Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

This is a great school! The academics are fantastic and there are so many opportunities. Because the school is fairly large you can pick from a big and diverse elective pool. As to the "Mormon bias" I don't see it as often as the comments say. Most of the time kids use the Mormon bias as an excuse to there parents when they mess up. Even if you're not Mormon (like me), there are many benefits from being in a religiously influenced school, it reduces the rate of crime, drug use and fights! Highland is a great school! Because of HHS I will be attending Harvard in the Fall of 2014!


Posted February 13, 2014

This is a very good school academically and the music program is wonderful, however, there is a lot of Mormon favoritism in regard to sports and other activities. My child has had to experience first hand this religious bias. Even when it comes to dating or going out with a large group of kids my clean cut, church going, high achieving son has been discriminated against. I suppose if a student IS Mormon they would not notice the LDS preference but if you're not it is sadly obvious. He has asked to go elsewhere next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

Our daughter is a sophomore at Highland and we are extremely pleased with how happy she is there. The fact that we have no particular religious affiliation has never been an issue. My daughter participates in some of the many sports and clubs Highland has to offer. We highly recommend this school! Also to note, our son attends Highland Junior...another school in our district with which we are just as pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

I am currently a student here at highland high school and my freshman year here was incredible! I loved all the amazing clubs and teams I was able to join a totally different experience than junior high! BUT when I started my sophmore year this past August, everything changed. I find highland very religious. If you are not LDS (Mormon) you are an outcast in most cases. I have had my teachers even ask who is mormon in the class! Although, there are many people of different faiths who will eventually "clique" with, I found myself confused on why I was feeling so left out. The curriculum also changed quite a bit! And more than half of the math teachers have strong accents and speak very poor english which makes it very difficult to understand. We no longer have half days but instead get released at 1:30 every Wednesday which is difficult for those of us involved in sports because we have to get transportation back to the school at 3 for practice. Overall, I find highland very "cliquey" and judgmental.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2013

We are new in the area. Our children attend both the Highland Junior high, and the high school. My junior high son is involved in sports and band, and has established a number of friends! My daughter is doing very well at the high school. No we are not Mormons but I sure don't mind them! They are great neighbors! The AP history teacher has some strange teaching methods. We do have some amazing teachers, and a few who should be observed without advanced noticed. Overall, we are very happy to be here! We came from out of state from an extremely competitive school and the Highland schools are right up there! We do recommend our school here in Gilbert!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I have not had the best interactions with the counseling department or a few of the teachers. There is a mormon bias at this school. Those who say there isn't are mormons. My daughter and I were at orientation right b4 school started,my daughter received a lunch hour that none of her friends had. She was upset I toldher that it was ok. The counselor had just told us that he could not change it because it was too late. I understood. As we were walking out another new student walked up to the same counselor & said I need to change my lunch because my friends from our ward are in a different lunch then me and I want to be with my friends. They started chatting about mutual friends in the ward that they attended together. He said to her hold on, I will be back. He changed this girls lunch. I heard the whole thing, it was to be with her friends. They went to the same ward. After the girl left, I asked the counselor how that just happened and did my daughter need to be mormon to change her lunch? I called him out. Handed him my daughters schedule and said my daughter wanted the other lunch. Without a word he changed my daughters schedule. He knew he was just biased to the mormon kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

HHS isn't a welcoming place nor is it academically challanging. My student has learning disabilites and rather than make accommodations and have him take regular classes, as he had done in 8th grade they placed him in all Special education classes. EVEN THOUGH that is a direct violation of IDEA (ie federal law). He has learned nothing this school year, rarely has any homework (usually busywork like crossword puzzles). He never has to study and yet he has all A's and B's. When he tried to get placed in harder classes, the couselor refused. She has also refused to let him take a foreign language when planning for next year, even though it is required for college admission. They have decided that even though my son is smart, because he has LD's he won't be able to go to college. The couselor told him he "would be going straight into the military" even though he has said he does not want to do that. He even has a teacher who will end class early if the students are being disruptive. As far as being "Excelling", one has to remember that in education, Arizona ranks about 45th in the country (depending on the year & what exactly is rated). So HHS is only better than 10% of USA's schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

I am currently a freshman at highland high school and I would not recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a challenging education. The teachers at this school will only teach your child the bare minimum and only what will be on the AIMS test. The teachers only care about what's best for your child because the teacher who gets the highest test scores will get extra money. Also, when a student isn't comprehending the topic being taught, the teacher will drop all their plans and stretch the topic until that one student gets it. This can be good or bad depending on if your child is a slow learner, in which case, this is the school for you. Another problem this school has is that students have ADHD and the teachers make no effort to help them. Also, the school takes way too many boundary exceptions. Class sizes have risen from 24 people to a class to more than thirty. If your child has a hard time focusing in class, do not send them here. Lastly, school food quality has decreased dramatically. The school orders the food from different places, freeze them, then reheat when the food is needed. Sometimes the food is not fully defrosted and is cold on the inside.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2013

i disagree with the high rate that this school have, this school get the easy way comparing with others schools. they don't enroll students with low grades or students with special education needs. from here you can't compare this school against the others. i tryed to enroll my daughter on this school but they don't admitted her because she has low grades and they told me that we need to go to another school. we went to gilbert high school and they make a very good plan for my daughter and she graduate on time from this school. i'm very grateful for the hard work gilbert high school did with my daughter. since i know how highland enroll the students. i say they never deserve to compare them with another real high schools. highland has a fake high rate. they do nothing. they only admit students with high grades; therefore those students with highland or without highland will graduate for their self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

I am alumni at this school and I say it was average at most. There was a bullying problem and most of the faculty were ignorant of it. I read reviews about Mormon bias, and sadly it was true. A few of my teachers made me very uncomfortable for not fitting in with the majority of my peers who are Mormon. LGBTQs and other minorities weren't consider apart of the school community by students. I also felt my mild disabilities weren't taken as serious and were seen as a joke. They didn't take any news about suicidal students seriously as well. One student mentioned that they were students trying to convert, that happened to me as well. If I could go back in time, I would have begged to go to Gilbert High School instead just for diversity alone. High school is not just for academics, it is to learn about others and how you contribute to the whole. Highland just taught me that I was a terrible person for being different in some minor detail and it took me a long time to feel like I am a good person.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2012

Our son is a junior @ Highland and we couldn't be more pleased with the school and the faculty. It is interesting how the subject of religion is used repeatedly as a negative from the reviewers of this site. If your child is comfortable with their personal religious beliefs and respects the beliefs of others, there just isn't a problem. Our son has a lot of friends at Highland, both Mormon and non-Mormon friends. They all get along great and there is never any "converting" attempts from any of them. As for parents that complain about the strict actions of the faculty towards mis-behavior. This is a bad thing??? As long as parents take an attitude of {this isn't "FAIR" to treat my child like this for "teenage mischief"} they might want to take a look at the example they are setting for the very children they are defending. If you are defending their actions by claiming over-reaction of the staff then you are subliminally condoning their actions at the expense of the perceived integrity of the school officials and the rules that are designed to provide a safe and wholesome environment for learning. Bottom line is, children are a product of their environment. Great job Highland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

For the most part, I'd say highland is above average in performance. The biggest downside is the unhelpful administration and counselors. The counselors are very condescending, and always seem to have a "well that's just too bad" approach. The administration was nicknamed "The Bureaucracy" among my peers. That was my biggest issue. Some people say there is Mormon/religious bias, and I can say that there was at least one teacher that blatantly displayed this bias and had 'favorites'. However, it generally wasn't too big of an issue - on a few occasions other students have tried to "convert" me, and would just not leave me alone, but this review isn't necessarily supposed to be based on a few students. Most of my teachers were "good". A couple were "exceptional", and a few were "bad". It's not the best school if you're looking to make friends or if you want the schedule you were hoping for, nor will you gain much critical thinking skills (mostly just testing skills). You will get a pretty good education though, and in a decent/safe environment. I would give it a 3.5 if that were possible on this site.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2012

To the parent who said there is Mormon "favoritism" that is not true, almost any highschool you can go to there will be a seminary building. There may be alot of LDS kids at Highland but that does not make it a Mormon school. We encourage every religion and encourage kids to be themselves. Basha High School is one 12 percent Mormon and they have a seminary building also, so no, this school does not put favorites on any student of ours. We do our best to succeed with us and our students. So please, take your personal opinions out of that facts of the great things this school can do for our children and youth. Thankyou.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2012

Highland High School's music department is amazing, and the Orchestra program is the best in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

1. Academically hard to beat. Minus a few outspoken liberal counselors or teachers the curriculum is still tough to beat. 2. BUT WAIT! Religious favoritism at this school is out of control. The academic and athletic favoritism in favor of Mormons is seriously a scary situation. It might as well be labeled an LDS school. This comment coming from someone who at this moment is voting for Romney. Sad situation here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

I hated this school. A large percentage of the students that attend Highland act very "uppity" and the teachers/admin are oblivious to the religious pressures.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2012

The administration at Highland needs a serious reality check. I am very disappointed at the way they treated my daughter. I do not recommend attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

My son graduated from this school in '10, and it was such a relief to know that we didn't have to deal with the school administration any more. We have a perfectly normal 18 year old son who likes athletics and normal teen stuff. Being a teenager, he tended to make some stupid teenage decisions like bringing water balloons to school and throwing paper airplanes across the class. Nothing too serious, just normal things that teens do to get a laugh. Back when I was in high school, if we were caught throwing a paper airplane at someone or if we flicked a rubber band in class, we would typically get a simple warning or at worst a lunch detention. At this school, if you make a simple teenage mistake, you get extreme and harsh punishments way beyond normal. You have no idea how many times my husband and I have had to argue with the administration at this school over simple teenage behavior. I'm not saying that my son is an angel, but the reactions of the administrators are way over the top and to the extreme.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

Great parent involvement, supportive administration and focused faculty and departments. I currently have two children attending Highland and one that graduated two years ago. We have experienced much of what Highland has to offer from sports to music to clubs as well as their focus on academic success. The school is focused on leading the district and being a pioneer in technology. This is a large school and the school population represents the school boundaries with a good mix of different sized homes in different subdivisions. The school has very active boosters supporting over 16 clubs/sports/organizations and it creates an environment where students have opportunities to participate and succeed. I highly recommend Highland High School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Wouldn't rather be at any other, low-quality school. Great people, great teachers, GREAT BAND PROGRAM!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

728 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

730 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

729 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 813-0258

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4301 East Guadalupe Road
Gilbert, AZ 85234
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 813-0051

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT