Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American Leadership Academy

Charter | K-12 | 650 students

We are best known for Leadership.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 15 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2011

After one semester at ALA I went back to my old school and now I'm so far behind. The elementary grades are better than Jr. High and High school. My younger brother seems to be learning things I never learned at that age.But as for the older grades I would stay at a REAL school.


Posted December 27, 2010

Some of these comments really shock me.I absolutely love ALA! My children come home from school feeling uplifted and empowered and they wake up in the morning excited to go school. This school has high standards and an amzing staff. The Director and Assistant Director are very attentive to the students individual needs. If you are looking for a school that teaches leadership skills and good morals than ALA, in my opinion, is the best at providing that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2010

My children having been attending American Leadership Academy since August of 2009. The classes they offered where where the only ones I could find for my kids. I wanted them to be learn Spanish and learn it as a regular part of their education. I also liked the 7 habits of highly effective people program. I knew my kids needed a program that would help them to become leaders. Those two classes along with Core Knowledge, Shurley English, and Singapore math make American Leadership Academy a great school. The teachers are warm and genuine. They are teachers because they like the children and want to help them. The director and assistant director have always listened to my concerns and helped with any problems that have arisen. The staff couldn't be better. KW
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2010

As a new teacher to American Leadership Academy this school year, I am so impressed by the caring staff and administrators that I work with. I am amazed at the rich curriculum the school offers. The content is valid, age appropriate and challenging. It is helping to raise the bar in the AZ educational system. I also think the school has been really successful in developing their new middle school program and routines this year. There are some neat course choices, and caring teachers that have been creative in presenting the curriculum content, and rewarding the students for their positive efforts. I'm glad to be a part of this caring and academically challenging school. The ALA administrators and staff have made some wonderful decisions for the success of this schooland all of the students that attend. Way to go!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 23, 2010

As a teacher, returning to work after 12 years of staying home, I researched many schools in the area. I knew ALA had theenvironment and acedemia that I wanted to be surrouded by, for myself and my children. I have not regretted tha decision for one minute. I feel supported by the administration daily. The curriculum is strong and offers the teachers the support they need to challenge the students appropriately. Great job ALA!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 28, 2010

I was a student at this school and I was not impressed at all. In fact when I switched to public school I wa so behind they had to offer me a TON of classes to catch up. I am very satisfied with my new school San Tan Jr. High. With tutoring and a lot of work im finally up to speed. But this "great education" at American Leadership Academy was horrible! If you want a better education dont go to American Leadership Academy.


Posted November 4, 2010

We were looking for a school that not only offered the education standards that we were accustomed to, coming from back east, but also a safe place for our son to learn. We chose American Leadership Academy for its new vision of what an education should be. It brings back the values that we learned growing up. This school does not just emphasize subject matter to help your child pass the AIMS test, but what your child needs to learn to succeed in life. When enrolling our son, we mentioned that we would be moving midyear. The staff not only made sure that our son had transportation, they added a bus stop just for him the SAME day! The middle school they plan on building is going to be right down the street from us. Transportation is offered to students in Gilbert, San Tan valley and Queen Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

No, Tim Peak does not have any governing control of this school. New owners and administration.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2010

The high school program just keeps getting better and better. We have highly qualified teachers and great academics. The staff this year is amazing. The goal of the school is to increase academics and help students get ready for college. The classes offered help students to accomplish this goal. The director knows educational needs and understands what it takes to help the school grow. We balance Covery leadership training with academics to provide a unique opportunity for students to become true leaders. This is NOT the American Leadership School of Eagle's Aerie.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 1, 2010

Keep in mind as you read the reviews that ALA took over Eagles Aerie in 2009, and IS NOT the same school as Eagles Aerie. The curriculum is hands-down wonderful and academically rigorous (Shurley English, Spalding, Core Knowledge, Saxon Math, Singapore Math, and Covey Leadership)! It IS NOT Eagles Aerie (which I heard terrible things about)! The principal is great, and is good about responding to any questions or concerns. Great environment for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I agree with the previous review, although I can understand where the past reviewers are coming from. I have had kids at this school for several years, both as Eagle's Aerie and American Leadership. The school is much better now and only getting better. Of course there have been some growing pains, but all-in-all we are very happy. It is not true that there is lack of funding - the new management has spent a huge amount of money in improvements and increased teacher salaries, etc. Also not true that teachers are 'inexperienced in proper methods of teaching' -- ALL of the high school teachers and Middle school are 'Highly Qualified' and have many years of teaching experience. I would admit the high school experience offered at ALA isn't for everyone; but in the K-8 there is really nothing to complain about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

American Leadership Academy took over this school in 2009. All of the test scores and the majority of the comments on this site relate to the previous school, Eagle's Aerie. American Leadership Academy has a COMPLETELY different curriculum focused on academic excellence and leadership. It is a very safe, family-oriented atmosphere.


Posted January 18, 2010

I'm a student at this school (which is no longer Eagles Aerie, but is now called the American Leadership Academy) and am completely unsatisfied with the high school program. The curriculum featured in the core classes is terrible. There is lack of funding and structure in the high school program. However, this is only the first year of operation under the new management. Nonetheless, the teachings are all from the book (which I might add consist of 8th grade Shurley English textbooks for the high school students) and completely not based on the individual. The teachers are caring and supportive but inexperienced in proper methods of teaching. There is lack of effective discipline. The Covey 7 Habits are part of the structure and are GOOD TO KNOW, but once you have memorized, applied, and gotten sick of the '7', you have no room to grow or improve any further.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation ASU
Brigham Young University
Community Colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Paul Sinclair, Director
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 988-3280

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
More from this school
  • America - Patriotism & History - Original Source Documents 7-Habits - Stephen Covey Lighthouse School Singapore Math K-5; Saxon 6-12 E.D. Hirsch Core Knowledge School Values & Discipline
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
ASU
Brigham Young University
Community Colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17019 S Greenfield Rd
Gilbert, AZ 85295
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 988-3204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Val Vista Academy
Gilbert, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT