Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sierra Verde Elementary School

Public | PK-8 | 804 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

My school is an amazing school. It is the A+ rated school. I love my school!!!


Posted October 21, 2013

I moved my two sons from another school in the district because of the test scores, STEM program and the opportunity to keep both of them in the same school through 8th grade (they are 2 years apart.) I have been very pleased with the quality of instruction and the SAGE program that challenges gifted children in Math and Reading. I have had conferences with teachers when I have questions and found them to be informed about my kids and sincerely interested in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

Sierra Verde is an excellent school. both of my kids are doing very well and LOVE the attention that the teachers give to them. Would not send them anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

My children have gone to this school for several years and love it! I love that they offer so many extracurricular programs with such a wide variety. The teachers are great and love their students. The staff is all very nice and stay very involved with each child. If there is ever an issue, they are quick to notify me. I also love that they now have the STEM program. Sierra Verde definitely stands out amongst the other schools in DVUSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

Update: pulled my kids out of sv and sent them to BASIS that just opened up a few miles down the road. Just noticed that sv tests scores in math are plummeting. BASIS 5th graders use Saxson 7/8 math and I no longer need to use spectrum math books at home they are learning everything at school now. My 3rd grader skipped 4th and started 5th at BASIS and got all A's except for a B in art and a b+ in Latin. BASIS will change a child's attitude about learning within a month. SV wasn't the right school for my highly gifted children and my high hopes were not met here. They are being met at BASIS. My other 5th grader, he got straight A's at BASIS. He never earned straight A's at Sv and even received a C- in gifted math at sv last year. Very odd considering he just tested with a score of 157 on the SB-IV IQ test for Quantitative ability (99.98 percentile). No parent should have to struggle to educate children of this caliber and SV was not a good school for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

Sierra Verde is an amazing school! My children LOVE going to school everyday. The teachers are upbeat and positive. This truly is a great place to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

My daughter attends Sierra Verde and we couldn't be happier! She is challenged at her level and her teacher goes above and beyond! There are many opportunities for students. The principal meets and greets students EVERY morning and afternoon when they leave. She knows many of them by name and is very involved! Mrs. Paul goes above and beyond every expectation. She will only do what is best for the students and teachers of Sierra Verde. Teachers and students are very lucky to be working at such an amazing school! I recommend this school 100%! Thank you teachers, staff, and principal of Sierra Verde! You are the best!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

The principal is upbeat and friendly but inattentive to problems that arise choosing rather to use a "can't we all just get along" attitude rather than providing assistance to find a resolution. Kids seem out of control, teachers apathetic, students roam in cliques. Parents are very involved. Academically strong but in a way that assures high test results rather than true learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

We moved our two kids from another school to Sierra Verde in October and it has been great. The entire school has such a positive atmosphere and a can do culture. Our kids are doing great and they now like going to school. The teachers are awesome and the principal is the best that we have encountered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I highly recommend Sierra Verde Stem Academy! We moved to AZ and planned to enroll our child in private school until we found Sierra Verde and decided to give it a try. We could not be more pleased with the entire experience. Amazing teachers, very involved principal, and so much technology! We could not ask for anything more in a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

This school has had great teachers for many years. Under the new principal Cheryl Paul it has gotten even better with the new leadership. My children have gone her ever since the school opened and it is today the best it has ever been. The upbeat and positive environment is a direct result of the current principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

I moved my 5th grader out of this school last year; the teacher was excellent, the program was excellent, but unfortunately many of the other students were bullies. My poor son would come home in tears and beg me to not have to go back. I think many of these students would pick on him. He has been much happier since we left Sierra Verde.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Since last year I have been looking into finding an elementary school for our daughter, who will move on from her Montessori experience. I was simply amazed on the kind and friendly atmosphere of Sierra Verde. I have visisted the school unannounced and called many times - only to find a helpful and enthusiastic person - you can tell that everyone enjoys what they are doing. From the nurse, to the front office staff to the 1st and 2sd grade teachers the environment is inviting , exciting but most all of you can feel the joy and passion of each and everyone working together for the children. I am thankful that our daughter will be starting 1st grade and was accepted under the Open Enrollment process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

Sierra Verde will open in the Fall as a STEM Academy and we are commited to excellence. The staff collaborates and continues to share knowledge of new technology with each other and students. We are finding more efficient ways to help students think critically and learn new ways to problem solve. Teachers are reflective of their practices and recognized for their hard work. Students are put first at Sierra Verde and I can't wait until my son can attend. Our principal is a dedicated individual with a contagious positive attitude. I am a teacher who has been at the school since it opened in 2001, and I have never felt prouder of my school than I have felt this year.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2010

I think Sierra Verde is an amazing school that just seems to be getting better and better! The staff is absolutely focused and committed. The students are thriving. Parent involvement could be better, but overall still very good. Technology is everywhere...just really an amazing learning environment for our three kids. Could not be happier with our experience at Sierra Verde and hope that impending budget cuts,etc. do not affect the quality of learning here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

My son is in 7th grade and has been going to this school since 1st grade. He is gifted and this school has done a good job keeping him challenged through the SAGE program and in advanced and honors classes. This school has taught him critical thinking and he has excellent math and written composition skills. The new principal and her team have definitely taken this school to a new level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

This school has excellent leadership, from the administration all the way through to the campus maintenance staff. The students are the #1 priority in this community. Parent involvement is extremely high, and the children benefit from that. My children love this school, and their parents do, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

As we go into year 2 of our amazing 'new school' (new principal, new teachers, new environment) I can honestly say that I am excited for school to start. I am excited to see what my children will learn this year. All the teachers are working together for the first time in the 7 years we've been there. The teachers can do what they love best - teach! The principal knows each child by name and honestly cares about each one. I feel very proud of my school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Sierra Verde School, which is and has been a K-8 school since it's opening in 2001 (not a K-5), has always had the potential for being an excellent school. In past years, there has not been open communication between staff and parents, and the community had polarized due to conflict between the staff and the parents. Beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year, we have had new leadership with an outstanding principal, assistant principal, and new teachers. From the outset, it was apparent that a new culture was beginning, and now everyone, from the maintenance staff to the administration, has infused a new, enthusiastic, and healthy environment for the students. Test scores, which have always been high, are now reflective of the team building grade level teachers share. Our principal is a take-charge empowering individual who believes that everyone can succeed. Our school is now a community in the truest sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

The transformations that have been made at Sierra Verde this year have been amazing. Under new leadership, the school is like a shining star where everyone is working together (students, parents, teachers & the adminsitraiton) to achieve one common goal....Student Achievement. There is a sense of excitement when you walk onto the campus with the kids smiling and the teachers/administration being friendly and available to answer any questions/concerns at there earliest convenience...GO VIPERS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 12% 42%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 376-4880

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7241 West Rose Garden Lane
Glendale, AZ 85308
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 376-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT