Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenfield Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 968 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

My son has attended GJHS for 1 year now, and I am thrilled with it! The principal Mr. Yee is hands on and fully engaged with the students every day, and the teachers are first class. Mr. Yee and the PTSO worked tirelessly to get this school their A+ rating this year, and it is well deserved. My other son will be attending in 2 years, and is excited just by the things his older brother tells him about it. Kuddos GJHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

My school is great for so many factors it seems to have a wonderful blend of dedicated teachers who care about the students. My daughter is in Avid a program that helps her with her study habits and seems to motivate her to push for more honors classes. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Also not to mention that you get "Pride" or 9th hour if an assignment isnt done. IT sucks so if you go there Remember to do your homework no matter how bad it sucks otherwise you will reap the consequenses... 35 minutes in study hall..... I honestly think its unecessary!


Posted January 30, 2013

My child started at Greenfield Jr. High this year and I have to say that I have been so impressed with the admin staff, principal, asst. principal and my child's teachers as well as the counselors. What an amazing school! THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO! I have one concern and it is the parents that drop off their children everyday. We all need to do our part to watch out for all the kids! Please drive safely, slow down and please be courtesy to other drivers. The kids at the school are our future leaders and we need to set an example for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2012

A school filled with great teachers. I've had a great education here, and I love the school itself. However, I wish I could say for the students here. Been bullied countless times here (few students were suspended). But eh, at least the education I'm receiving here is great.


Posted July 30, 2010

I can't wait to start my first day here, When I went to the school to sign up for the boundary exception its was REALLY prett and all the staff greeted me with a smile! I can't wait until my first day (My boundary exception was excepted)


Posted February 20, 2010

When i started my first day here everyone wanted to be my friend. The teachers were very nice. I used to go to gilbert junior high and it was very bad. Theres like no bullies at all at greenfield, and the teachers accutaly want to help you instead of gilbert junior high where they dont care if you fail. So choose this school its the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Amazing teachers,outstanding students, and we all have a great time! =)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

Excellent principal and no tolerance for bullying. A few bad teachers, but most are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

What a fantastic school!!! I brag on it all the time and I know my friends are sick of hearing about it, that go to other schools. The principal is outstanding (and pretty too, how does that happen) and the whole staff is soooooo nice. Some of us parents are like Jr. High Students emotionally, and we need smiles also. Thanks to all of you! You are a 5+ star school. We appreciate your time and patience with all of us!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

This is the best junior high ever! Everything is amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2008

This school is the best school iv'e ever been to. All of their vending machine snacks are delicious and their food is hand made! The teachers definately know how to do their job! It's a very safe environment and their is many different fun clubs to choose from. There is even a rollerblading unit in P.E! This school is very orderly and definately deserves 5 stars! Keep it up Greenfield Jr.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

i think its a wonderful school my cousin went there and her grades went from ds and fs to as and bs and she loves the staff and school


Posted November 18, 2007

Greenfield jrhs rocks!!! My son attends 8th grade at Greenfield. For 7th grade he attended another gilbert jr high. The difference in safety, education, caring, bullying, teachers being on top of things, follow thru with parent / student concerns, concern and follow thru with a current iep plan, and many more things. Greenfield had been so great at all of the above. The teacher, and actually all staff have been awesome!!! My son went from hating school and begging me everyday not to make him go, to now telling me how much he loves going and suprisingly enough how much he enjoys not just one or two of his teachers but all of them. Changing to greenfield was the best thing that I could have done for my son! Again, greenfield rocks. Thanks to all involved with the school!!! : )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

This is the best skool that thier could ever be. enyone that goes here loves it ,the sports rock,the bands ,choir and best of all the teachers.Grizzly students ROCK!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2007

This school is unbelievably amazing. The choir was incredible, and so were the sports. They are good about not keeping you too late for sports, and their are lots of opportunities for student and parental involvement. The quality of the academic programs is very respectable, and the grades are high. Go Grizzlies!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 5, 2005

They have an excellant curriculum. Their sports teams are amazing because of wonderful coaches!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 6, 2005

Hello, I am a mother of five children, 3 of which attended Greenfield Junior High School. Out of all of the Junior High Schools my children have attended, this school did far out rank the any of the Junior High Schools in education, teacher performance and the individual staffs' interest in each of my children who attended this school. My children were more than equipped and ready to move onto High School with a high acedemic performance standard second to none. In other words, any child who attends this school does not go without being individually noticed and thier acedemics as well as thier talents are focused upon on a daily basis by all staff. Samilia Towner
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Greenfield Jr High is much like Greenfield Elementry. It is more for the elite and the students the teachers are comfortable with. The regular classes are okay, not progressive or as good as they should be for such small classes. Special Education, and other special classes, are very lacking, and do not help the students to progess, they are the forgotten students at all the Gilbert Schools. I think Gilbert is as good as most schools in Arizona, but the Republican controlled government is monstereous to the school system in this state. To many payoffs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2003

I'm pretty sure I understand what the Pride program was intended to accomplish but it isn't working. If the kids are going to be kept after school, it should be productive not just punishment. I recently moved my family to Johnston, Iowa. My kids grades and attitudes are improving each day. In Iowa, Pride is something you have, not something you get.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Hispanic 15% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Improv

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 813-7279

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Improv
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 South Greenfield Road
Gilbert, AZ 85296
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 813-1770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT