Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenfield Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

The school does not pickup my child who has autism and special needs in a timely fashion. The bus drivers are incompetent . No parent should have to worry about their child getting to school safe and in a timely fashion. He also has a poor IEP which I will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2014

My son came to Greenfield mid school year. He seemed to be excited the first couple days of school. After about three weeks I had noticed that he had become depressed, withdrawn, and not wanting to go to school. One day shortly after that he came home with 98 pages of homework! He said that he hadn't been keeping up so the teacher had kept him in for all but 3 recesses since he started there. He didn't understand her system. He also wasn't allowed to use the restroom and would get called out in class out loud by the teacher. She told other kids that my son wasn't smart in math yet he exceeded the Aims test. She was an unkind person who doesn't seem to like children. The principle didn't seem like he was on my side either. It was a very bad experience and they both blamed my child. Then they promised me a ton of changes but never followed through with any of them. In talking with other parents I realized that this is a common occurrence as is bullying at the school. I will be pulling my child out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

I have two children in Greenfield, one in 4th grade, the other in 1st grade. Both of my children love Greenfield Elementary and I feel both are receiving excellent one-on-one time in the classroom. As I'm sure most parents will agree, you won't always see eye-to-eye with every teacher but I can certainly attest to the quality of the teaching and communication my children receive on a daily basis. Mr. Kelly is an outstanding principal, although it is his last year here at Greenfield. His communication and dedication to keep our children safe and in a structured learning environment has never been question by any of the parents I've associate with in the six years of affiliation with Greenfield. I definitely recommend Greenfield to any parent considering this school for your child. It a nutshell, it's an outstanding school with great leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

My son is in the SPICE program. I absolutely love progam and my son's teacher Ms.G. Im sad this will be this last year at Greenfield he will be moving to middle school next year. My 2 other kids are also go to Greenfield. I also have nothing but good to say about their teachers and how the school is run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

Special Needs Parents- My son was referred to this school by the district for its Autism program. Within two days after my son started, he started coming home with restraint marks and bruises. I confronted the teacher about the marks and she claimed that she didn't know what I was talking about, that he'd been doing well. Another week passed and he was coming home again with restraint marks. I called a meeting with the principal. Not only did his teacher confess to having to restrain him several times per day, she said that the school had the right to forcefully restrain him and confirmed that she did not tell me that there were any behavioral problems. The principal admitted that he doesn't really know much about the special education classes or how they work, that he doesn't know how they do what those teachers do because they handle the students much better than he could. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I went to the district and demanded a school transfer. No one responded to 5 different phone calls to the district. I had to wait out the end of the year before they transferred him. This woman was the worst special ed teacher I have ever come across. It is very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

This school is awesome! We reluctantly moved our daughter to Greenfield from a nearby private school 2 years ago. It was the best decision we ever made. The teachers a very caring and there is plenty of parent involvement. Our daughter now tells us she doesn't want to ever leave to go to Jr. High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Love this school. So many activities where parents can be involved!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

This is a great school with a wonderful community of involved parents, involved principal, and dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

As a teacher at Greenfield Elementary, I am extremely happy about the dedication of staff members and the involvement of parents. We have a wonderful sense of community and are looking forward to working with our new principal, Mr. Kelly, this year. Mr. Rimer has given the community a wonderful heritage and good foundation for the future. We will miss you Mr. Rimer. Best wishes in your retirement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 27, 2007

This is a great school with terrific teachers and a principle that really cares
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

My girls Love Greenfield! We are new to Arizona and it has been a good transition! One daughter is in 3rd grade and one in 5th grade. They both like their teacher and class! Mr. Rimer is so nice and good with the kids! We are from the midwest so I was very worried, but I am so relieved! Great PTSO! They school is very good about welcoming parent help, I am use to being very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

I love Greenfield! My kids and I are so happy to be at this school. The staff is great. The PTSO is very active, and the principal is superb. We would love to see more computers, but understand this is a district level problem. There are many extracurricular activities and parent involvement is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

We love this school. Teachers are great, staff is very helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

We have been at Greenfield Elementary for 9 years, and I have been extremely pleased with the quality of teachers and the curriculum offered. The honors program is outstanding and thoroughly prepared my daughters for junior high. The principal is a wonderful, caring man, and he is always receptive to parent comments and concerns. I highly recommend Greenfield Elementary to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

I have 2 kids in this school (1 in 2nd and the other in preschool) and I have been extremely impressed. Mrs. Smith is a wonderful caring preschool teacher and Mrs. Bellman is so good with the kids! They come home excited about learning and reading every day. Kudos to Greenfield- I'm so glad I moved into the Gilbert school district. It's the best move I've ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

Greenfield has a wonderful preschool program, reading program and PTSO. With what I have seen so far, I am impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

The staff at Greenfield is superb. They make newcomers feel very welcome, have an excellent academinc curriculum and offer many extra curricular activities. It is a exptemely safe campus and the school excels in maintaining the safety of the students. It is in an upscale area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

Great music program. Parents, teachers and staff are caring. PTSO is well-organized and very supportive of school functions and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

I am pleased with the school. Parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2003

Greenfield is an excellent school. The Multiage program so wonderful. There are many great teachers in all of the grades.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 42%
Hispanic 10% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2550 East Elliot Road
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 892-2801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT