Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public charter
Gilbert, AZ
Students enrolled: 650
Before care: No
After care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

American Leadership Academy 5

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
Great school! ALA has a great staff and kids there are awesome! Friendly, kind and courteous.

American Leadership Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
I want to send my son to this campus but after reading reviews of this campus and the one from queen creek I'm a little nervous and at the same time scared. I like the curriculum but I'm concerned about so many LDS reviews. I met people of that religious and they seem really nice just like anybody else. Can any parent still attending the school tell me if you had any issues on that matter.

American Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
My children are now in 8th and 6th grade and have spent the last 4 years with ALA. We couldn't be any happier. My children struggled to stay challenged and focused in public schools. When we approached the public schools regarding their dumbed down curriculum we were basic told that it had to be fair for all and they could not make exceptions for other children. We researched several schools and liked ALA's curriculum. I want my children challenged and they should have to work for their grades. They are finally being challenged and enjoy going to school. They actually get to use their minds and hands to work with real experiences. Thank you ALA!

American Leadership Academy 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school! It is fun and challenging. My kids are totally engaged and growing. I'm proud to be the parent of a Patriot!

American Leadership Academy 5

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
My child started attending ALA in kindergarten and is now going into 3rd grade. He loves it. As a family, we've had a great experience with his teachers and the staff. The academics are accelerated and the atmosphere is encouraging and engaging, which are key for our family. I can't praise this school enough.

American Leadership Academy 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
American Leadership Academy is a fantastic school. The curriculum is rigorous (a grade level ahead) and the teachers are loving.

American Leadership Academy 1

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
If u are considering placing ur children into ALA. Here are some things u should know before u do. My daughter who is 6 was recently diagnosed with Autism this past September. I thought ALA would be a great school for my daughter bit it turns out it's been a nightmare. They are currently getting money for her from the State as an Autisic child, yet they don't have the resources or teachers to make sure she is getting her education. Most of the time she is just being watched by one teacher or another. She has been placed in 3 different schools in the district and all 3 have just shuffled her around like a basketball. rediculous.Having a child with special needs is difficult enough, but to constantly have these teachers moving her a round is a nightmare come true. I am just counting down the days til the end of the yr and praying that the public school will be able to take her next yr. This school is disorganized and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

American Leadership Academy 4

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
For now I am just being frustrated along with my children. ALA does this at every campus. They say we don't give homework unless it is important, but that is just not true. Pretend to be rigorous by having more to do than is reasonable for students, teachers and parents and change half the curriculum plan every year on biased educational studies.

American Leadership Academy 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Great Environment for my children. Glad they have the opportunity to get a quality education and participate in sports. ALA gives the opportunity for everyone to be involved football, volleyball, cheer, dance team, cross country, basketball, soccer, baseball, track, and softball. Love that they can participate and get a good education.

American Leadership Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
What an incredible school!!! My rating comes from seeing a wide variety of education opportunities. I taught elementary school in a public classroom, volunteered in a free choice school, homeschooled my child for a few years, our child attended a homeschool/public school hybrid campus, and observed other charter schools. I have seen several approaches to learning and we are so pleased with ALA. No school is perfect...but I believe it is possible to find the right fit and placement for you or your family. ALA has become this for us. We enjoy the is solid! I have two children attending ALA and they are receiving quality learning. There are "no holes or gaps" in their learning. The homework always pertains to in-class instruction. The teachers so a great job balancing out the core subjects with enrichment activities as well. We have had incredible teachers at ALA! The administration is wonderful. We correspond frequently with the director and his replies are always returned promptly and professionally. He promotes an "open door" policy and is willing to meet with us whenever we need to. The overall climate at the school is positive, kind, and inviting. Thanks ALA!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

American Leadership Academy
17019 S Greenfield Rd, Gilbert, AZ  85295
(480) 988-3204
Last modified American Leadership Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
American Leadership Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top