Advertisement
Advertisement

Joy Christian School

Private | PK-10 | 662 students

We are best known for Academics, Arts & Athletics.

 
 

Living in Glendale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 22, 2009

I am a freshmen in high school at joy and I love it. I switched from O'conner and I am so happy I did. The classes they offer are harder and you learn more but at the same time it is easy to get an A. All the kids are great and you make many long lasting friends. I love all the teachers and they really care about you and talk to you. The principal is fun and involved and allways helps if there is a problem. I went to Joy in PRE-SCHOOL - 1ST grade. I am so Happy I came back. It is allways happy there and you really conect with christ. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

My children were enrolled at Joy for seven years. Curriculum and Christian learning in Kindergarten thru 3rd grade was good. After that, Joy does not measure up to Az standards (which isn't saying much at all when you consider this state is ranked 49th in the U.S. in education). I moved my children to public school and we are so happy with the change. The curriculum at the public school is more comprehensive and showed how much my kids were missing at Joy. We have more advanced classes and even a gifted program in our public school. I wish we would've pulled them out of there years earlier. The 'Board of Directors' is a joke and does not provide direction for the school. They are yes-men for the administrator who is out of touch with school needs. The principal is a conflict-avoider who would not enforce policies or handle issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My kids have been at Joy Christian for 5 years. I am happy to say that the school has surpassed my expectations in every way. After homeschooling for 4 years, I was very picky and expected a lot. I have watched my kids excel in academics, athletics, leadership, and spiritual growth. The teachers and staff are amazing - they really love these kids and it shows. I just read the test score report and it didn't suprise me that we outscored both neighboring districts by 10-20 points in all subject areas. Thanks Joy - I've more than got my money's worth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love this school. It's creative and feels like one big family. I am particularly impressed with how well my kids know the bible and how much their spirituality has grown in just the last 12 months. They greatly increased their bible based programs this year for every grade level and I'm wowed by the impact this has had. I am also impressed that they now offer some dual enrollment opportunities to get extra classes such as Chinese and AP classes. My oldest had attended a public school and they had this opportunity and so do most of the other private, Christian schools - I'm glad to see Joy is progressing in this area and continually adding educational opportunities for our kids to excell - especially at the higher grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Althought several factors influenced our decision to put one of kids at a public high school this year, I must say that Joy Christian prepared my daughter for life, academics and in every other way. She attended Joy from 5-8th grade and we placed her in honors classes in her new public school as a freshman. She has been the top scorer in both her Honors Algebra and Language Arts class much to our surprise. We knew education was good at Joy, but we had no idea how well it actually prepared our daughter. One of her best friends also transferred to the big perochial HS downtown - she too is at the top of her class. Thank you Joy Christian for investing in my daughter for the last 4 years. May God continue to bless your ministry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I have been to this school since 7th grade and I have a history in public school. This school has exceeded public schools in so many ways. The high school is rapidly expanding and is giving students many opportunities, and always strives to give students many ways to succeed. The teachers strive to help the students learn. Recently there has been confused parents thinking there is no more Christian education, but these are uninformed parents. To get the full information about how this school operates, any of the administrators would be glad to explain the system the school functions, they are always willing to make appointments. Only the obstinate are rebuking Joy for their new system. A great school with many possibilities for each and every student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

We've been at 2 private schools with our children. Joy is by far the best. It has a sound Christian base and offers many opportunities for spiritual growth. The curriculum gets better every year and full 4 yr high school adds new excitement. As with all private schools there is an ever present group of disgruntled parents who have no clue of the operation of a business, much less a school and they grumble about everything. For families with open hearts, a love for Christ and a love of learning this is a wonderful atmosphere for children and their families. We love Joy and we greatly respect the new administration ! I recommend Joy to any family looking for an education that is grounded in Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

We have 2 children attending Joy. Their programs are well thought out and Joy offers every student something they can love and become involved. Bible is taught as a class plus there is chapel each week and many other opportunities for Christian development. The academic development is good and getting better each year. There is always a struggle for money since so many students are on scholarship - but as Christians we welcome that challenge. Class size is exceptionally small (usually under 20 per class) and the teachers all have a visible love of Christ. We highly recommend Joy as a school and community where children learn and thrive! With the new year in session we are excited with all the great improvements!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

My child was at Joy for 3 years- this is her last year because we are not happy about the direction. Joy is a not a full Christian education. It is run by some charter school which employs the teachers and limits what teachers say and do. Tuition goes to the church. Where is the leadership - any? the school is going backwards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

We attended Joy since preschool and were pleased with the education we received until the last year and a half. Unfortunately, the school has become more concerned about pleasing the parents that make large donations than it is about actually teaching the children. There are a few good employees, however the leadership will keep them from doing their jobs. Since pulling our children, we have had them tested and placed in summer programs to play catch up on all the things they were NOT taught. Our children are exceptionally bright and gifted, however, many core concepts were lacking in math and reading. As a former teacher, I know what they should have learned, but they did not learn. Definitely NOT worth the high tuition costs when you can receive a superior education at public school for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I am a teacher at this school. Our incredible administrator left and there is no new admin. We were moving forward - but now we have little leadership. Every part of our school used to be immersed with Christ - not any more. I'm confident it will turn around when we get another great administrator like we had.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 22, 2009

I could not be happier with Joy Christian School. They are under new administration, which is taking them forward. Emphasis on academics, as well as each child's spiritual well-being, is on the increase. As a birth to grade 12 campus, they are becoming focused and unified. Change is in the air - change for the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

This school was very unprepared in teaching my children critical Christian Values and preparing them for college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

Both of my children elementary school at Joy and now one is in the high school. Her experience has been remarkable. She has the opportunity to experience everything and more. More doors have been opened than we ever believed possible. Many think that being in a small school would limit the opportunities for a child, but it is just the opposite. Due to the smaller size she is able to try everything. Our other child in is in the middle school. He also is having a remarkable experience. The middle school staff is top notch. As someone who has been in education for 20+ years, I can say with confidence I would not have my children any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Joy Christian School's commitment to students, parents, and staff is oustanding. I have been at Joy for over 4 yrs...It is a great school, and a great blessing to all my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

My child started attending JOY in preschool. He is now in the 4th grade. He has excelled at the school from the very beginning. The academic program and teachers are wonderful. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

We have been attending JOY for about 2 1/2 years now. We've had such positive experiences through the Parent's Day Out Program and their Preschool that we made the decision to continue with our child's education at JOY. We started Kindergarten in August and are VERY pleased. We appreciate the smaller class sizes, an appropriate dress code, the care and preparedness of the teachers, the CORE Knowledge program, Bible teachings, and all the extra activities offered...just to name a few things!!! We have found a wonderful enviroment for learning and growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Our kids have attended this school since the 1st grade (our eldest in now at the H.S.) I probably don't have enough room here to list all the multiple wonderful things about JCHS, (only in it's 3rd year and excelling in all academic and extracurricular areas) so I'll let the fact that the Arizona Business Journal has just ranked Joy Christian Schools as the 7th best private school in the state!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

This school was awesome. Great Teachers. Great learning and activities. Only downside is that there is not much security.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Each child is treated as an individual, and challenged to excel. We tried public school for our children and have come to the conclusion that Joy is the perfect choice for our children both academically and spititually.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 9% 39%
Black 5% 6%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National &#34Wellness Program&#34 Award
  • Core Knowledge Certification (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jim Davis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Other lutheran
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (623) 362-3202

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved in our &#34partners&#34 volunteer program. there are monthly breakfast meetings for updates of school news, changes, etc... from the executive director. parents are involved in key campus relationship building events, to create a sense of community on the campus. there is a volunteer coordinator who connects parents with their volunteer interests.
More from this school
  • Joy Christian School is open to all families who want a strong, Christian, values-based, education. A focus of our school is to create a strong, positive, caring, and joyful community for all our students, parents, and staff. This builds a powerful home/family/community education partnership.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21000 N 75th Ave
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 561-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT