Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

One of the strengths of our school is small classes (the number of students per class in each grade level is as follows: Kindergarten: 17; 1st Grade: 17; 2nd Grade: 22; 3rd Grade: 19; 4th Grade: 18; 5th Grade: 20; Grades 6-8: 15) and less students overall than you will typically find in schools in the area (approximately 380). The break down of classes per grade is as follows: Kindergarten: 3; First Grade: 3; Second Grade: 3: Third Grade: 3; Fourth Grade: 2; Fifth Grade: 2; Grades 6-8: students rotate in small groups (6A, 6B, 7A, 7B, and 8) between 4 dynamic Middle School teachers. The result of smaller classes and a smaller school offers an opportunity to implement a positive and productive learning environment for ALL students, and an opportunity to develop a strong bond with parents. Val Vista Academy also has many after school programs, including an athletic program (we are just completing our first season of competitive flag football and volleyball and preparing for the Winter sports season, fine arts classes, Spanish, music and drama, and a before and after school care program.
October 14, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (8 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (6 responses)
characters left.
There are 114 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Val Vista Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Pratt is fantastic! She is always available to answer questions and is very helpful.

Val Vista Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The is a lot of turnover in the middle school grades. It greatly impacts student and teacher morale.


Val Vista Academy 2

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Val Vista Academy is a good school for grades K-6th, but it definitely lacks a middle school program that prepares the adolescents for high school.

Val Vista Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I am so grateful that we have a great charter school like Val Vista Academy! The teachers are exceptional to say the very least. They care deeply about my children's hearts and minds. They nurture and challenge them each and every day. The teachers, paraprofessionals, office staff, and the nurse go out of their way each and every day to make the school a great place to be. We love Val Vista Academy!

Val Vista Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I am thankful for all of the teachers who work so hard after school doing car line. I know it has to be frustrating sometimes, but they do a great job staying cheerful even when it was August and unbearably hot outside.


Val Vista Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of a child who has been at Val Vista for the last 3 years I have nothing but incredible things to say about her kindergarten, first and second grade teacher. Communication between teachers and parents is great, they each use differentiated instruction to create lessons in all subject areas, vary their teaching styles to meet the needs of all students, regardless of where they are. Each child is given the appropriate tools to I learn content effectively and according to their needs. All teachers use ongoing assessments to create flexible groups which in turn, allows them to create the appropriate lessons for every child. Lastly, all the teachers are highly qualified and certified through the Az Dept of Ed. which is NOT the case at most charter schools. I love that every staff member receives continuous professional development inservices.

Val Vista Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
100%!!! You will always see students helping other students and teachers in and out of the classroom. Again, the small classroom sizes and continuous outstanding communication really helps in maki g all the students feel auccessful.

Val Vista Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Val Vista Academy is committed to creating an academic and social environment where a variety of perspectives are welcomed, help in providing a compassionate empathetic environment among the students, teachers and parents. In regards to Integrity VVA creates a community that acts with honesty and promotes high academic and ethical standards, and where everyone feels they are respected.


Val Vista Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Yes, Dr Londer established what he calls the 3 B's for behavior and talks with the students regarding. I have definitely seen a decrease in behavior issues and an incredibly positive environment among the staff and parents. Dr. Londer respects us as parents and takes whatever our concerns are and implements immediate change.

Val Vista Academy 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I have nothing but great things to say about Val Vista. All the staff-office staff, teachers and paras, athletic director, music, technology and library teacher display a positive attitude and truly show that they enjoy working at Val Vista and in educating our children!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Val Vista Academy
4120 S. Val Vista Dr., Gilbert, AZ  85297
(480) 656-5555
Last modified Val Vista Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Val Vista Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 114 reviews. Top