Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 155 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $56,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

Grace Lutheran School is a slice of heaven! My children are being educated by Christian teachers and the environment is wonderful! I highly recommend Grace to anyone looking for a Christian, high quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

Grace Lutheran is one loving family in Christ. Great school delivering good academics, morals and spiritual growth. The extra curricular activities, before and after care is great. You can see and feel God's love, peace and unity in this scool. Am african but I feel like part of this family of God. LOVE THIS SCHOOL. Goo and welcoming environment and teachers that are well trained in their areas. Both pastoral and academic staffs are GREAT people. I never regretted sending my son's to Grace. I have even send some families and friends there and they enrolled. Keep u the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

This is my favorate school because it is fun, they have after school activties like after care, and they have a before,and during school there is memory work and bible class and langauge arts spelling reading math science and social studies and recess and PE.


Posted February 3, 2014

We love Grace! The pre-school has been amazing for my child! The staff is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Grace is a wonderful school. The staff is very caring and friendly. My children are receiving a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Grace Lutheran School serves many students in grades Preschool-8th Grade. Grace has a highly dedicated and veteran Christian teaching staff ready to make a difference in the lives of the students entrusted to their care. Our Christian School is located in the Downtown Glendale area. Grace Lutheran School currently serves students from Glendale, Peoria, Surprise, Laveen, Phoenix, Avondale, Litchfield Park, and Goodyear. Grace is a nationally accredited private school with certified teachers that has been training young hearts and minds in Christian education for 85 years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 26, 2013

There are many private schools out there, but few can compare to what you find at Grace! You are part of a family at Grace. My children love going to school, thank you Grace faculty and staff for providing such a great Christian education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

My family loves Grace! The teachers are very caring. This is a small school so the principle knows all of the children and all of the students families. The teachers are excellent! My sons are excelling in their studies and are in a very caring environment. My family are not Wisconsin Lutherans, but we have never felt like outsiders or uncomfortable at the school. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

An accredited school with truly caring staff. My son is loving reading and math...He is excited to learn. Thanks Miss Musser.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

Grace is an established school - suggesting stability. The principal, Mr. Brenner is the best. It is a K-8 school, with good academic programs. Elementary extracurricular activities are mainly limited to the homeroom teacher, although I observed many teachers share their expertise. The sense of community in this small(er) school setting is very comforting - children being greeted by either a pastor and the principal, parents visiting before and after school. Teachers are very accessible, and students seem well adjusted and happy. Christian religious classes are taught, and I believe most traditional Christian faiths would be happy there. Obviously there are things that a small school cannot offer, but many other things they can provide - one being small class size, another being wonderful school presentations, where children/parents come together. And although it cannot meet everyone's needs, it is well worth considering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

Grace Lutheran School has provided both of my children academics that are challenging, teachers that are nurturing all in a Christian atmosphere and setting. The teaching of strong Christian values has also developed character traits such as, honesty, integrity, forgiveness, kindness and other God-pleasing habits. All of this elementary education is under the thoughtful, loving and highly trained care of the dedicated teachers who make up the staff at Grace. My oldest, is a graduate of Grace, my youngest, a 4th grader, for both of them Grace Lutheran Grade School has made a difference in their young lives, not only now, but for eternity!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 20% 43%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Matt Herbst - Principal
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin evangelical lutheran synod
Fax number
  • (623) 937-4390

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Our parents are a vital part of our education process. parents are needed to review homework with their children. we strive for two-way communication with our parents. parents and members of our community provide a needed service of volunteering as tutors, teachers' assistants, etc.
More from this school
  • We strive for a caring atmosphere where children can grow.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona Lutheran Academy 602-268-8686
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5600 West Palmaire Avenue
Glendale, AZ 85301
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 937-2010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Isaac E Imes School
Glendale, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT