Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
300 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
No. This school developed survival skills as in surviving the bullies and illegal aliens allowed to run wild among the student body.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
No accountability. Bullying left unchecked. Adminisyration out of touch with reality. No true "safe environment" for kids. Go elsewhere.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 1

Posted January 18, 2016
- a community member
Run away. Fast. This school does nothing for children. Don't let anyone "guilt" you into thinking that offering criticism where it is due is somehow "bad" just because the place slaps a cross on their poor behavior.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 5

Posted May 03, 2015
- a parent
I am quite happy with my daughter's progress at OLPH. Small class size is one reason I originally chose this school. The teachers are genuinely interested in helping the students succeed. The music education at the school has improved significantly over the last couple of years. The school has received a number of grants recently. I can see much positive change at the school. I speak as a happy parent of a happy kid at OLPH!

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 5

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
It is great school. I change my son from St Louis The King and I think that was the best decision I have made for my son education.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
This school has been thru some rough patches, honestly, what school hasn't? The care for the children and their education has always been there. Perhaps some can't see all of the good for their concentration on all of the bad. It is a private, Catholic school. I have been a part of this school and church for over 8 years. I've seen the ups and the downs. It is life and the adjustment to these changes is what makes us a stronger community. It is the adjustment that show our children how to "get along" with others for the rest of their lives. Nothing is ever 100% easy, the children are learning more from parents who bad mouth the church and school than can ever be "fixed" by an 8 hour day at ANY school.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 1

Posted February 25, 2013
- a community member
The quality of education at this school is unbelievably lacking. Principal leadership is non-existent. There are some good teachers at the school, trying to tough it out, but the environment is too chaotic to be productive in any way. The school communicates very poorly with parents and staff members, to the point that no one really knows what is going on from one moment to the next. The community as a whole is more focused on sports than academics, and the Catholic identity is all hat and no cattle--as the saying goes. The children may be at mass every morning, but they don't even wait to exit the building before negating any good they just did by being in the pew. The priest, himself, is either deliberately kept in the dark, or in a deep state of denial about the situation. A few in the community seem to be trying really hard to improve the condition of the school, but there isn't enough leadership present to support those efforts. There is a spinning revolving door for good people/good students. Parents try to help only to run away in extreme frustration. The ones that stay make excuses like an abused spouse for their abuser and nothing changes.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 1

Posted October 30, 2010
- a parent
I REALLY wanted OLPH to be an excellent school. Sadly, I had to pull my kids out after the year had already begun. I felt unwelcome in large part by the mostly Hispanic population. When I took my children to another Catholic school I was told my one child was so far behind they would have to repeat a grade! After talking to other parents, they had the same problem!! PLEASE won't the Diocese step in already? Oh on a side note, I did NOT pull them out because of their teachers. I think the new teacher are great!


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 1

Posted June 24, 2010
- a community member
Fr. Mike, Nice post on June 4th, 2009, Old teachers and parents were creating a complot against the school, they were just waiting for an opportunity to talk bad about their own kids school. Actually the Administrative Team created the deceit, allowed staff verbal outbursts in front of students, problems, and would not openly discuss any issues. Which posts did the Parish Liaison write? Why does the school need a New Set of dedicated volunteers? What happened to all of the volunteers that were there? You and the Parish Liaison asked them not to return.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help 1

Posted June 12, 2010
- a parent
If I could give less than one star I would. We stuck with OLPH through thick and thin. Last year when the pastor and interim principal reeked havoc and half of the school population left, we decided to give them the benefit of doubt and stay another year. It was an excellent year with an excellent new principal until the administrative liaison was given too much power and went after the principal and teachers. Very sad as the previous principals made OLPH an excelling school. In 2008-09 they had an enrollment of 400+ students; in 2009-10 after the pastor and administrative liaison took over it was down to 220; and for the 2010-11 school year it will be less than 100. The diocese will not get involved, the level of education is lacking as many students who are leaving for other schools are behind in math and science. The school has

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help
7521 North 57th Avenue, Glendale, AZ  85301
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (623) 931-7288
Last modified Our Lady Of Perpetual Help is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top