Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-7
Public charter
Gilbert, AZ
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

People often ask me, "What sets your school apart from the others?" My reply, "We truly care about children!" Sure we differentiate, assess student progress and are data driven. We are a vanguard school in the area. Our teachers are all highly qualified and certified but, it's the climate and culture that permeates the campus that makes Val Vista Academy special. It's an exciting time for us with four new buildings completing our campus. The curriculum is strong and the family support is phenomenal! We enjoy doing things that empower children, they love their school and their teachers. I invite you to come on by and visit us. It would be my pleasure to give you a tour of our campus. Val Vista Academy, "Where Children are the Priority!" Ray Webb Principal
June 18, 2014

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Val Vista Academy 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a teacher
As an employee hire 3 years ago. It has been a great place to work for, principal and assist. Principal are the best to work for. We the staff are happy to work for them, they support us and that makes a difference. They keep the school safe. We know every single kid by name, they are not just a. Number for us. We care for them and we make their education a priority. Teachers happy makes a great school with a great attitude for our kids.
10 people found this helpful

Val Vista Academy 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
It doesn't matter that the PE never taught in an elementary school the kids love her and she actually teaches them skills. It takes money and time to provide equipment for labs, a library and an art room I'm sure this will all come with time. Our private school didn't even have an art room. Check out the library it's coming along. Playground is in the works.
11 people found this helpful


Val Vista Academy 1

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
Don't let that last wonderful review fool you. It was obviously written by someone who works at the school. This school has gone downhill since it opened. The principal IS a bully and has no idea how to run a school; was almost fired on more than one occasion. The ball charter school board doesn't respond to complaints and few, if any, of the board members are educators. The curriculum is not followed and the teachers are not held accountable. Does the school follow state standards? Maybe, but this is a charter school which is suppose to exceed standards. The school teaches to the AIMS test so the scores will be higher. I know there is a new test this year which I'm sure they are teaching to. The PE teacher they hired worked with college students and doesn't have an elementary education degree. She was a parent of a child in the school. The new vice principal doesn't have experience in elementary education either. She came from a high school. I will be going elsewhere next year.
7 people found this helpful

Val Vista Academy 1

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
Horrible administration and a board that only cares about enrollment. The curriculum is a joke. No art program. No playground (only 1 slide) and no library. A science lab with no equipment. Under qualified teachers. The principal makes empty promises just to increase enrollment. The principal bullies staff and parents yet the only way to submit a complaint is through the principal. Families would rather pull their children then deal with the complaint process. It's only a matter of time before this school closes.
11 people found this helpful

Val Vista Academy 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at this school. My child is in 2nd grade. This is a very nice school. People complaining about the playground, they are adding to it. They have to have the money which they raise through events like the read a thon and jog a thon. The teachers are all highly qualified! The PE teacher has an education in physical fitness! Just because she's a parent of a student makes no difference. The principal isn't a bully. He is kind but he can't please everyone and a handful if parents that don't want to be accountable for their child's actions. The art room just got built as did the library. The school is still growing!! My only complaint is I am NOT seeing differentiated curriculum. When it comes to test taking they all take the same tests for that grade level, so what's the point of that? They have 2 others schools in the valley and have been operating smoothly for several years!
7 people found this helpful


Val Vista Academy 1

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
Administration over promises and under delivers! Only interest is enrollment numbers and getting new students. Principal Bully's parents. Curriculum no existent. Does not have art program like website states. Also, no library or playground or even playground equipment for kids to play with. Best thing about this school is families and kids that go there.
9 people found this helpful

Val Vista Academy 2

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately there has been bullying in this school. Also a change in teachers three times in a semester. I had higher expectations.
10 people found this helpful

Val Vista Academy 5

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
This is an EXCELLENT school! It is well rounded with a great approach to education. Our children have thrived in this environment. The teachers and administration are very approachable and down to earth. We highly recommend that anyone interested in the school, go take a tour and see for yourself.
4 people found this helpful


Val Vista Academy 4

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
My kids have gone to VVA for two years now. They are happy here. They have not had problems with bullying at all. The administration strives to make sure the kids not only get a good education, but also have some fun and enjoy coming to school each day. I do wish they incorporated Spanish into the program.
3 people found this helpful

Val Vista Academy 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at Val Vista Academy and we are absolutely THRILLED! Throughout the year we have had the privilege of watching our children grow in confidence and character as they achieve significant progress socially, emotionally, and academically. The exceptional teachers are full of compassion for their students and provide them an outstanding education. We are very impressed by the consistent and open communication within Val Vista. We are truly grateful to be a part of such an extraordinary school community. Keep ROCKIN' VVA!!
3 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Val Vista Academy
4120 S. Val Vista Dr., Gilbert, AZ  85297
(480) 656-5555
Last modified Val Vista Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Val Vista Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top