Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Ridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 2285 students

Academics, Arts, Athletics

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

72 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

If you read all the other posts, you will see that many people say that the school doesn't care about kids that aren't in honors or AP. Let me just tell you, that is not true. Many of the parents that are complaining probably just listen to what their child says, but what the child says isn't necessarily true, just his/her perspective. I take both honors and regular classes, and the teachers do great in both. They challenge the students, even the struggling ones, to do the best they can do. Most teachers, except in AP, which is to be expected, will even take the time to go back and help people who are struggling with a unit. I am currently a sophomore at the school, and I have to say that I am loving it. The administration does amazing considering the school has over 2000 students. Also, the teachers are great at settling down the kids in the classroom so they have plenty of time to teach. This school deserves the 5 stars I gave it, and don't listen to the students who didn't try, or the parents who didn't get involved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2013

Principal & special education teachers are not prepare to help kids with special needs specially autistic kids, they really need a lot of training, they just want model kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

I graduated from MRHS and wanted to share my experience. I was a year round varsity athlete (Basketball/Track) and A+ student. I had an amazing 4 years there and loved all the diversity of classes. I especially liked that they had dual-enrollment options, i had 80% of my freshman year of college compete before graduating MRHS. Classes were challenging. Teachers are awesome and supportive! With many students, you're bound to make friends somewhere! Like anything else, you do need to apply yourself to be successful... Thanks to a solid foundation from MRHS, I now have a Bachelors of Physiology /Chemistry from the University of Arizona.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2013

Mountain Ridge school provides students with a 21st century education! Students get the opportunity to track their own data and take ownership of their learning through goal setting and focusing on research based strategies. The teachers and administration are wonderful and very supportive of student needs. There are more than 40 clubs that students can participate in and a ton of school spirit! Your child will definitely graduate feeling prepared for college or a career, whichever path they may choose!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2013

My Daughter has had an excellent education here with teachers who are really involved and want their students to do well. My student worked hard and had a great relationship with the math and chemistry departments. She had a great experience with athletics and clubs. The resources here are very good. She has a full ride to ASU in Chemical Engineering and I give credit to her and to the exceptional teachers at Ridge. It is all there if you reach for it. If you think someone owes you something you won't succeed anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

Two of the greatest aspects of Mountain Ridge High Schools are its committment to excellence and the wide variety of clubs and activities available to students. Each year, the school holds a club rush event so that students can learn about all the clubs on campus. Some groups are academic, some involve community service while others are related to sports. The overall campus feel is safe and inviting. Additionally, both the rigor and content of the honors and AP classes are wonderful. Students are fully prepared for success in college and beyond. Having worked in two other schools prior to coming to Mountain Ridge, I can honestly say that MRHS is a truly outstanding school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 12, 2011

My son transferred from the Peoria district where he failed almost all of his first semester classes his junior year. His mother and I were resigned to the fact that he would not graduate. As a senior at Mountain Ridge, my son developed the discipline to achieve his academic goals. The administration and counseling office went out of their way to help him be successful and as such he graduated in the spring of 2011. He has since become a U.S. Marine and this probably would not have occurred if he had not gone to Mountain Ridge High School. Our family owes a debt of gratitude to Mountain Ridge s staff and administration for working with us and him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

This school is too big... if your student is an A and loves to be involved in extra circular activities, they will like it if they like crowds. If you student is average and struggles, they will not do well. With only 50 min classes, it takes 10-15 min to settle the students down, then the teacher only has time to give out assignments, no time for real lessons or walking thru and helping a student understand. The teachers and staff may have cared but without resources and so many students, the kids that can't stay before/after school to get the help drowned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I think that Coach Jack MacDonald is an excellent summer league baseball coach. I hope that he is maintained as a solid staff member of the sports program. Our grandson is on the summer instructional league and is learning so much. He learns how to develop into a fine and respected young man as well as a great ballplayer. Thank you Coach Mac, and thank you Mountain Ridge for staffing such a fine man


Posted April 21, 2011

MRHS is outstanding! Our children have the advantage of selecting from a variety of great academic programs as well as extra-curricular activities. Their teachers are passionate about their subjects & caring of their students. Of course, we as parents are very involved & have found the staff & administration to be helpful & competent. Positive direction from the top provides great direction for students & staff. This is truly an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

I worked for this school and now work for Peoria. I can say MRHS does not challenge students but rather babies them along. AP and Honors classes are the level of regular academic classes at most other schools. The accounting/business classes are a complete joke. In fact the entire CTE department needs an overhaul. Admininstration has lost touch with reality. Its time to clean house MRHS.


Posted February 26, 2011

Mountain Ridge is an amazing school. Our daughter has only had the benefit of two years, and we are so sorry that we didn't move her sooner. We cannot believe the difference in education and opportunities found between the 2 schools less than 5 miles apart. Mrs. Durazo is absolutely amazing, and a HUGE benefit for the school and their arts program. We cannot thank the school enough for what they have done for our daughter. If you live anywhere near Mountain Ridge, and your child is interested in Music, there is NO other choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

I would strongly recommend Mt. Ridge High School to any parent who is willing to participate in their child's education. Both of our sons graduated from Mt. Ridge and both received multiple scholarship offers from not only ASU and Univ of Arizona, but also scholarship offers from several out of state schools; including the college they both choose to attend, Pepperdine University. The teachers and administrative staff are very dedicated and work hard to provide the best education possible. If you don't want to participate in and support your child's education, and you only want to complain about what you are not getting from a school, then go someplace else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

I would like to offer parents considering Mountain Ridge some advice. Send your child to Mountain Ridge because it is an excellent school, but you should know that your involvement is still crucial in your child's development. While browsing through other posts I saw a lot of parents blaming teachers and administrators for individual failures. Teachers in every subject and at every level offer the help students need, but often students refuse that help. Parents need to encourage their students to seek knowledge and to succeed, not blame the system or the teachers. Mountain Ridge has great teachers, and I would highly encourage parents to send their children to this high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2010

We were very unhappy with this school and the faculty. They are not at all equipped to handle students with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

Very unhappy with this school. They are not equipped to handle special needs students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Our child is a freshman this year. I read other reviews that only accelerated student get noticed. We wish! I find it very difficult to speak to teachers or administrators. Yes, it is a large school, but these are people you are dealing with. I hope the rest of this year goes better than the first quarter. Some teachers seem to care about and challenge my child in a good way, others do not appear to care at all. The bureaucracy and politics are discouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

The teachers are wonderful and gave both of our children a wonderful education! There are several people who really cared!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I have had 2 graduate Ridge and our last is a sophomore. Our oldest did not apply himself to his ability and barely graduated; our second had a wonderful experience & our third is the same. 2500 students will bring its share of problems. Overall, I find the staff to be passionate about their teaching and involved, as long as the kid gives a darn about learning. The counseling office was worthless; the administration acts like the gestapo ~ biggest problem I see at Ridge is parents. I would bet the parents who complain never participated in their child's high school experience except to show up in the office when there is a problem. To only have 100 parents in the PTA in a school this size is pathetic. Parents will always be the greatest influence; if you don't give a darn, why should your kid? Get involved like you should!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

i miss ridge. i graduated last year and i totally wish i could go back. ridge was the best ever.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

539 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

542 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Hillcrest Middle School (7-8)
Highland Lakes (K-8)
Sierra Verde and Terramar (K-8)
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 41% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 49% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 4% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 3% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • A+ School (2006)
  • Excelling School (2007)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Engineering
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Varied Styles
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:10 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Shona Miranda
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (623) 376-3080

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Dual Enrollment Courses
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Engineering
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • West-MEC / CTE courses

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Decathlon
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Best Buddies club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • DECA
  • Dance club: Varied Styles
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Flag girls
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Marching band
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Society of Female Scholars
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • academics, arts, athletics focus
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 41%
4 year college - 49%
Military - 4%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22800 N 67th Avenue
Glendale, AZ 85310
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ischool2020
Yuma, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT