and operational practices, we were glad to know our instincts & experience is true. You can hear the audio testimony from their recent decision on the state's website under the March agenda. Our experience is definitely a lesson learned. When you are looking to attend this school, beware of the marketing gimmicks to get you to enroll. Maybe talk to other parents about their experiences at the school. There is a lot of parent involvement at San Tan. That's not a bad thing, but it's not everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

This is my second year with a student at SanTan (Last year I had one in the gifted program and one in the regular) and I could not be happier. I found SanTan after learning my local public school, despite being top rated, could not help a student working more than a grade level ahead. After years of overcrowded classes, packets of ditto homework and lessons taught to the test, I chose to leave our home school and drive 30 minutes for a charter option. The decision was the best one I have made for my children. SanTan creates an Individualized Education Plan for all students. This allows the teachers to know the student's strong and weak skills and give them specific goals to work on. The program allows the students to work at their own pace and tests them three times a year using MAP to show progress. Homework level is selected by the parent. If your child is doing well and is challenged select a low level of homework if you want more practice select a higher level. The kids are given individual as well as group assignments, public speaking lessons, and debate topics. The teachers are highly qualified, engaged and follow the Love & Logic philosophy. They prepare students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

I really like the gifted program that my son is in and have adored both of his teachers. The school is a really good fit for our family because they don't allow candy (I got sooo tired of my kids always coming home full of treats for someone's birthday at their old school. I felt like we could never do treats at home when they were constantly sugared up at school), and the Love and Logic is a great fit for our parenting style. I like the parent involvement, but get a little exhausted at the constant requests for volunteers and various donations. I really like the small-town feel and sense of community as well. Last year I was a little concerned about some staff turnover. I love that the kids get daily P.E. One thing I really don't like is the no-nuts policy! I also like the Individual Education Plans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

This was not the place for us. Very disorganized, front office gave us incorrect information and told us one thing one day, another story the next. Took our child out of this school and enrolled them at a school that is more organized, has a stronger curriculum and builds an excellent foundation for their future education. I will say that one of the teachers at San Tan LC was very friendly and observant, but for me, that is not enough. Also, it would be nice to know the qualifications, background/education information of the 'superintendent' and the education director (i.e. - where they attended college, the teachers list their information, shouldn't they?).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

SAN TAN ROADRUNNERS ARE NO. 1!!!!!!! The person who posted on Aug. 30 is not being honest in any fashion. First, juice is allowed, ALL dairy is allowed. Peanuts and foods that contain them are not due to the number of peanut allergic students. They are FULLY compliant with the law. It is true that they do not allow candy, cake, or other mind-melting foods for the aforementioned reason, they melt the brain. Kids do not perform at optimum levels when they are not properly nourished. This school teaches about the importance of good nutrition and making smart life-long food choices. I'm surprised someone views that as a bad thing.Since my kids have enrolled, which we are in year 2, they do not even ask for junk at home. They have boundless energy and sustainable focus. They are also performing beyond any expectation I could have ever set for them. Clearly the author of the last post doesn't "get" it. STLC welcomes every kind of people, but maybe not those living in Myopia. If the only genuine flaw is regarding food, I'd say there doing alright. Maybe the next complaint will be that the forced to learn things hahahaha. SAN TAN ROADRUNNERS ARE NO. 1!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

It's getting ridiculous at SanTan. My preschooler can't have nuts, peanut butter, juice of any kind (even 100%), milk, cheese or anything dairy / nut related for lunch or snacks. Pretty much bread and water at this point. Isn't that what they give war criminals!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

We recently moved to the area and our neighbors recommend this school to us. Wow did we luck out. The parent involvement is amazing. The teachers and principle work so hard to ensure an individualized education for all the children at the school. Class sizes are small and the extra mile they go to get the kids on tract is great. It is like a private education for free. I know my children will succeed thanks to the education they receive at San Tan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

My daughter has been going to this school for five years and has absolutely loved it! We drive a half hour each way just so she can attend. She's advanced in all areas, but more importantly she misses school when she's on break...now that's a good sign!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

Those of you have posted over the past month with your observations regarding the school focusing on the wrong things. YOU HAVE NO IDEA and are wise to have moved on. Decisions are made depending on the direction of the wind at the time without consideration of how it effects the students. Your kids are dollars to the administration. Nothing more. Decisions are made by one person who has 100% of the say on all decisions. The focus is on gaining revenue and building more campuses. The used car sales example is spot on and just about sums it up. My kids will not be attending STLC.


Posted August 12, 2011

I totally agree with the other posters that this school's main motivation is increasing revenue and attendance at the cost of the individual students' welfare. I understand the school is new, but unfortunately, most of the teaching staff is so young and unexperienced that they are unable to deal with common discipline issues in a productive and helpful manner. The school does not offer services for students who may need extra help or have learning disabilities; but holds them to unrealistically high academic standards. Overall, there is a feeling of lack of love, patience and caring for students. The school instead treats them more as means to meet certain standards that will help the school meet their goals. Our son started at a new school this year and has already received more feedback and personal care than he did in the entire year he spent at San Tan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

This school is terrible for so many reasons. I do not honestly know what motivates them, but it is not what is best for the children. The atmosphere is stiffling and uncaring towards the kids and parents. They jump from trend to trend, but succeed at none. First it was hands on learning, then nutrition, then PE, then academic advancement and a gifted program. Nothing lasts. The implementation of new ideas is done hastily and poorly and the change is never ending. It is like they are trying hard to figure out what will make them great and they have no idea what it might be. This is kind of place where the children's art all looks the same and then they drop the art program. This is a place where the children were not allowed to speak to each other at lunch. When they decided to be academically advanced, they moved every child up to the next grade level. They did not bring them up to speed. They just skipped a year of education. And they notified parents of the change at back to school night, the day before the new year started. I wonder what poorly planned, unsubstantiated by research leap they will make next. Thank goodness we won't be there to experience it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

Very disappointed!! Don't fall for the school's enticing and luring vision, as it is just a bunch of words on paper. True, STLC has wonderful "verbage" in its promotional materials and knows how to throw out winning catchphrases like 'the leading edge of education'. However, it is strictly "Used Car Salesman Tactics". My child was left behind the entire year, last year, with no intervention from administration. My child is extremely bright, but was not in any way challenged to meet his potential. Nor was he receiving an Individualized Learning Plan as promised. To my dismay, behavior issues were rampant in his class, not surprisingly with the ill-chosen Love & Logic model in place for discipline. Be careful with this school. It is unfortunately an illusion. The teachers and administration do not have the educational expertise to realize the academic promises they make. The administration is more focused on growth and revenue than on professional development for teachers, ultimately effecting the quality of education being delivered to our children. We have changed schools this year, hooray, and I would NEVER recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

San Tan Learning Center is a great school! The teachers are highly qualified, the leadership has great vision and a true mission for children's education and the respect of parent involvement is respected. We love having our kids at this school and we are excited for the new school year to get started! A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

This school was a major let down. The teachers are great and the amount of parental involvement is superior to others but the organization is lacking and left me on many occasions feeling lost. They also have a huge emphasis on their gifted program. The gifted children are afforded many opportunities(i.e.many extra field trips) that the regular children are not given access to. My child may not be gifted in their eyes but I still believe that he would benefit from being given the same learning opportunities as other children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

not sure if this was a mistake or not - though the education is standard - there is a lot of malbehavior accepted in teheh school - children are very aggressive, the after school clubs are really a waste with the teachers or parent voulnteers not really paying attn to the kids - music teahcer left, curriculum coordinator is gone as well, principla leavign to start a district -the charters might not have enough reporting, monitoring or standard meeting crtieria so they just open up like everywhere in this state. go figure - you're in AZ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

Perfect school, my husband and I could not be happier. I love they teach one grade a head. My now 5yr old who started Kindergarten this year at 4 has learned so much. Reading books from front to back adding, subtracting, its amazing I woudl recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

Watch for the five star rating following the last review from December 30th. Parents of STLC students and their teachers are asked to monitor and counter any potentially negative review of this school.


Posted December 30, 2010

STLC has become a GREAT disappointment. The administration is clearly more focused on the "business" of running the school rather than nurturing its founding vision. I have been a STLC parent for a few years and have slowly been seeing the light. It is a fact that the students do not have the resources that they should considering the amount of fundraising dollars that are elicited continually throughout the year. The administration has proven to favor and indulge a select population of the students (and parents) at the expense of the children as a whole. The school's motto this year is "Together we are Invincible"- I don't think so. My children will not be attending STLC next school year. I'm actually considering the old fashioned public school route. At least there, you know what you are getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 42%
Hispanic 13% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A47%
Female 43%N/A49%
Male 57%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best Charter School In the East Valley (2014)
  • Top Three Charter School Teacher of the Year (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Go Gilbert "Top School in Gilbert" (2013)
  • Gilbert Chamber of Commerce Large Business of the Year (2013)
  • Gifted Teacher of the Year (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Middle School Spanish
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:20 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:40 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kristofer Sippel
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 471-5990

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Middle School Spanish
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Spanish
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
600
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
800
Students typically come from these schools
Higley Unified School District
Gilbert Unified School District

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private
Higley Unified School District
Gilbert Unified School District
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3959 East Elliot Road
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 222-0811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT