Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Centennial Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
I just moved here in June 2015 and have to say I'm pleased so far! My daughter is currently attending kindergarten and has progressed so much from pre-school. I don't know about you but being able read, write and do basic math easily for a 5yr old is pretty impressive to me. She is challenged with homework everyday which I like! Parent involvement is the best I've seen and after reading other reviews I haven't experienced anything bad from the administration. If anything administration have been kind and very helpful. If there is one thing I dislike about Centennial it's the kids per classroom. 24-26 kids in one class is not horrible but I dislike seeing our teachers overwhelmed at times. However, remember AZ public schools are not the best in the nation. I plan on keeping her in Centennial for years to come. And will keep posted every year on her progression. I hope my posting helps...

Centennial Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Steele. We have respected your honesty and dedication throughout this whole year! Thank you!


Centennial Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Our children need everyday challenges. A little bit of homework everyday is just right to me.

Centennial Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Being ranked number one in the state in 2014 has showed their persistence of staying on top.

Centennial Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Yes because I've seen for myself how the teachers have systems in place for disciplinary action.


Centennial Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
I make the time for the parent student conferences. It's very important to have that one on one talk on your child's weaknesses and strengths. This is where I can get the integrity I expect from the teacher and principal.

Centennial Elementary School 1

Posted July 27, 2015
- a community member
Administration is horrible and mean. Teacher turn over is very high. I've seen some teachers after they left the school and they said they were bullied out by principle and vice principle. They have great scores because they work on test prep for months. Great test scores aren't everything. Avoid at all cost!

Centennial Elementary School 2

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Been with this school since the doors opened and while we still like it it has changed a lot. With huge teacher turnover over the years, we basically have a new staff every year at the start. We love the teachers who put the kids first and genuinely enjoy teaching. They are amazing. The administration and the teachers who are in the pocket of administration unfortunately have changed the entire dynamic of this school. They are hostile, caddy, and unfriendly. If administration could go through the change that they have forced on amazing staff (causing them to leave) this school might have the chance to be great again. Scores are wonderful.. but, the school experience should be more than data and scores.


Centennial Elementary School 1

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
The parent involvement at this school is absolutely amazing, it is great to see parents get so involved here! Unfortunately, the administration is very hostile, politics abound in the work environment, staff members tattle on each other, and the principal's treatment of some of the students is inappropriate and harsh. The school has wonderful ratings but the scores are achieved by hard-working teachers and helpful parents, not from leadership of the administration. I hope things change here in the future. At this point I would not consider sending any of my children to this school.

Centennial Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children have attended Centennial Elementary since they started kindergarten, and we love this school! The teachers make learning fun and adapt their teaching to accommodate individual students and their learning needs. All of the teachers my children have had have high expectations for their students and are firm, yet loving in their disciplinary practices. The teachers have great communication with parents and welcome parent involvement. My children LOVE school, LOVE their teachers, and LOVE learning! Great job, Centennial teachers and staff!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centennial Elementary School
3507 South Ranch House Parkway, Gilbert, AZ  85297
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (480) 279-8000
Last modified Centennial Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top