Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Finley Farms Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2007

My family had to move to Arizona reluctantly in September 2006 - I was not the happiest camper about it. However, when we arrived, Finley Farms was an enormous part of my attitude change. The previous reviewer is exactly right: Mr. Maas is the most involved, hands-on principal I've ever seen in my 42 years as a child and a parent, yet he's humble and warm to each child. He seems to see the ones that need a little boost each day and he offers a kind word to everyone. I hope Mr. Maas stays at FFE for all the years my girls are there. When you've got great leadership, most everything else falls into place. You can see it in the kids and the staff - everyone loves being there. The staff is terrific, too - this whole community is focused on what's best for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

I have 2 children attending Finley Farms, 1st and 2nd grade. I have been very pleased with the school so far. The principal is out managing the car pickup and drop off each day. He knows the kids by name. The teachers are very enthusiastic. My children love attending school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

My daughter attended the Kindergarten program at Finley Farms and the experiance was fantastic! I feel like my daughters introduction into the wonderful world of public school was enjoyable and rewarding. THANK YOU MS MCGETTIGAN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

I have 2 children that attendy Finley and I cannot be more happy with their accomplishments. The teachers are well qualified and are very helpful and available. My kids love going to school each day. The principal is very involved and seems to know the all the children by name. I hate the fact that we are moving and have to leave this highly performing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

We have enjoyed this school. I have a 2nd and K. The teachers we've had have worked well with the individual needs of the children and haven't hesitated to let us know about any concerns. My 2nd grader finds the work challenging enough for her and it makes her work a little more. There are tons of extracurricular programs through the district and many are available at the school site. There is a great parent involvement and we enjoy all the school activities and see a huge attendance for those. The principal is wonderful and is always out with the kids and even participated in Pajama Day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

The school has been great! The principal knows more of what is going on in the school then the parents know. I couldn't find my son one day at pickup. The principal knew who normally picked him up and what he was wearing that day. He was immediately on the radio putting out the word. Little did we know that he was where he was suppose to be but he had put a hat over his head that he made that day which covered his entire head! I walked right by him. My son has gone from a below kindergarten reading level to a late first grade reading level in just one sememser! The teachers have worked hard with him on his work. The communication between parents and teacher could be a little better but overall I enjoy the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

Finley farms is a great school for so many reasons. First and foremost, the principal is amazing. He is so hands on and willing and ready to help out wherever he is. There are many parents that are hands on as well. The curriculum is challanging and my daughter thrives there and i'm very fortunate to be able to send her to finley farms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2005

The teachers are great. I dont think the principal does the school justice.....He doesnt always know what is going on w/ students that he should. He should be trying to make their school experience a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

This is a great school with super staff and a convienient location.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 3, 2005

Over crowded but otherwise good school as long as your does not have any special needs including gifted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Until this school year (04-05) I was confident my children were receiving a decent education and were treated with respect. Unfortunately, due to enrollment dropping, this is the first year the principal has been without an assistant principal. The impact has been dramatic. The school has a 'Responsibility Center' for discipline issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

In the 2003-2004 year i had 3 kids enrolled k-3. I am a very proactive parent and would communicate daily with the school staff on issues, progress and action plans for each child. The teachers and admin. Of the school would never follow through no stay consistant. There classes are far to large for effective student teacher interaction and supervision. Students that are less the conforming are not held to consistant standards and allowed to 'sluff by' with the teachers response being 'well its ok its only k or 1....Etc. I removed my children after 2 years of this and placed them in a charter school. Since, they have all exceeded there grade level by no less than 4 grades each... I would have not made issue to f.F.E. If not for the documented fact of extreme improvement after removed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

Academic programs are very good but leadership is weak. The parents basically run the school. If you like that sort of 'leadership', you will love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

It's been 3 yeays for my kids to attend and they really love school and teachers.School has variety program and excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

Finley Farms Elementary has been a wonderful school for my children to attend. The staff goes the extra mile to make this school exceptional! Thank you to all the teachers for doing their best to provide my children with a solid foundation of education and to prepare them for the school years ahead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

Wonderful School. They have, for the most part, a terrific teaching staff. It is a very neighborly school with lots of parent participation. You are always well informed as to what your child is learning and how they are progressing with all school testing results sent home for you to see. They also have lots of extra carricular activites, and encourange lots of art, music, and outdoor activities along with the standard cirriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

My child has been in the Gilbert School district for 5 years now. We have been extremly pleased with Finley Farms. The Principal truly cares about his students. I have found the teachers to be well educated and very patient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

With four children, two have attended Finley Farms K - 6, and two are currently in attendance. My experience has been that the faculty at Finley Farms is exceptional, as is the principal. The teachers are more than willing to work with my children, through academics or clubs, both before and after school. On several occasions my children's teachers have attended their sporting events or awards ceremonies in their 'off' time. The principal has an open door policy and responds to questions or feedback promptly and with respect. Finley Farms has exceeded my expectations for opportunities for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

My daughter attends Finley Farms and we are very impressed with the qualitiy of the teachers, the administration, and even the physical facility as well. She is stimulated and attempts are being made to assure her instruction is differentiated base on her own needs. I am a teacher in another school district and I have nothing but good to say about Finley Farms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

This has been a great school for my Kindergartner to start out at. The teachers are fabulous with all the children. The teachers work well together for what is best for the children. The principal knows each child and involved parents by name. Staff is very friendly and always willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

375 S. Columbus Drive
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 507-1624

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT