Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Glendale, AZ
Students enrolled: 2,285
 

3 stars
Based on 84 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


94 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountain Ridge High School 2

Posted December 19, 2014
- a student
I have gone to Mountain Ridge for all four years of high school, and I will be graduating in 2015. The education is a bit of a mess. Basically, half the teachers act like their teaching college and the other half act like they're working a day care. The quality of education a student receives at MRHS is left entirely up to which teachers they are given. Same goes for grades. I have had two extremely bitter and unhappy teachers that simply refused to give out As. I have also had teachers that have great personalities but give everyone As and Bs. The school really doesn't care about the education. ALL THEY CARE ABOUT IS CRIME. They are constantly searching kids for drugs or weapons that don't exist and harassing students that make "threats". They should stop focusing all their time on catching students doing something bad and actually focus on teaching. The admin is likely unaware of the teaching issues because they send around administrators to observe the teachers, but the teachers act entirely different when admin is present. The teachers even warn the students that if they misbehave when admin is there, they'll get penalized in grading.
5 people found this helpful

Mountain Ridge High School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a student
If you read all the other posts, you will see that many people say that the school doesn't care about kids that aren't in honors or AP. Let me just tell you, that is not true. Many of the parents that are complaining probably just listen to what their child says, but what the child says isn't necessarily true, just his/her perspective. I take both honors and regular classes, and the teachers do great in both. They challenge the students, even the struggling ones, to do the best they can do. Most teachers, except in AP, which is to be expected, will even take the time to go back and help people who are struggling with a unit. I am currently a sophomore at the school, and I have to say that I am loving it. The administration does amazing considering the school has over 2000 students. Also, the teachers are great at settling down the kids in the classroom so they have plenty of time to teach. This school deserves the 5 stars I gave it, and don't listen to the students who didn't try, or the parents who didn't get involved.
1 person found this helpful


Mountain Ridge High School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Principal & special education teachers are not prepare to help kids with special needs specially autistic kids, they really need a lot of training, they just want model kids
1 person found this helpful

Mountain Ridge High School 5

Posted June 02, 2013
- a student
I graduated from MRHS and wanted to share my experience. I was a year round varsity athlete (Basketball/Track) and A+ student. I had an amazing 4 years there and loved all the diversity of classes. I especially liked that they had dual-enrollment options, i had 80% of my freshman year of college compete before graduating MRHS. Classes were challenging. Teachers are awesome and supportive! With many students, you're bound to make friends somewhere! Like anything else, you do need to apply yourself to be successful... Thanks to a solid foundation from MRHS, I now have a Bachelors of Physiology /Chemistry from the University of Arizona.
1 person found this helpful

Mountain Ridge High School 5

Posted April 13, 2013
- a teacher
Mountain Ridge school provides students with a 21st century education! Students get the opportunity to track their own data and take ownership of their learning through goal setting and focusing on research based strategies. The teachers and administration are wonderful and very supportive of student needs. There are more than 40 clubs that students can participate in and a ton of school spirit! Your child will definitely graduate feeling prepared for college or a career, whichever path they may choose!!


Mountain Ridge High School 5

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
My Daughter has had an excellent education here with teachers who are really involved and want their students to do well. My student worked hard and had a great relationship with the math and chemistry departments. She had a great experience with athletics and clubs. The resources here are very good. She has a full ride to ASU in Chemical Engineering and I give credit to her and to the exceptional teachers at Ridge. It is all there if you reach for it. If you think someone owes you something you won't succeed anywhere.
1 person found this helpful

Mountain Ridge High School 5

Posted July 12, 2011
- a teacher
Two of the greatest aspects of Mountain Ridge High Schools are its committment to excellence and the wide variety of clubs and activities available to students. Each year, the school holds a club rush event so that students can learn about all the clubs on campus. Some groups are academic, some involve community service while others are related to sports. The overall campus feel is safe and inviting. Additionally, both the rigor and content of the honors and AP classes are wonderful. Students are fully prepared for success in college and beyond. Having worked in two other schools prior to coming to Mountain Ridge, I can honestly say that MRHS is a truly outstanding school.

Mountain Ridge High School 4

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
My son transferred from the Peoria district where he failed almost all of his first semester classes his junior year. His mother and I were resigned to the fact that he would not graduate. As a senior at Mountain Ridge, my son developed the discipline to achieve his academic goals. The administration and counseling office went out of their way to help him be successful and as such he graduated in the spring of 2011. He has since become a U.S. Marine and this probably would not have occurred if he had not gone to Mountain Ridge High School. Our family owes a debt of gratitude to Mountain Ridge s staff and administration for working with us and him.


Mountain Ridge High School 2

Posted June 29, 2011
- a parent
This school is too big... if your student is an A and loves to be involved in extra circular activities, they will like it if they like crowds. If you student is average and struggles, they will not do well. With only 50 min classes, it takes 10-15 min to settle the students down, then the teacher only has time to give out assignments, no time for real lessons or walking thru and helping a student understand. The teachers and staff may have cared but without resources and so many students, the kids that can't stay before/after school to get the help drowned.

Mountain Ridge High School 5

Posted June 04, 2011
- a community member
I think that Coach Jack MacDonald is an excellent summer league baseball coach. I hope that he is maintained as a solid staff member of the sports program. Our grandson is on the summer instructional league and is learning so much. He learns how to develop into a fine and respected young man as well as a great ballplayer. Thank you Coach Mac, and thank you Mountain Ridge for staffing such a fine man

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain Ridge High School
22800 N 67th Avenue, Glendale, AZ  85310
(623) 445-5000
Last modified Mountain Ridge High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mountain Ridge High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 94 reviews. Top