Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunset School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

I like the teachers they work hard to keep the student motivated and interested in their education, I like just about everything about the school except some of the rules. The kids can't even be kids without getting into trouble and that is not the biggest issue the school will not bend the rules to suit the situation but they will bend the rules for their own convenience and that is not right. I want my children to grow up in a safe bully free environment but at this point it is almost the schools policies that are making the teachers bullies and that is a shame especially for a school like Sunset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

This school is Amazing! The staff is awesome and is extremely involved in everything! My son loves to go to school everyday! Could not ask for a better place to send him to get a top notch education!! Thank you to all the staff for truly caring about all the kids that attend sunset school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

This is an amazing school, the Principal and staff are very professional and truly care for the students. Best school in Glendale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Sunset School is exceptional! The teachers and principal are amazing! I appreciate all of the hard work they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

The school is excellent. The entire staff works hard for all the students. I refer in particular to the principal Ms. Patterson, who sets the tone for her school. She is first-rate. Our daughter attended Sunset for 2 years and had a wonderful time. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our son attended Sunset and we found everything about it to be exceptional. We couldn't have asked for a better foundation for his future. Even though his days there are just memories now, we miss the experiences we all had there, and still try to support the school in every way we can.


Posted July 23, 2009

My son is going on his 3rd year sunset. I love all the teachers and staff at this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

My son has accelerated above the standard score tests in his first 6 months of school because of the one on one attention from his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

My daughter attended this school for 1st and 2nd grade. We had a wonderful experience at this school. Mrs. Patterson the principal was very nice and handled any situation with great care and in a timely manner. My daughter had Ms. Bakke who was a wonderful teacher. She also had Ms. Demory for second grade who is our all time favorite teacher so far. We miss you Ms. Demory. We had a great experience with this school. I would have given this school a 5 star rating if the academics were higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

early morning kids would wait out front for the teachers, then for the rest of the kids then get all together and go in.. sence my son has medical problems and bad asthma the early morning thing just wasnt good. because of this sun set wasnt for us.. when i called the office to pull my son out it took them 3 weeks to call me back! hes some place else now thriving and doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

My son went to Sunset from 2nd grade through 6th grade. I found the teachers to be caring and concerned about his education. The current principal is excellent and discipline seems to be consistent. Band, orchestra, cheer, track and basketball are available. I'm impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Bullying is a big problem at Sunset. Mrs. Patterson is quick to respond when it is brought to her attention. The teachers are not so great with dealing with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I attended sunset from kindergarten to 6th grade. It is the best school ever! To this day I still consider Sunset my home school. It will always be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 26, 2006

I have 3 students at Sunset this year, and I went there myself the year the school opened. I love the school. Mrs. Patterson is a wonderful principal who knows education in and out. I am a teacher myself in the Washington Elementary School District, and I would not have my children attend a school that I felt was not addressing their needs, both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

This school is improving academically, but they have cut all extracurricular activities such as band, choir, and other clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

I believe that Sunset has a lot problems and the parents should be standing up with each other, not against each other. If you let your child be a bully, you are wrong. The school is concerned, although always pointing a finger at the wrong child. There is no success where there is no positive reinforcement. I have never heard any good comments standing in the office or outside. My child has been pushed by teachers, made fun of by teachers and let down by teachers. Someone needs to rearrange the faculty. Concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

I have a daughter in first grade and a niece in kindergarten at Sunset and both are doing work from the next grade. Their reading skills and math skills are excellent. I think Sunset is a wonderful school and am glad that my daughter and niece are able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

When I have discussed concerns with teachers about my childs performance they were not really concerened because the rest of the class was at a low level. To them it was ok if my son was a little behind because the rest of the school was. No type of encouragement. If we as parents are trying hard to help our children shouldn't the school and the teachers also try harder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

There were a few problems here, but those were mostly about children in the after school program. Sunset is a cute little school, and the rules are enforced. I don't know if this has changed since my daughter went here, but the only problem I have with this school is that they keep the classes separate during lunch, and have band class during lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Really good school. Really good school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 43%
White 39% 42%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 347-3320

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4626 W Mountain View Rd
Glendale, AZ 85302
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Horizon School
Glendale, AZ



Heritage School
Glendale, AZ


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT