Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Finley Farms Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 829 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

Finley Farms Elementary is a very warm and welcoming environment. it is an excellent school and all faculty and staff work together as a team and follow the directives set forth by the principal, Mr. Maas. In response to the previous comment, they DO have recess. And even on rainy days or high heat advisory days, the students are their top concern and the kids stay inside to watch movies or play games, but they still have a break from their classroom studies. Our student has been here since Kindergarten and we have loved all of her teachers and with the curriculum, we feel she will be well prepared to move on in her educational career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This will be my daughter's 3rd year at Finley farms at first I was on the fence about the teaching and how the school runs but its growing on me. I have other stories on other schools and im glad my daughter is here. I dont like that there is no recess and they have alot of homework and reading. My daughter is smart and I am greatfull but sometimes I feel like she needs a break to be a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

I am continuously amazed by this school. The principal is very involved in daily happenings and makes efforts to get to know each student. The teachers partner with parents to ensure the success of the class. The students are friendly and well rounded. When incidents do arise, they are handled swiftly and professionally. Selecting this school has been one of the best decisions I have ever made for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

Both me and my younger sibling attended Finley Farms (I had previously attended Islands Elementary, an experience I do not miss). I'm a college student now, but I remember the school with a general fondness and felt that they deserve a review. There are several factors that remain ingrained in my mind. 1) Excellent principal. My parents may not have gotten good feedback from several of my teachers, but always managed to get what they needed by directly approaching the principal. 2) I had some incidents with a 6th grade teacher due to favoritism, and my brother had several issues with kindergarten, 4th and 6th grade teachers. But in retrospect, we realize that most of our teachers had our best interests in heart and tried their best with us. I know if not for the persistence of a few, I would not have become the student I am today. 3) Strong extracurricular involvement of students, and esspecially EXCELLENT band program. Seriously, see if you can find anything on youtube.


Posted January 14, 2011

Half-Day Kindergarten (Mrs. Callan) is the best, by far! The school is usually pretty clean. The staff if friendly... but the best part of the school is the Kindergarten. They are all amazing... but especially Mrs. Callan. If you're considering a half-day kindergarten for your child, FF is definitely the place to go! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

I love this school! I've had children in this school for 8 years and counting and I've found that the principal, Mr. Maas, as well as his front office staff, are caring and genuine. The faculty address problems quickly and efficiently and the principal is very involved with his students. I would highly recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

If I could, I would give FFE 10 stars! We have been a FFE Family since 1999..having at least one child in attendance there in each of the successive years since moving to Gilbert. Mr. Maas is the hardest working, most involved Principal I have ever had the pleasure of working with...as well as the best that any of our friends, and church family has ever spoken of. It is truly no wonder why the housing areas zoned for FFE are so highly desirable! The families living with in the bounds have the greatest Elementary School in the East Valley! Go Falcons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

My son has attended three schools in Gilbert. This is by far the best. The Principal is worth every penny they pay him. He is very involved with the children - does crosswalk duty, greets the kids, works the lunchroom. The teachers are wonderful. My son is very happy at this school and we are happy to have him attend. The staff actually listens when there is a concern and doesn't just push their opinion ahead of the parents. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

This school is the one of the worst I have ever seen. We sent our child to this school based on the reviews we saw on this site, but the reality is very different. Our childs teacher is verbally abusive, desplays favoritism on a scale we have never seen, and reserves scorn for the children that the teacher deems as bad kids. Our child had great grades and no behavioral issues at a previous Gilbert public schoold, but now.... We are very involved parents and we believe that someone needs to look into the behavior of certain staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

My son was in Basic Charter for a month when we moved here and once we moved we put him in Finley Farm Elementary 'FFE' and I have to say it was the BEST thing we ever did. Basic Charter was a great school but VERY LIMITED. That is not to say it wasn't a great school but because of their size if you kid is having the slightest issue or needs some extra help forget about it. Basically it's seen that he/she is holding things up. My son is done terrific here. The homework is realistic for his age, they have great activity and balance in their day. He is learning a great deal in this school and I am so thankful for all those who work there. It is tops for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

I love this school!! The principle is wonderful & knows my kids by their names, and so far all the teacher my kids have had are wonderful!!! Thanks to all them- Mes Sissler,Mrs. Callan,Mrs. K,Mrs Pollack, & Mrs. Bottomfield!!!! Also to Mrs. Werh (speech, sorry don't know how to spell it)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

The principle is wonderful with children as are some of the teachers. Its seems as though too many of the teachers are able to get away with verbally abusing students. Be watchful of this behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I have one child who went to Finley K thru 6 and we had exceptional teachers every year. I have one child currently attending in the primary grades and currently has an excellent teacher in second grade. Although I believe the first grade teacher my child had was downright awful and should NOT be teaching at all. Hopefully that was a one time deal. I think getting good, quality teachers now is hard. I prefer the seasoned, experienced teachers to the new ones. Finley has a mixture of both, but overall with the exception of one teacher, all is good. Principal is good w/kids but seems soft on staff. Still think it's a great school and we are happy with the education our child had/has. So much does depend on the child. Good kid, it's usually a good experience. Bad kid, bad experience. Some parents don't see that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My son has went to Finley Farms Elementary for 4 yrs now. I think it is a wonderful school and both our son and us as parents adore the principle and staff. We were thinking about moving closer to my husbands work and decided not to because of the school and the fact that our son LOVES it there. I am always impressed with the envolvement with both staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

I've had 2 of my 3 children at Finley Farms and then we had to move to Higley school district which was a big mistake! We are moving back home to Finley and Greenfield Jr where the teachers are phenominal, Mr Maas is hands down the best principal I've ever met in my 38 yrs. We will never move our children again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

The principal will not return phone calls, the office staff is rude. We will switch schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I have had three students at Finley Farms. Most of our teachers were outstanding. There were a couple that we had to work with to get what our child needed. But overall the teachers truly care for their students and the outcome of their education. The principal is very genuine with the students. He truly loves his job. There are time the discipline could be a little more direct but with 900 students, what can one expect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

We have had no problems with teachers at Finley Farms. My son was in 2nd grade this year having academic issues. His teacher did everything she could to help and his grades came up! Unfortunately, it's the office staff that is not very friendly. The person at the front desk, greeting the visitors and parents, is especially unfriendly. You would think for PR purposes a school would have a friendly smile when somebody new walks into the school. I asked and asked to volunteer and nobody called or emailed me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Finley Farms is a good school because of the children and their desire to learn. Some teachers are excellent at what they do and there are others who pick up a paycheck. The school has adequate parent involvement, it can always be better, unfortunately it is the dislike of the princiapl that keeps parents away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

My daughter began attending Finley Farms in November. I was hesitant at switching her school so late in the semester-but I am so glad that I did!Mrs. McGettigan is terrific and genuinely cares for and understands each child. My daughter went from 'getting in trouble' at her previous school on a daily basis to earning the star student at her new school. Her behavior has improved tremendously at home and at school. All she needed was a little understanding and room to grow and play--her last school was a charter school. It pays to research your schools before enrolling-and Finley Farms is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 22% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

375 S. Columbus Drive
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 507-1624

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT