Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Val Vista Academy

Charter | K-6 | 300 students

Our school is best known for its Differentiated Instruction and culture.

 
 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $181,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2014

This is our first year at Val Vista Academy and we are absolutely THRILLED! Throughout the year we have had the privilege of watching our children grow in confidence and character as they achieve significant progress socially, emotionally, and academically. The exceptional teachers are full of compassion for their students and provide them an outstanding education. We are very impressed by the consistent and open communication within Val Vista. We are truly grateful to be a part of such an extraordinary school community. Keep ROCKIN' VVA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

VVA ROCKS!!! I'm a first time Charter School Parent, and I have to say I love the family oriented atmosphere, kids and families are awesome, is like having an extended family at VVA!!! Teachers and staff know every kid in campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

This school is great! The work is challenging. I read other reviews that said the work was easy but compared to regular public school, VVA's work is way harder. I know , I have sent my kid to other schools in the area. Val Vista Academy was rated one of the best schools in Arizona. The kids do a fall and spring concert. They say the pledge every morning too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

This is school is top rated in charter schools with 3 or more campuses. AIMS scores are out of this world! Not sure why someone would say the work is easy, but the kids are learning and are excited to come to school everyday. The principal is very accessible and responsive. I recommend this school if you are looking for a top education for your child and teachers and staff that really care. In a city where there is a school on every corner, you will be hard pressed to find a better school than VVA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

The atmosphere and families at VVA are phenomenal. Not sure about the administration. The principal seems nice but appears to have his "favorites". Not a good idea. Also would love to see a more advanced curriculum. Children who are already "ahead of the game" should be a delight not a problem but just because they are "ahead of their peers" doesn't mean they should be left to learn on their own. Often the homework is so easy that there is absolutely no sense in sending it home and, if it is a reflection of what is being taught in the classroom then I question the teacher's ability to diversify education for individual children. I believe they could easily address this problem but seem "stuck" on what other charter schools are doing and following the status quo. We stay because of the wonderful families and the loving atmosphere - just wish they would up their game from an academic standpoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Our school is awesome. We have ranked #1 in Gilbert and #15 in the states for K-8 schools. Our teacher and students and staff work very hard to be successful. We are growing into a strong community and will continue to grow.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 10, 2013

Great school!! It's a smaller school so you get a sense of community here. The teachers we have had so far a really great (K-1). Private school quality at charter school prices (free). Great office staff, always friendly and nice principal who really seems involved and really cares about the kids. All the parent volunteers are background checked, finger printed and trained. I have had 2 older kids in the public Arizona schools and so I can tell you that Val Vista Academy is way better than public school. The curriculum is challenging and the strict uniform dress code is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

We love VVA! We are a family that transferred from Dobson Academy and we loved it there too! VVA is just much closer to our home. I'm not sure about the crowded classrooms but my daughters Kinder class has 20 (with a teacher and a paraprofessional teacher), and my other child's 3rd grade class has 15! My daughters 3rd grade teacher made it a point to approach my car at carline and have a brief conversation about a concern I had with my daughters math. The school has gone above and beyond to help accommodate my kindergartener who has a severe peanut allergy! Teachers are wonderful, technology is great, and the campus is clean and beautiful. Can't ask for more....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My child started at Val Vista Academy last year as a kindergartner. We were very pleased with his kindergarten experience at Val Vista. His teacher was fantastic and genuinely cared for her students. I was very impressed with the quality of the education he received. The initial weeks of last year were a bit disorganized, but not in a way that I feel distracted from the students experience. I would have preferred slightly more structure in communicating with the parents and stronger leadership from administration. In fairness to Val Vista, this was their first year of operation and a few bumps in the road are to be expected. Our son is now a first grader at Val Vista. We are very pleased with his teacher and I have noticed improvements in some of the areas that were lacking at the start of last year. Overall, I would say our experience with Val Vista Academy has been positive and I would recommend Val Vista to our friends and neighbors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

How did we go from a small friendly community to overcrowded classrooms and an administration that is not approachable. I have two students in this school and both of the classes had over 30 students and not enough desks for them. Looks like it is time to search for that small community again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

The first day of school was amazing. The group of kids we have at Val Vista Academy are wonderful. We are going to have a great school year. (Just like last year) Our school has so many excited activities that the students will be excited to attend. I believe we have the best staff, teachers and administrator any school could ask for! Keep it up Val Vista Academy!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2013

I love coming to work at Val Vista Academy each day. The students, parents and staff are wonderful. I had an incredible first day and can't wait to see my new students grow academically as the year progresses. In my 10 years as a teacher this is the first school I have taught at where I feel loved and valued. The administration team are very supportive, and the teachers truly care about each individual child. Our parents are also wonderfully supportive and generous with their time, and donations. I have never had my own children attend the same school as I taught at, however when I began teaching at VVA I knew that my child would get a better education at VVA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2013

We love Val Vista Academy. We had our first year last year and such a wonderful experience for our son. Great staff and faculty, we are looking forward to a new year with Ball Charter Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Val Vista Academy is a great school. I am very happy with the teachers, administrator and staff. I know my child will grow with the curriculum and the hard work the teaches have shown in the past. I am so excited for this new school year! Bring your child to Val Vista Academy and you will be pleased!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

We had a fabulous first day! What a great group of kids and parents! We are so lucky to have such a great support system! I don't think we could ask for a better bunch of teachers, staff, kids, and parents. We have so many great things planned, it is so exciting to be a part of an A rated school and watch us grow as a community!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2013

Great first day! My child came home skipping! So happy to have this piece of mind knowing my kid is in great hands and receiving a great education. The teachers are so caring and wonderful! Thank you VVA, looking forward to another great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

OUR SCHOOL IS THE BEST!!! VAL VISTA ACADEMY is the place to be! Thank you to the wonderful staff for making sure my kids had a wonderful first day! It feels so good to send them to school knowing they are excited to be there and have such awesome teachers! THANK YOU to each and every one of you! And you all make my day too with your smiling faces in the morning greeting us at carline!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

My kindergarten daughter learnt so much and I am so thrilled to see how much she has grown. Wonderful principal, teachers and staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

The Arizona Department of Education did not report AZ LEARNS results for this school.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • "A" Rating (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • after school clubs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • It's Academic
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
  • 8:30a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
  • 3:00p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ray Webb
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Project-based
  • Singapore Math
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • after school clubs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Parent drop-off and pick-up
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • After school clubs
Girls sports
  • After school clubs

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Cub scouts
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • It's Academic
  • Kids Club
  • Legos
  • Science club
  • Sports Fundamentals
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Great Volunteer Program
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • This school is incredible! It's teachers have a passion for teaching. We work hard and we play hard.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 S. Val Vista Dr.
Gilbert, AZ 85297
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 656-5555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT