Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Islands Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
We are only in our KG year, but we couldn't be more pleased with our experience at Islands Elementary. The staff at this school is amazing! Special shout out to Mrs. Schell in Kindergarten, our student has excelled beyond what we ever imagined possible. He is reading, spelling, and doing math like a pro! We are so proud and grateful!! The principle has a connection with his students that is rarely seen. His students trust and respect him, because he truly leads by example. At the 1st of the year we had a bully issue at our bus stop. This was addressed quickly, and professionally by the principle himself. We haven't had an issue since. The whole staff emphasizes the importance of character: being trustworthy, respectful, looking out for each other, and taking personal responsibility for your actions/decisions. THIS IS THE BIGGEST REASON WE LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!! They aren't only educating our children in a class room setting, but teaching them valuable life lessons that will help them be responsible members of society. Hats off to everyone at Islands Elementary.

Islands Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
Anyone we have come into contact with has been wonderful, but our Favorite is Mrs. Schell in Kindergarten.


Islands Elementary School 4

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
In response to the January 9, 2014 review, very sorry to hear about your experience at Islands Elementary School. I am also a parent of a second grade student at Islands this year. Our child's teacher is experienced, hard working and diligent, professional, and an excellent communicator. The principal and the teacher are very easy to work with and have responded immediately to any of our concerns. Curriculum has been at or above grade level and our child has not been bored. We have been very pleased with Islands. Perhaps your experience is not representative of the other teachers and administration. I urge you to contact the principal and perhaps consult with the school social worker, two excellent resources.

Islands Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
I recently moved to Arizona and this is the first school I enrolled my second grader to. I have to say the teacher does not like when parents are concerned with their children's well being. My son has been mistreated multiple times in this school by his peers and when I address it to the teacher she seems not to care much as well as having a lot of issue's with doing any work on her part. She is very lazy. She tries to always find something negative about my son instead of stating positives. My son has top reading scores and in our previous State he was above average and was tested about average here and the books he is reading are books he read in the beginning of 1st grade. He says its to boring and is not being challenged enough to his potential. When that was brought to her attention she said there is nothing she can do. I'm looking on relocating him to another school.

Islands Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
After a move last, we sent our son to Islands Elementary near our new home. He was warmly welcomed, met some fantastic friends, and quickly became involved in school activities (spelling bee, sports, student council) Our experience has only been positive. The teacher for gifted students remains passionate about his work since starting when the school was built 25 years ago. The kids love him. Our regular classroom teacher was a delight to work with as well. I've noticed that the principal is one who spends time among the children and knows their names. Even the PTSO is great, with some super-capable mothers in charge. I see great value in kids from the same neighborhood going to the same neighborhood school, as it builds a network of friends who will support each other at school, at the park, at each others' homes, and through high school. Two thumbs up, as they say, for Islands Elementary and the good things they have going there.


Islands Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
Islands Elementary School is a clean, pleasant school in a great location. Class sizes are larger than expected for primary grades making it difficult for some teachers to differentiate instruction for all student levels. A licensed clinical social worker is on staff and is accessible to all students and provides classroom guidance lessons to Kindergarten and short-term evening parenting classes. There are no school guidance counselors. The before/after school program is awesome and kids really love being at V.I.K. The after school extracurricular offerings are extremely limited compared to other east valley schools. PTA meets too early for working parents to be involved. Teachers are accessible via voice mail and email. The music teacher is nationally board certified and has been teaching at Islands since the opening of the school. Our child has shown tremendous academic growth and is above grade level in all subjects especially reading and math. We would have preferred more intensive homework, classroom guidance lessons in all grades, and more emphasis and time on science. Overall, though, we are pleased and our child really loves being a Dolphin!

Islands Elementary School 2

Posted November 26, 2010
- a parent
Great staff, horrible class size for second grade this year...curriculum is great - best in the area, however, they teach in too many different ways 9specifically the second grade this year). Office staff are not very pleasant or friendly, except for the principal. One of my children is Autistic. Mrs Rush and her staff are excellent with Special Needs. She and her staff really care about individual progress, IEP goals, and the speech teacher is EXCELLENT! If you have a child with special needs, this is the best school in Gilbert....however, the regular classes are too crowded, too many lil bullies and too many fundraisers.....otherwise- its a good school>

Islands Elementary School 1

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
If we could do it over we would not have our child at Islands. Unfriendly staff and a complete disregard for students well being. I watch kids man handle eachother in the morning while several teachers engage eachother.


Islands Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
Islands elementary is a great school it has the feel of safe and caring environment, which is very important. The principle the teachers and the whole staff are great.

Islands Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Because they have the best staff in Gilbert. They are always going out of their way to do great things for the kids. They seem to take more time to help make sure they understand. Unlike middle school and high school where they seem to be just a number.

Nearby schools

Islands Elementary School
245 South McQueen Road, Gilbert, AZ  85233
(480) 497-0742
Last modified Islands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top