Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legend Springs Elementary School

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 648 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2008

We just moved schools from frontier. My kids say its been a big change. The electives such as P.E, Art, Band, etc. are'nt as good. He says the teachers get mad and frustrateed way to easilly. In my opinion though the Sage program is good but not as great as the PTSO at frontier. Also the school spirit is very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

excellent school , and the SAGE program is wonderful, my kid is much better learner in this new environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

Came to this school for the SAGE program/teacher. Have been thrilled with Mr. Rayhorn and the challenging but fun work. Regular classroom work seems about par with school we came from. Great band teacher as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

This school is great. Mr. Rayhorn, the sage teacher, is 'awesome'! He likes to have fun, but does it in a way we earn things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

My daughter joined Legend Springs from 2nd grade till now. We have great experiences with the teachers and the staff. Everybody seems to be working together to make a good school even better. The PTA is doing a terrific job. My daughter loves to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

We loves legend springs. They have the best teachers mrs.Tutt is the best. She is very loveing and patient yet knew how to disapline better than i ever could. We also loved mrs. Barbee and crane. This school has and excallent reaeing program. Though it is over crowded they do need more teachers and higher pay for them. Overall school deserves an applause.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

Not impressed with my child's 1st grade teacher. There was no communication and seemed unorganized. Also, the math program is far to easy. Seems the bar is low and the teachers teach to the lowest level. I think it should be a requirement that all teachers have a web-site for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

This school has some of the worst burnt out teachers who just collect a paycheck. The principal is weak and the school is run extremely poorly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

This has been the worst year ever for my son. His third grade teacher has too many students and not enough time. She told me my son may have ADD and should be on Medication.? Unbelievable how we have been treated here. By the teachers and the Principle. Very unprofessional. Lots of gossip among teachers/parents with confidential information. If you have an active boy I defiantly would not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I have been pleased with the education my students have received at Legend Springs. Parents are involved in the school, and the teachers seem to care about the students. I only wish the school had funding for students to receive direct services from a Reading Specialist. Currently, the Reading Specialist consults with teachers who then make accomodations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Excellent SAGE (gifted) program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

Great school,wonderful environment. The principal is outstanding!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 31, 2005

academic programs are consistent school wide. Math program is goood. Teachers are good. Extracurricular activites are available. Strong community. A lot of parent involvement.(TOOOOO much) My child did receive a good education though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I have had a wonderful experience at Legend Springs. My daughter was in Kindergarten and loves it! Her teacher was wonderful and made her enjoy learning and going to school. My daughter is very shy but with felt right at home at Legend Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2003

I have been extremely impressed with the Kindergarten/Enrichment teachers. My daughter has learned more than I could have ever imagine! My hats are off to Mrs. Barbee and Mrs. Bochem!!!! The Leopards Den (after school program) is a joke! They lost my kindergarten child one day...not only mine but 2 of them! They wandered off and the staff didn't even notice until I was there to pick her up!!! I would not suggest Leopards Den if you have other options! I give my hats off to the teachers here! They are the BEST!!! I wouldnt trade these teachers for anything! Thank you teachers!!!!


Posted October 15, 2002

My granddaughter went to a charter school for her Kindergarten year. During the summer, we took a tour (given by principal Rich Clawson) through Legend Springs School. We were impressed with what he showed us and had to say about his school. My granddaughter was enrolled for first grade shortly afterwards. I must say, the school wasn't what Mr. Clawson said it would be. It was much much better! Rich Clawson is a tremendous leader and his staff is far superior to any I've ever seen! There isn't enough good I can say about Legend Springs. It's the best. Mrs. Earley, 1st grade, is one of the most down to earth and fun teachers I've seen in a long time. My hat's off to her as well. Keep up the great work! Our community is fortunate to have you all here!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (623) 376-4580

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Parent center
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21150 North Arrowhead Loop Roa
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT