Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Joy Christian School

Private | PK-10 | 662 students

We are best known for Academics, Arts & Athletics.

 
 

Living in Glendale

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

72 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2008

This school was awesome. Great Teachers. Great learning and activities. Only downside is that there is not much security.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Each child is treated as an individual, and challenged to excel. We tried public school for our children and have come to the conclusion that Joy is the perfect choice for our children both academically and spititually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

Im a student at joy. I love the school so much. It is a awsome school for kids and parents love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2008

We have one child in school and one starting in 2008. Excellent Christ-centered environment, wth experienced and dedicated teachers and a good learning curriculum that sets a good early childhood foundation. Emphasis on values and character is refreshing and not something one can get in public school. Tuition covers most costs and little additional fund raising is demanded of parents - unlike public schools that send home a fund raiser each month ( and still receive govt. funding)! Joy seems to manage their money well. Good parent involvement and interesting activities make this school an excellent choice for parents seeking a learning atmosphere that will positively affect their child for a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

I sent my child to Joy for a few years, until I realized that their curriculum and scores just did not even rank close to the public school system. The teachers were quite tempermental, and though the Christian atmosphere was good for the younger grades, there were just not enough options for the older grades. It seemed like they spent more time asking for money than teaching the Bible during Chapel services. I left Joy and am VERY pleased with the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

Joy Christian is fabulous! My daughter and son both attend and we could not be happier. As a former public school teacher, I knew when the time came to find the 'perfect' school for my children, that Joy Christian was the one. The staff is so incredible and truly wants what is best for every child. The curriculum, extra activities and 'family like' atmosphere is definitely a plus. Knowing that my children are worshipping and praising the Lord on a regular basis brings a smile to my face each day I drop them off. I know they are learning (above grade level), and are enjoying every minute of their school day! What more could a parent ask for? Thank you Joy for providing the most positive, Christ lead education for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

Our oldest child started in 4th and graduated from JCS as an 8th grader. Our youngest started in 1st grade and is graduating 2007. The experience we had were growing pains as JCS grew with the needs and wants from parents and the community. Our children experiences extremely caring and highly motivated teachers. When the administration changed a few years back the school grew in leaps and bounds! The basics and the extras have provided the kind of education and growing experience that we feel we would have never found anywhere else. My husband and I have been very active in the school and learned how hard it is for teachers in a private school to provide the best possible education for their students while trying to make sure that the parents feel that it is 'money well spent'. Parents should remember that a private school is just that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

The location is perfect, easy access available. A concern on people that don't belong on campus. Parent interaction is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

I love this school and have sent my kids since 2002 (1 in 1st and 1 in 4th). I believe every year the school changes to build a better campus for families. New Core Knowledge curriculum combined with Bible based teaching ensures a well rounded world view for every child. Negative comments on this sight must come from parents who either have not gotten involved or don't inform staff of challenges faced staff in order to see things corrected. My children are thriving... straight A's. JCS received Championship status at the recent ISS (International Space Station competition); excellent awards at recent ACSI speech meet, placing at most levels and again the same was repeated at the ACSI Spelling Bee. The academics are matched with sports programs consistently winning 1sts and 2nds & several trophies in chess. Minimal sample of what's at JCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

JCS is incredible. The teachers are fantastic, and I am impressed with how leadership has moved the school forward. Remarkable as the school is so young. I'd dare you to compare any school in a 50 mile radius to Joy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

I was very enthusiastic about my child attending the new Joy High School, but have been disappointed almost from day one. The students have been leaving one by one, but no one seems to be willing to admit that there is a problem.They just can't compete with the local public high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

Vocal music program is exceptional.Limited availabiity of science lab faciities. Faciities work for K-6 but limit older students. Heavy focus on money issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

I agree that Joy has a christian atmosphere which is wonderful, however as for the education I believe it is sub par. Teachers are nice but something just lacks with instruction. I am also very unhapy with the facilities. With the cost of tuition and it's claims of a 'private' school, I would expect buildings to be in better shape, to have a decent playground where the asphalt is smooth, a cafeteria that doesn't smell and look run down, and to have a multi-purpose room/gym. My children will not be returing to Joy after several years of attendance and am very anxious to give public school a try. Since we attend church regularly I know my children will continue to grow with God, but know I can be sure that they will be eudcated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

My child attended this school for two years. Tuition has increased dramatically every year which appears to be
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

I am very disappointed with the Preschool this year. They have a new directer who does not want the teachers to teach. She wants the children to have organized play time and if they learn something along the way it's okay. It was a much better school when my older child was there several years ago. We are not even finishing the school year and we are definetly not coming back next year. I feel like we have had our child in daycare instead of preschool. Joy is also the most expensive school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Very good school and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

I am very impressed with Joy Community School. The Teachers are patient and kind and do a great job working with each individual child (at their own pace.) I feel they provide encouragement for each child to do his or her very best, without criticism, in a spiritual surrounding. Also the School is very clean and well maintained. Which to me as a parent, is also very Important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

This is probably the biggest disappointment in schools that I have had in sending children to school (public & private) in the past 23 yrs! Not only is this school lacking in discipline with the children they also lack discipline with the staff and adults on campus from administration down to teachers. Christian attitudes? Forget it unless you fit into 'their' cliques and format. I've not only seen but my child and I have been treated with a mean-spirit by teachers; bullied by children; looked down upon by the teaching staff and laughed at by parents. Several parents in one classroom alone have had to pay out a lot of extra money for tutoring because the children aren't getting what they need educationally nor emotionally that are required to bring young children around intellectully. Do it again? NO!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 20, 2004

Joy has regained its 'great' status thanks to the intervention of caring parents and the director who worked to abolish the punative 'PRIDE' program. The strict dress code is still on the books , but enforcement is lax except for the most blatant violations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

As a substitute who has taught in many schools in the valley, it is refreshing to be in a school with such a supportive staff who truly has the students' best interest in mind. The staff genuinely cares about each other and the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 9% 39%
Black 5% 6%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National &#34Wellness Program&#34 Award
  • Core Knowledge Certification (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jim Davis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Other lutheran
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (623) 362-3202

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Parents are involved in our &#34partners&#34 volunteer program. there are monthly breakfast meetings for updates of school news, changes, etc... from the executive director. parents are involved in key campus relationship building events, to create a sense of community on the campus. there is a volunteer coordinator who connects parents with their volunteer interests.
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Joy Christian School is open to all families who want a strong, Christian, values-based, education. A focus of our school is to create a strong, positive, caring, and joyful community for all our students, parents, and staff. This builds a powerful home/family/community education partnership.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21000 N 75th Ave
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 561-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT