Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Ungraded|Private
56 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hi-Star Center For Children 5

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
Hi-Star has been a blessing for our son, who was struggling in a traditional school setting. At Hi-Star, my son's school day is filled with discovery and learning, rather than his behavior. I love this school!

Hi-Star Center For Children 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
My son has been at hi star for about 6 years now and has made huge gains. Before coming to hi star I would get calls everday asking me to pick him up because they did not know how to handle him. Hi star taught him to read and write something public school could not do. Hi star teaches them manners, love and respect. They have plays, art shows, life skill outings, special Olympics and more. My son has made real friendships there and anyone that spends more than five minutes at this center can see how much they enjoy and love these kids. They do have discipline techniques in place for reasons and anyone with a special needs child knows how important they are to have . I have never witnessed any unkindness to any child in the 6 years at hi star. Thank you hi star for changing my sons life.


Hi-Star Center For Children 5

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
This school is awesome. Our son is blind and autistic and was regressing in speech and daily iving activities after starting kindegarten. Half way through the year the district suggested Hi-Star and we switched him. We have seen nothing but success! It is awesome to see how much our son has learnt so quickly thanks to the awesome staff of Hi Star. He has atteneded for a few years now and I dread the day he will be transferred back to public school. The staff is loving and really cares about the childrens. Awesome....Awesome....Awesome...

Hi-Star Center For Children 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a teacher
I am proud to be a teacher at Hi-Star. I have worked there for over 10 years- most of our staff have worked at HI-Star for 15 to 20 years. I am saddened by the parent who had such a negative view of our school. I'm sorry she couldn't see all of the positive rewards we utilize to encourage good and positive behaviors, all of the high-fives and hugs we give our students to encourage positive interactions. I personally invite any parent to spend a day in my classroom and make the decision for themselves whether our school is appropriate for their child or not. I believe you will be impressed! Sincerely, Jamie Patrick

Hi-Star Center For Children 5

Posted June 09, 2012
- a parent
Any and all actions taken by staff are with the full informed consent of parents (in writing, if you get to the point of placing your child there). ACCEL taught my kiddo to scream for longer periods of time until they eventually dropped the task and he got whatever he'd wanted. They do not hurt kids. But they do not allow kids to be disruptive, off task, or a danger to themselves or others simply because other places think it's better for a kid to be locked away for hours. Once a child stops the behavior, they go back to the task they were doing. That's the end of it. There's no, "You knocked over a chair this morning, so you don't get recess this afternoon.......or tomorrow......". Most kids don't need it. And no one should send their child there unless they agree with the program. But the program does work for the kiddos they accept. And it is the difference between my son living a relatively normal life and being in an out of home placement. For us, Hi Star has been a blessing.


Hi-Star Center For Children 1

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
I toured this center as a requirement from my sons district. I was appalled on how they treat special needs children.Just on my visit I witnessed a child with severe mental disabilities stand in a adjusting room in the corner screaming...to get the chimes attention the force there arms up in the air or flick their cheeks and squirt water on them. The principal proudly showed me a mat where the take down children and sit on them to show defiant behaviors that they are superiority. At the end of my tour the man told.me that he will breakdown my son behavior and he will know who is boss. The school is full of smoke screens and the kids look to scared to get in trouble so they look like zombies. parents beware...if u have a severe behavioral child with disabilities there is a better and less evasive choice...Accel.

Hi-Star Center For Children
no rating

Posted July 18, 2009
- a community member
Histar is not for everyone, but provides an excellent program for those parents who agree with the philosophy of the school, and who have students with developmental issues that demand supportive care. The children do get recreation periods both indoors and out, and virtually all of the upper level students participate in special olympics. (So I do take issue with the comments from the post on 4/13/2005 about there being no sports). Parents are indeed invited and encouraged to have their children get involved in the numerous activities: plays, weekly outings, cookouts, camping trips, prom, harvest dance, etc. Naturally, as the children get older, the complexity of their activities is expanded. There are numerous events for parents to observe their children, or enjoy the reward of their successes, but not every parent chooses to participate or show.

Hi-Star Center For Children 5

Posted August 17, 2006
- a parent
I have found the academic programing at Hi-Star to be of great quality for children with language and behavioral needs. The teachers and staff truly care about the students and work above and beyond the norm. The music and art program is great with yearly productions and art shows. The staff is extremely knowledgable about special needs. They have an on sight recreational therapist for sport activities. It is a wonderful program.


Hi-Star Center For Children 2

Posted April 13, 2005
- a parent
Academics is questionable at best that is till your child gets older and more focused. The availability of music and arts is good. Sports however there are none. The children have a little play area to play in. There are a few extracarricular activities. Parents are not encouraged to be involved at all. The school prefers the parents involvement be stricted to only invited individuals.

Nearby schools

Hi-Star Center For Children
Po Box 6466, Glendale, AZ  85312
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (602) 548-3038
Last modified Hi-Star Center For Children is a Private school
Top