Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gilbert Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 683 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

I agree with most of the reviews on here. This school is in need of Better teaching education. ALP is decent, yet the teacher seems angry she is teaching. My sons 3rd grade teacher was fantastic , however his second grade teacher was awful. Seemed upset that I was divorced as she had gone through one as well I was the evil man. The music program is great . This is a typical public school that focuses on budgets and the path of least resistance. All kids who are more "advanced" have to sit and wait for the other kiddos to catch up . Sorry Gilbert elementary but you really need improvement .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Many years ago this was a great school but things have gone down hill the past 4 years! If you have a child who does the right thing by defending those who are being bullied your child will get in trouble by the principle and school social worker. There are some great teachers and some terrible teachers who play favorites. The principal only cares about his agenda and not the children. So glad we are at a new school where my child is loved and is learning. And kiss a decent education goodbye in 6th grade because it is a zoo and the teachers aren't supported!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

When I sent my oldest child to this school 7 years ago, I couldn't have been happier. The staff was wonderful and there was and still is some amazing teachers at this school. Unfortunately, the principal changed three years ago and the school, in my opinion has gone downhill. I never knew what a difference a principal could make in a school. The lack of discipline and respect is atrocious. Kids have been to the principal several times and stated nothing has ever happened. Things are being swept under the rug in hopes that they will just disappear. The teachers are undermined by the principal which, I feel, is causing a tense environment for teachers and students alike. I am sad to say that this will be my children's last year at this school and I am sad to leave such amazing teachers, but I can't keep my children in a school where bullying is accepted and excuses are being made for the children who are doing the bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

pros: music teacher, wonderful students cons: math ALP is kinda pathetic, can attract only a handful of kids NCLB act is not applicable here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

We have 4 children that have attended schools with in the Gilbert Dist. Gilbert Elm. is by far the worst of the schools my kids have attended. Aside from the poor education if your child has any special or emotional needs, Gilbert is not the school for you. The school lack s the ability to appropriately interpret the education & emotional needs of a child and therefore the admin at Gilbert is overly concerned with making sure they cover all their own bases rather doing anything that will positively affect your child or their special needs. This was the conclusion after visiting with 2 different professionals due to an experience with a minor issue involving my son at Gilbert Elem. Both professionals advised removing my children from this school and agreed that we most likely would not have these issues in a better qualified school. On a more positive note, the staff is very friendly and has never been anything but nice to myself and our children. I particularly think Nurse Barb is a wonderful asset to this school. In summarizing, the school has a kind staff however, offers poor education and lack of ability to assess your child s educational and emotional needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

Gilbert Elementary is a wonderful school with solid leadership and some of the most dedicated teachers I have ever known. I have always had my children in private schools until my last one came along. I placed him in a private school where he was miserable, and I was miserable. I met with the principal at Gilbert Elementary after speaking with his previous kindergarten and preschool teachers and placed him at Gilbert L. There is a neighborhood school that he could easily ride his bicycle to, but I find that it pales in comparison to the teachers, leadership and culture that exists at this educational facility. I will miss Peggy Dole who has followed the Fourth Graders on to Fifth Grade this year. As well as Courtney Alonzo, Louise, Nurse Barb, the previous principal Sheila Rogers and our new principal Mr. Ray Mercado. Patty Montgomery, Mrs Barry and any and everyone that has assisted in making my son's transition from child to a young man. Somehow you manage to instill values along with education in these children during such tough times for education. God Bless each and everyone of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

My two daughters go to dual lenguage classes, they have been for two years and I love it! I lived 20 minutes away but it was worth the driving, just moved so I can be closer to the school. The teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

If you ever run into a real critical issue with your child, such as health and educational issues, you will be stoned walled by the principal and education board, member that have been selected by the parents. The superintendent has absolutely no control and the school does not jump through any hoops to protect children being bullied and victimized by other students. This is a huge issue at Gilbert Elementary. The teachers are wonderful....the administration is not. Parents need to speak up for their childrens rights and stop trusting that their best interests are in mind. The princial cares about funding....that's it. And the recent score of for the school.....do your own research.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

My child attends GE and is in a pma class and I couldn't ask for a better program, school or campus as a whole. My child loves attending this school and all of the extracurriculars that are available after school. I don't think my child would be as successful at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

My daughter has attended this school for 3 years. I love the teachers and principal. They are very nuturing and set values for all the students which they hold them to. They encourage parental involvement from helping in the classroom to extracurricular activities. The classrooms are set up so you can choose between the traditional 1 grade at a time to the multiple grade classroom as well as bilingual classrooms. The campus is beautiful. Each classroom is its own building, but amoungst the buildings are gardens. Even though its an outdoor campus, it is very safe. It is locked during classtime with the only enterance through the office. Academics are outstanding. Computers are located in the classrooms as well as a computer lab. Interns from ASU are usually found in the classrooms for extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Gilbert Elementary is rich in tradition and stresses that there are all types of learners. They provide multiple choices of academic programs to match your childs needs. They have intergrated classrooms with special needs students, multi-age learning classrooms, looping classes where the student can stay with a teacher for two years, bilingual classes as well as 'traditional' classes. The staff and principal do a great job of helping parents understand and place children in these programs. I have been impressed with the quality work my children are given. All students have the opportunity to be in a musical each year and they support many extracurricular clubs and activities,i.e. gardening, ogeanography, hands across the border, chess, reading, homework clubs, and much more. Parents are welcomed to be be involved and feel important in their conribution to help all students achieve both academic and social skills areas. They are tiger-ri-fic! They are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

I've been very happy with the quality of the overall educational experience. The teachers are very open to parent-teacher communication and my children have had great success at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Good teacher to student ratio. Broad subject and other curricular ajendum. Friendly teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

My child attended only Kindergarten at Gilbert Elementary. The kindergarten teachers were excellent and the kids seem to have a lot of fun. The school seems well run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2003

My experience with this school has been great. The teachers and administration is great. I love the campus setup.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2003

Best elementary school in Gilbert! Fantastic principal, teachers and instructional assistants. Multi-age classes and looping classes are wonderful opportunities for the children.


Posted April 4, 2003

We love this school!! We love the choices for our children--multi-age, looping, dual language. The principal is always available. It is a great school!!!


Posted March 17, 2003

I am so glad I choose Gilbert Public Schools and Gilbert El in particular.


Posted October 15, 2002

Gilbert Elementary is a wonderful school. I just wish that the state would stop cutting funding. Our school is most likely the poorest in the district (and oldest)and could use more support from the state and the community.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Hispanic 40% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 813-7284

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

175 W. Elliott
Gilbert, AZ 85233
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 892-8624

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT