Advertisement
Advertisement

Hi-Star Center for Children

Private

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2012

Hi-Star has been a blessing for our son, who was struggling in a traditional school setting. At Hi-Star, my son's school day is filled with discovery and learning, rather than his behavior. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My son has been at hi star for about 6 years now and has made huge gains. Before coming to hi star I would get calls everday asking me to pick him up because they did not know how to handle him. Hi star taught him to read and write something public school could not do. Hi star teaches them manners, love and respect. They have plays, art shows, life skill outings, special Olympics and more. My son has made real friendships there and anyone that spends more than five minutes at this center can see how much they enjoy and love these kids. They do have discipline techniques in place for reasons and anyone with a special needs child knows how important they are to have . I have never witnessed any unkindness to any child in the 6 years at hi star. Thank you hi star for changing my sons life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

This school is awesome. Our son is blind and autistic and was regressing in speech and daily iving activities after starting kindegarten. Half way through the year the district suggested Hi-Star and we switched him. We have seen nothing but success! It is awesome to see how much our son has learnt so quickly thanks to the awesome staff of Hi Star. He has atteneded for a few years now and I dread the day he will be transferred back to public school. The staff is loving and really cares about the childrens. Awesome....Awesome....Awesome...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

I am proud to be a teacher at Hi-Star. I have worked there for over 10 years- most of our staff have worked at HI-Star for 15 to 20 years. I am saddened by the parent who had such a negative view of our school. I'm sorry she couldn't see all of the positive rewards we utilize to encourage good and positive behaviors, all of the high-fives and hugs we give our students to encourage positive interactions. I personally invite any parent to spend a day in my classroom and make the decision for themselves whether our school is appropriate for their child or not. I believe you will be impressed! Sincerely, Jamie Patrick
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 9, 2012

Any and all actions taken by staff are with the full informed consent of parents (in writing, if you get to the point of placing your child there). ACCEL taught my kiddo to scream for longer periods of time until they eventually dropped the task and he got whatever he'd wanted. They do not hurt kids. But they do not allow kids to be disruptive, off task, or a danger to themselves or others simply because other places think it's better for a kid to be locked away for hours. Once a child stops the behavior, they go back to the task they were doing. That's the end of it. There's no, "You knocked over a chair this morning, so you don't get recess this afternoon.......or tomorrow......". Most kids don't need it. And no one should send their child there unless they agree with the program. But the program does work for the kiddos they accept. And it is the difference between my son living a relatively normal life and being in an out of home placement. For us, Hi Star has been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

I toured this center as a requirement from my sons district. I was appalled on how they treat special needs children.Just on my visit I witnessed a child with severe mental disabilities stand in a adjusting room in the corner screaming...to get the chimes attention the force there arms up in the air or flick their cheeks and squirt water on them. The principal proudly showed me a mat where the take down children and sit on them to show defiant behaviors that they are superiority. At the end of my tour the man told.me that he will breakdown my son behavior and he will know who is boss. The school is full of smoke screens and the kids look to scared to get in trouble so they look like zombies. parents beware...if u have a severe behavioral child with disabilities there is a better and less evasive choice...Accel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

Histar is not for everyone, but provides an excellent program for those parents who agree with the philosophy of the school, and who have students with developmental issues that demand supportive care. The children do get recreation periods both indoors and out, and virtually all of the upper level students participate in special olympics. (So I do take issue with the comments from the post on 4/13/2005 about there being no sports). Parents are indeed invited and encouraged to have their children get involved in the numerous activities: plays, weekly outings, cookouts, camping trips, prom, harvest dance, etc. Naturally, as the children get older, the complexity of their activities is expanded. There are numerous events for parents to observe their children, or enjoy the reward of their successes, but not every parent chooses to participate or show.


Posted August 17, 2006

I have found the academic programing at Hi-Star to be of great quality for children with language and behavioral needs. The teachers and staff truly care about the students and work above and beyond the norm. The music and art program is great with yearly productions and art shows. The staff is extremely knowledgable about special needs. They have an on sight recreational therapist for sport activities. It is a wonderful program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

Academics is questionable at best that is till your child gets older and more focused. The availability of music and arts is good. Sports however there are none. The children have a little play area to play in. There are a few extracarricular activities. Parents are not encouraged to be involved at all. The school prefers the parents involvement be stricted to only invited individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 42%
Hispanic 25% 39%
Black 14% 6%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 6466
Glendale, AZ 85312
Phone: (602) 548-3038

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Isaac E Imes School
Glendale, AZ





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT