Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gilbert Arts Academy

Charter | PK-6 | 175 students

GAA provides a quality education with a strong focus on character development.
 
 

 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $170,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted February 19, 2014

Gilbert Arts Academy offers a safe, family-oriented environment that focuses on meeting the individual needs of all students, while challenging each to reach their highest potential. Our team of dedicated teachers and staff take pride in providing a quality education and ensuring our students develop healthy habits, attitudes and confidence to yield success in all aspects of life.

67 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2011

Best small local school in Gilbert. This school is fantastic! The staff and principal are caring and happy educators that give all they've got to teaching children. We are finishing our second year here and we couldn't be happier. Parent involvement is high and academics are rigorous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

This is my first year working at Gilbert Arts Academy, and I am so impressed and happy to be part of the team. This is a truly quality school, and I will say that this is the first time I have said that about a school I have worked at since moving to Arizona 5 years ago. The teachers and staff are incredible, passionate, and concerned with every student that comes through. The parents that volunteer at the school do nothing but lighten up the front office building, help the teachers and positively contribute. Thank you parents! The recent art show that took place, blew me away. I feel very blessed and excited every day I am at Gilbert Arts Academy, and would not want to be at any other school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2011

This is my daughter's 4th year @ Gilbert Arts Academy. I am so impressed with how friendly, caring and helpful the staff is here. Her progress this year has amazed me on how much she has learned and the year is not even over yet! We are looking forward to another exciting year next fall!! We love GAA!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

I love the school. my son is very happy and loves going to school. We love everyone there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

I just relocated to Gilbert, AZ in July, from NY with my family. Through much online research, I enrolled my 4th grader in another charter school. However, after the Open House....I decided to look into other schools, as i didn't feel it would be a good fit for him. GAA was on my new list of schools to visit. I was able to make Parent/Teachers night and immediately fell in LOVE with the staff! Everyone was so sincere in making my family feel at home!!! He enjoys going to school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Gilbert Arts Academy is amazing! The teachers are the best loving caring individuals ever. The office staff and principal are awesome! My son loves going to school everyday. We can not be any happier with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

i think the teachers are fantastic at Gilberts Arts Academy and have only the pupils best interests at heart to provide them with a bright future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Great staff, excellent education -- my son loves going to school everyday! Need I say more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

This is an awesome school...My grandsom loves going there. The teacher's are so caring and positive...They make teaching fun!!!!!! Very safe school!!!! Gramma Noe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Safe school - good teachers - solid academic ranking. Awesome staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

The learning environment is loving and fun which really encourages the children.


Posted May 7, 2010

They have great teachers and great programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I love this school and the staff. I would love to help them out in any way I can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Classes are small enough to allow more personal attention to those children who are gifted as well as for those who need extra instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

My nephews love this school. They are excited about learning, participating in sports,and making friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Small class sizes, Intimate campus, the whole staff knows all of my children, teachers go the extra mile and tutor after school, they do a ton with very little money, teachers are enthusiastic about teaching, arts are integrated but not the main focus,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The teachers, principal, and staff are amazing people. Always showing care for the students and parents. Their time and dedication is appreciated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

The teachers care about my kids, and my kids enjoy going to school. They focus on the three Rs and integrate the arts. The campus is beautiful and well kept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This school works with my grandchildrens' special needs and gifts.


Posted May 5, 2010

My son has been there for 3 years and he is so happy. He loves Ms. Hay, the PE teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Advanced Ed Accredited (2011)
  • District Accredited (2014)
  • National School Choice (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish Club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Figueroa
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • gaainfo@leonagroup.com
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 632-2077

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Differentiated Instruction
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Boys and Girls Club
  • Mathnasium
  • Blackbird Music
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Multi-Sports Club
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Multi-Sports Club
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish Club
  • Girl scouts
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Recycling club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Mustang Clubs are held after school in 6 week intervals. They include sports, music, drama, foreign language, crafts, cooking, karate, sign language, quilting, scrap-booking, computers and more! Teachers and community members provide instruction for all after school Mustang Clubs.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
165
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
185

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Gilbert Classical Junior High
South Valley Junior High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

862 E. Elliot Road
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 325-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT