Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Hills High School

Charter | 9-12 | 400 students

We are known for our unique student programs and four-day school schedule.

 
 

Living in Gilbert

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2008

the teachers and staff (yes! even the people at the front office) are very dedicated. I have plans to attend the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado and my teachers are eager to help me achieve this goal, so far they have been more than helpful. I am confident that I am being taught what I need - my AIMS test scores are quite high because of DHHS (I exceeded in 2 of the 3 sections). Choosing this school was a sound decision.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

Students at Desert Hills are not exposed to a vast array of courses as compared with public High Schools. Thus far I m not impressed with the schools academics. Students attend Desert Hills only four days a week. I wonder how this compares to the amount of time students spend in public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

DHHS is a great school with great quality. They have so many student activities from FFA, Theater, or student Council. Each teacher is personal with every student so the kids actually care. My son has been their since we was a freshman and can't wait to graduate from DHHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

delete: DHHS is packing its classrooms with disregard to quality. They have become a mere diploma mill accepting drop outs, failing and troubled kids from other schools to get the maximum bucks from the state. Lack of discipline is overwhelming. Be warned, this school is a holding tank for criminals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

My Daughter is starting her tenth grade year next month. This will be her 2nd year at DRHS. She loves school since she has been attending here. There are so many different activities that the students can be involved in. There truly is something for everyone, whether it is dance, theater, FFA, Welding, sports etc. The teachers who spend extra time helping our children excel should be applauded for their tireless efforts. It helps our children to be happier more well rounded individuals. It also keeps our children involved and increases their chances to graduate and go on to college and be productive, well rounded members of our society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

Lack of discipline and poor leadership make this a school very risky choice. The teachers have given up on the kids and don't have a positive attitude toward the students, and don't have control of their classrooms. Please consider very carefully before enrolling your child at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

We were pleased with our daughters results considering the classes were large. The school has a very unique blend of students, ranging from those kicked out of mainstream to others that were home schooled. The teachers were good, so were the opportunities to succeed. The school had a nice, small, friendly atmosphere once you got past the way the students presented themselves. We found it a very good alternative to the mainstream schools offered here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

A wonderful school flowing with creativity, acceptance, and potential. With honors course available, as well as a variety of electives from business to oil painting to Japanese cultures - this school is really a brilliant place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Desert Hills is not the school it is expected to be! All they care about is equine science.. which isnt right. -Laurel B.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 24, 2005

DHHS is a great school. Your child can graduate up to 2 years early in some cases.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 18, 2005

This school isn't good for students who are accelerated in their studies. Teachers take a longer time going over the curriculum because there are kids that are alternative or aren't as smart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2005

Canyon rim elementary has a great principal and my son had a very good experience with his 3rd grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

There is limited extra-curriculars and sports available to their students. In addition, they need to be a little more observant of students who violate policies such as smoking, etc.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted April 15, 2005

I am a former graduate from DHHS and think it is an awesome school. I was at a point in life with no hope for graduation. The teachers and school leaders there try there hardest to inspire students to never give up. It was school that didnt judge me for what I use to be but who I wanted to be. It allowed me to graduate on time due to the fast paced classes. The education is great and I reccomend DHHS to any and all students whatever the situation may be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 4, 2005

My daughter attended DHHS for one 'semester' which equates to two 'blocks.' It was an extreme disappointment because she was formerly an A student with high academic achievement. Once she began to enjoy low academic standards, lack of homework, as well as no school on Fridays, she lowered her own standards. The work that was highly graded, would have earned no higher than a 'C' in the public schools. She desired to attend due to the equine program, which is poorly run due to lack of insight into the potential liability of allowing kids to be arrange animals of the size of horses, and which encouraged favoritism. The bus service was a constant unknown and some students were on the bus for over an hour each way. The accreditation by NCA is not the normal accreditation given to the public schools in Gilbert, but rather, is focused on troubled teens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2004

I attended Desert Hills from January '04-May '04 and completed the rest of my Junior Year and full Senior Year credits in this length of time. Graduating early and attending college a year before I originally intended to go has had a successful impact on my life
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2003

This school changed my life, as a student there for 3 years I graduated 3rd in my class in 2003.The teachers were the best I have ever had and the most thorough. The equine program helped prepare me for my college years, attneding Johnson and Wales University and majoring in Equine Business Mgmt. Even though Mr McGill is not a DHHS anymore he still built a strong school for Mr. Art Madden. recommended 100% To anyone interested. Hopefully I will see you there when I go back and reach my goal of teaching for them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2003

My older daughter graduated from DHHS in 2002. She did much better here than in her previous public school. Teachers were more willing to modify their style to assist her w/her learning disability. My younger daughter also attends and is active in their competition dance program. She will be able to graduate early, and is taking dual credit (college & H.S.) classes. The smaller campus is a nice alternative to the huge public high schools. Both daughters liked the horse program. The 1st principal was outstanding (Mr. McGill). He was so good, they moved him recently to another S. Phx. HS to help problems there. I have not met the new principal. The campus is clean, and while most teachers are young, they are flexible and care about the kids.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 27% 43%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A47%
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Liberty Arts Academy
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 40% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 20% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 15% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 20% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Chandler Gilbert Community Col
Mesa Community College
Arizona State University East
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Red Cross (2013)
  • St. Marry's Food Bank (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • Art Madden
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 813-1161

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Business management
  • Construction / building

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Outdoor learning lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Future Farmers of America
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Desert Hills High School is a campus dedicated to success. We offer our students a unique four-day school weeek, with a fifth day (Friday) available to excell or make-up work. We also provide many dynamic agricultural and buisness related programs. At Desert Hills students are more than a name; they are family.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Liberty Arts Academy

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Chandler Gilbert Community Col
Mesa Community College
Arizona State University East
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 40%
4 year college - 20%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 15%
Workforce - 20%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1515 S. Val Vista Dr.
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 813-1151

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT